Digital Art Zone

 
   
36 of 65
36
GET DAZ STUDIO 4.5!  See why you should do it today!
Posted: 25 August 2012 01:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 526 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7614
Joined  2006-03-19

That would be my best guess. Maybe some others that got it from the store can weigh in and let us know. I’d be interested in knowing. I just reset my 4.0 and got the 4.5 files.

 Signature 

ARTCollaborations Store on DAZ3D    ARTCollaborations on Facebook

*****Mad Chemistry Lab*****  

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 August 2012 01:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 527 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  736
Joined  2012-02-12

There were some people having problems with the 4.0 pro serial number with DS 4.5 which didn’t show some options like progressive rendering and other stuff. That’s why they issued a new SN. They may have issued it for everybody because I didn’t have any missing options for what I know.

 Signature 

My Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 August 2012 01:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 528 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7614
Joined  2006-03-19

I guess I’ll find out once I install it.

 Signature 

ARTCollaborations Store on DAZ3D    ARTCollaborations on Facebook

*****Mad Chemistry Lab*****  

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 August 2012 01:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 529 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13921
Joined  2003-10-09
Khory - 25 August 2012 11:47 AM

But why does it turn my background

I think that has to do with how some of the dynamic clothing gets saved on creation.

if you don’t want saved scenes to override your background colour go to edit>Preferences>Scene and change the setting for Ignore settings when opening a file.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 August 2012 02:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 530 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  108
Joined  2009-03-29

Forgive me if it already asked, but i could not find it (36 pages is a lot to go thru).

Could it be that the IG Photo studio products (1 & 2) do not work in 4.5?

Both crash DAZ studio 4.5, right after loading a light setup. I’ve checked and there are no updates for these.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 August 2012 04:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 531 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13921
Joined  2003-10-09
jerham - 25 August 2012 02:29 PM

Forgive me if it already asked, but i could not find it (36 pages is a lot to go thru).

Could it be that the IG Photo studio products (1 & 2) do not work in 4.5?

Both crash DAZ studio 4.5, right after loading a light setup. I’ve checked and there are no updates for these.

Yes, there is a problem with the area lights, which they need. It is a known issue.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 August 2012 04:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 532 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1112
Joined  2010-11-30

3 quick things:

Just about every time I’ve restarted DS 4.5 I’ve had different render bugs.

When I first installed DS 4.5 and went to render any scene all the renders were all black with no signs of anything in the screen.

I closed studio and tried rendering again.  Renders looked ok, but the Cartoon render option wasn’t working right. This problem went on and it didn’t just go away by closing a rerunning Studio it seemed

Last night I was having regular renders look toonish for no reason and the cartoon render option if that was chosen was working ok without any problems w then it had been.

No idea why this is going on and I’ve rendered the same scenes and things to try and see what the problem is with no luck. The same see will render with the current problem Studio is having with renders.

Question about the new serial number.  I used my old purchased pro 4.0 serial do I need to change it to the new one to make sure everything is running correctly?  Does a quick way exist to see if everything is workings how it should be to tell if the serail number needs to be changed.  All mt plugins are showing green currently.

Also, I saw this on the Mantis bug site about the InaneGlory’s Photo Studio 1&2. crash.  It is according to the site resolved in build 4.5.0.119.

That build hasn’t been released yet it seems.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 August 2012 05:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 533 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8513
Joined  2007-11-06

To clarify about serial numbers and about the Dynamic Cloth plugin:

Serial numbers—if you “bought” DS 4.5 in the store fresh, you got a 4.5 serial number which didn’t work, and then got the email letting you know that there was a replacement serial number in your account.  If you RESET your prior 4.0 you didn’t get a new serial number and can continue using your old serial number, hence no email.

