Digital Art Zone

 
   
33 of 65
33
GET DAZ STUDIO 4.5!  See why you should do it today!
Posted: 24 August 2012 07:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 481 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9617
Joined  2007-11-06
LeggyBlond - 24 August 2012 10:06 AM
Richard Haseltine - 24 August 2012 07:18 AM
inquire - 24 August 2012 07:16 AM
Richard Haseltine - 24 August 2012 07:12 AM

I don’t understand the issue - download the current free Pro version and install it, enter the serial number, and use it.

Richard: You do NOT understand the issue?

Why there’s confusion for users of DS4Advanced in particualr, no. Pro includes all the features they currently have, so they just download that and carry on.

OK! So may I ask, rather than pour through the whole forum again, apart from installing DS 4.5, and I presume ‘Genesis Starter Essentials 1.3’ which I understand updates Genesis in some way or other, what else amongst the plethora of files I have downloaded do I also need to install.

Such things as ‘Decimator’, ‘GoZ; I’m not too sure about although having checked them out, they do seem to simply be extra plugins.


Addenda:- This business of only having one version on your system is actually Tosh!  Whilst admittedly I have multiple drives and partitions, I have had for some time:- DS2, DS3 32 & 64, DS4 32 & 64 all working without any conflicts.

You can still have DS2, DS3 32 & 64, and DS4 32 & 64 all installed.  You cannot have 4.0 and 4.5, just as you can’t have 3.0 and 3.1 or 2.0 and 2.3

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 August 2012 08:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 482 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9617
Joined  2007-11-06
kayma - 24 August 2012 11:15 AM

What the heck is this “.duf” format - and how come I can’t save scenes in the old format?

I recently “upgraded” to DS Pro 4.5. I can open my scene files okay, and I can access all my old content - and the auto-fit feature even seems to have been improved.

However, I CANNOT save these scenes in the old .daz file format. The ONLY option I’m given is “.duf.” When I relaunch the application, I can’t even see these when I select “open.” The only way I am able to access them is when I open a scene and choose “Save As” (which I can only do in this dysfunctional format), then click on it, choose “Open” - which launches a 2nd instance of DS - and close out of the first one.

When it comes up, I get the following message: “Some assets needed to load the file were missing. The content may not work as expected. The following files could not be found:”

Then it lists the Genesis .dsf files.

When the scene finally loads, this is what I get (see attached screenshot).

Why do you people keep trying to fix things that aren’t broken? 4.0 had some glitches, but at least it worked.

If you save the .duf to a DS-format content folder, it will show up there.  It will also show up in Categories>Default>Unassigned, from which you can categorize it wherever you like to keep your scenes.

As was explained, you need to install the Genesis Starter Essentials, which are now a separate installer from the actual application.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 August 2012 08:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 483 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9617
Joined  2007-11-06
belovedalia - 24 August 2012 03:08 PM

At first I WAS impressed with teh speed of 4.5

Until i tried to use something other than genesis that is. took over 10 minutes to load V4. TEN FRICKIN MINUTES.  And there’s a lot of lag trying to open non-genesis stuff.

Do we need to reinstall GenX? will it still work with 4.5?
If its broken I’m throwing Daz out the window until its fixed. I *NEED* genX.  There’s just not enough Genesis content yet without it.  Do we also need to reinstall the iconic shapes for converting clothes?

That’s very strange—V4 loads a lot faster for me in 4.5 than it did in 4.0—about a minute from the .cr2 with every morph set included in Powerloader.

GenX is being updated for DS 4.5, D3D has a thread about it.  I don’t know if he’s announced an ETA yet.

The Gen 3 iconic shapes do not need to be updated.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 August 2012 10:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 484 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  41
Joined  2006-03-05

Will 4.5 automaticlly grab my My Library folder? will it still see my Content folder for older stuff? It says it will uninstal 4. Should I copy any folders?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 August 2012 11:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 485 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4932
Joined  2004-07-01
nightwing003 - 24 August 2012 10:37 PM

Will 4.5 automaticlly grab my My Library folder? will it still see my Content folder for older stuff? It says it will uninstal 4. Should I copy any folders?

yes - yes - no

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 August 2012 11:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 486 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1618
Joined  2005-02-25
fixmypcmike - 24 August 2012 08:15 PM
belovedalia - 24 August 2012 03:08 PM

At first I WAS impressed with teh speed of 4.5

Until i tried to use something other than genesis that is. took over 10 minutes to load V4. TEN FRICKIN MINUTES.  And there’s a lot of lag trying to open non-genesis stuff.

Do we need to reinstall GenX? will it still work with 4.5?
If its broken I’m throwing Daz out the window until its fixed. I *NEED* genX.  There’s just not enough Genesis content yet without it.  Do we also need to reinstall the iconic shapes for converting clothes?

That’s very strange—V4 loads a lot faster for me in 4.5 than it did in 4.0—about a minute from the .cr2 with every morph set included in Powerloader.

GenX is being updated for DS 4.5, D3D has a thread about it.  I don’t know if he’s announced an ETA yet.

The Gen 3 iconic shapes do not need to be updated.