Dynamic Cloth—if you EVER had the paid Control plugin in 4.0, then the basic plugin gets “.basic” added to the end of the filename.  When you upgrade to DS 4.5.0.114 the ,basic version is replaced, but NOT the paid plugin.  You need to reset the paid plugin to get the version that works with 4.5.0.114, or else rename the .basic one.  Autorigger.dll is also part of the dynamic clothing plugin.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 August 2012 01:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 534 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  32
Joined  2003-10-09

Hi Folks

I had a crash during the first 4.5 load, and I suspect a key file is corrupt.. Rendering is fine (quicker!) but I suspected a probem when I saw that both of my custom workspace setting were corrupt. More seriously, when I open the Contents tab, I see my runtimes, but when I start to tunnel down…. nada. I get really long pauses, and after ten minutes I get a distinct impression that studio really has hung.

Now I have runtimes dating from 1998, so they’re **really** big. I’m used to ‘not responding’ messages from time to time, which eventually go away. But ten minutes?

So should I let DS run for an hour, convinced that it really hasn’t hung, and that eventually my runtimes will spring into view? Or is there a file or two I can delete so that Studio will go through its ‘first load’ process again? Or do I need to reinstall?

EDIT: *Some* of the smaller runtimes are visible.

SECOND EDIT: They’re appearing, slowly. Time for a long cuppa tea.

Cheers

John

 Signature 

“May God us keep
From Single vision & Newton’s sleep!”
— William Blake, Letter to Thomas Butt, 22 November 1802

My Blog: http://myth-o-logic.org/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 August 2012 01:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 535 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  108
Joined  2009-03-29
Richard Haseltine - 25 August 2012 04:38 PM
jerham - 25 August 2012 02:29 PM

Forgive me if it already asked, but i could not find it (36 pages is a lot to go thru).

Could it be that the IG Photo studio products (1 & 2) do not work in 4.5?

Both crash DAZ studio 4.5, right after loading a light setup. I’ve checked and there are no updates for these.

Yes, there is a problem with the area lights, which they need. It is a known issue.

Ok, thanks for answering my question. Despite the good impression, decided to down grade back to 4.0 and everything seems to work ok again…just have to be patient before upgrading again i guess.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 August 2012 01:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 536 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  160
Joined  2006-10-28

I"ve never used the Dynamic Cloth plugin because it wasn’t working for the longest time on the Macintosh. But, now I see those Heroic Capes, Superman and Batman, for sale in the store. Will just the free plugin work with those? Or, if I do buy the paid plugin, what things might I do with that which I couldn’t do otherwise? Just trying to find some information, a link or something, to a thread. I don’t mean to pull this discussion off track, but the Dynamic Cloth plugin has already been mentioned here, so I guess it’s OK to mention it yet again.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 August 2012 02:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 537 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1752
Joined  2005-12-31

Think of the basic included dynamics as using things “as is” most of the time. The pay for plug in lets you change the fabric settings so that the cloths drapes different than what was set up in the product creation. So if you want it floatier or to move around less you would want the additional plug in. It also lets you set internal pressure ( puff it up from inside) which I sometimes use to help get around odd poses before really draping the fabric.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 August 2012 02:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 538 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  160
Joined  2006-10-28

OK, thank you very much, Khory.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 August 2012 05:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 539 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  787
Joined  2005-09-19

The other thing Dynamic Clothing Control adds is the facility to position a wind-source, which has obvious possibilities with the capes and other floaty items.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 August 2012 07:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 540 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  169
Joined  2007-11-09

You know the day before DS4.5 came out my PC got a virus (because I was being a naughty boy) and somehow I stuffed up the registry trying to get rid of the virus. Anyhoot I reformatted my PC so that when I installed DS4.5 it was on a sparkling new OS. Basically DS4.5 had no problems except the render setting for constrain proportions always ticking itself on when I specify it to be off. An annoying little bug (Daz please fix). Anyhoot not only did reformatting & reinstalling the OS fix my PC but also some horrible bugs I had with Poser and Vue are now gone after reinstalling those programs also. Basically what I’m saying is that if your installing/uninstalling programs then over several years your OS eventually becomes unstable. Considering the number updates for DS then that instability could happen more sooner.  Just something to consider. In regards to graphics problems always make sure your graphics card driver is up to date.

 Signature 

Eternity’s my home, the Universe my backyard, my mind is a playground, so let’s make it all art. tongue laugh
My little gallery: http://lbamagic.deviantart.com

Profile
 
 
   
36 of 65
36