It shocked me too… Genesis stuff was loading a lot faster in 4.5 than in 4.  The overall speed of 4.5 was definitely faster (and yes much faster renders and spot renders!) but then I loaded V4….. Maybe it was a first time thing?  Will test it when its done rendering. I have DS3A and DS4.5 open same time and i know from experience if I open one more DS4 it’ll crash everything. poor computer!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 August 2012 04:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 487 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  23
Joined  2005-10-05

Ah!.................................I See

After all the questions and concerns by myself and others on installing DS 4.5 the following may be of help:-

DS 4.0 Advanced was my current installation 32 & 64 Bit.  On running both installers plus Genesis Starter Essentials 1.3 I now have it seems DS 4.5 Advanced.  The installers used as they are which uninstall the old version simply did an update which of course required no serial number’s.

From what I have read here (someone correct me if I have misunderstood), to install the DS 4.5 Pro version I assume one has to do a full uninstall of the older version ‘Prior’ to running the installer.

According to some mails I received from the Help/Contact Us (had I used the latter process) I would have got DS 4.5 Pro without any extra charge.

Can anyone comfirm this?

 Signature 

Simply…...Out There!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 August 2012 04:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 488 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7086
Joined  2005-08-15

If you ‘bought’ DS4P 4.5 upgrade from the store, you should have the full version including plugins in your downloads section.  There is also an earlier version (4.0.3.47) as well which you can also download.  You should then have a serial number in your My Account area for DS4P, which should change Advanced to Pro if that is what you mean?

When installing the 4.5.0.114 upgrade, the installer will remove any previously installed version of DS4, and also the Basic Genesis files that used to be inluded in the main download .  You must then install the Genesis Essentials file which also comes with the 4.5.0.114 download files.

DS4P is free to everyone, and there is no charge for it.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 August 2012 04:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 489 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  23
Joined  2005-10-05
JimmyC_2009 - 25 August 2012 04:21 AM

If you ‘bought’ DS4P 4.5 upgrade from the store, you should have the full version including plugins in your downloads section.  There is also an earlier version (4.0.3.47) as well which you can also download.  You should then have a serial number in your My Account area for DS4P, which should change Advanced to Pro if that is what you mean?

When installing the 4.5.0.114 upgrade, the installer will remove any previously installed version of DS4, and also the Basic Genesis files that used to be inluded in the main download .  You must then install the Genesis Essentials file which also comes with the 4.5.0.114 download files.

DS4P is free to everyone, and there is no charge for it.

Thanks JimmyC

I simply changed the serial for the one in My Accounts, closed and re-opened Daz and now it has changed from Advanced to Pro.

Excellent!

 Signature 

Simply…...Out There!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 August 2012 05:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 490 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  23
Joined  2005-10-05

Installed Plugins that don’t load

d3dGenX.dll - I’m assuming this is the Genesis Gen X Plugin which I reset re-installed but it still doesn’t load
infinitoPlugin.DS4.64.dll - I reset re-installed but it still doesn’t load
dzautoriggercontrol.dll - not sure what this does but it doesn’t load
dzmimicrealtime.dll - not sure what this does but it doesn’t load
dzoptitexclothcontrol.dll - not sure what this does but it doesn’t load

Anyone got any answers?
or is their a page/post that deals with plugins that need updating, don’t function etc

 Signature 

Simply…...Out There!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 August 2012 05:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 491 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1762
Joined  2012-03-24

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/5976/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 August 2012 05:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 492 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7086
Joined  2005-08-15
LeggyBlond - 25 August 2012 05:06 AM

Installed Plugins that don’t load

d3dGenX.dll - I’m assuming this is the Genesis Gen X Plugin which I reset re-installed but it still doesn’t load
infinitoPlugin.DS4.64.dll - I reset re-installed but it still doesn’t load
dzautoriggercontrol.dll - not sure what this does but it doesn’t load
dzmimicrealtime.dll - not sure what this does but it doesn’t load
dzoptitexclothcontrol.dll - not sure what this does but it doesn’t load

Anyone got any answers?
or is their a page/post that deals with plugins that need updating, don’t function etc


GenX and the DSF toolkit are in the process of bing updated by D3D, and should be available soon.
Infinito has been updated, and there is a link to download the new DLL for it, I will see if I can find it for you.
Autorigger is installed OK in my version?
Mimicrealtime is a paid for plugin
The optitex cloth control comes as part of DS4P, the plugin is the paid for version, if you don;t have that then you should not install it.

Hope that helps a bit.

EDIT:

Here is the link to the Infinto plugin update :http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/5973/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 August 2012 06:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 493 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3531
Joined  2009-08-05

Just tested Using Dynamic cloth. The clothing doesn’t even load. Is this normal in 4.5? Am I missing something?

 Signature 

My Daz Store
My Rendo Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 August 2012 06:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 494 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7086
Joined  2005-08-15

What dynamic clothing item are you using?  In general, it works fine for me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 August 2012 06:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 495 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3531
Joined  2009-08-05

Lol all of them. Mostly optitex daz freebies. They used to work in 4.5Candidate3 but now they don’t.

 Signature 

My Daz Store
My Rendo Store

Profile
 
 
   
33 of 65
33