Digital Art Zone

 
   
27 of 65
27
GET DAZ STUDIO 4.5!  See why you should do it today!
Posted: 22 August 2012 04:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 391 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2261
Joined  2007-12-07
DavidGB - 22 August 2012 03:27 PM
SimonJM - 22 August 2012 03:09 PM

Ok, I’ll bite - geometry shell ... this’d be, what, the Edit> Apply Push Modifier context menu option?  If not, where would I find it?

Nope.

Create>New Geometry Shell

Or just push the ‘Create a new geometry shell in the scene’ tool button in the tools part of the toolbar. Just make sure you have the figure or prop selected you want a geometry shell for.

Got it, thanks ... now to have a play and see how I can ‘break it’ wink

 Signature 

Some writings by a friend:
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/11.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/13.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/7.html

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 August 2012 04:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 392 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  356
Joined  2003-10-09
SimonJM - 22 August 2012 04:21 PM
DavidGB - 22 August 2012 03:27 PM
SimonJM - 22 August 2012 03:09 PM

Ok, I’ll bite - geometry shell ... this’d be, what, the Edit> Apply Push Modifier context menu option?  If not, where would I find it?

Nope.

Create>New Geometry Shell

Or just push the ‘Create a new geometry shell in the scene’ tool button in the tools part of the toolbar. Just make sure you have the figure or prop selected you want a geometry shell for.

Got it, thanks ... now to have a play and see how I can ‘break it’ wink

Hit it with a Hammer tongue rolleye

 Signature 

Old Posts: 2913
The person who makes no mistakes usually doesn’t make anything—-Edward J. Phelps

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 August 2012 04:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 393 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4408
Joined  2004-08-11

Or kick the crap out of it, that works sometimes too!  raspberry

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 August 2012 05:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 394 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2261
Joined  2007-12-07

Dropped a hammer on my foot, does that count? wink

Anyway (leads to sort of nudity) ... I did this with it: http://fav.me/d5c6f9v

 Signature 

Some writings by a friend:
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/11.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/13.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/7.html

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 August 2012 06:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 395 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2007-06-17

My question seems to have been lost in the crowd and is now several pages back so I am reposting:

I have reset & downloaded my pw shaders - the only one showing as ‘updated’ in my DS4.5 is pwGhost (only one highlighted blue designating new files) - however none of the shaders are rendering here correctly now I have updated - if the diffuse colour is set (ie. not white) then the item renders whatever colour the diffues is, or it renders white - no effects, nothing - just solid bright white. Not even the ghost shaders are working for me even though they say they have been updated :(

Is anyone else having problems?

Thanks

 Signature 

Anything purple is mine! Everything else can be dyed or painted

If you can’t handle the flames, don’t poke the dragon.

For all your testing requirements, put your trust in our team: TheDreamTeamProject

CreekyPointStudios - creators of high quality Poser & DS content @
http://www.yurdigital.com
&
http://www.fantasiesrealm.com

Post Count: add 470

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 August 2012 06:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 396 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  77
Joined  2006-01-06

Oh yes have to restart my Content Manager every time I start DAZ   getting annoying as h*ll

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 August 2012 07:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 397 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2261
Joined  2007-12-07
CreekyPointStudios - 22 August 2012 06:53 PM

My question seems to have been lost in the crowd and is now several pages back so I am reposting:

I have reset & downloaded my pw shaders - the only one showing as ‘updated’ in my DS4.5 is pwGhost (only one highlighted blue designating new files) - however none of the shaders are rendering here correctly now I have updated - if the diffuse colour is set (ie. not white) then the item renders whatever colour the diffues is, or it renders white - no effects, nothing - just solid bright white. Not even the ghost shaders are working for me even though they say they have been updated :(

Is anyone else having problems?

Thanks

The image I linked a few posts above uses pwEffect on a couple of items (epileptic spirit and flecked flames) (the 1.3 versions in DS4.5) and they came out fine.  They looked plain white in the preview (as they used to do IIRC) but rendered without issue.

 Signature 

Some writings by a friend:
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/11.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/13.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/7.html

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 August 2012 07:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 398 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2007-06-17
SimonJM - 22 August 2012 07:16 PM

The image I linked a few posts above uses pwEffect on a couple of items (epileptic spirit and flecked flames) (the 1.3 versions in DS4.5) and they came out fine.  They looked plain white in the preview (as they used to do IIRC) but rendered without issue.

Thankyou for that information SimonJM smile it seems my download reset is the issue - they were not 1.3 :( all the files showing were 1.2 (or 1.1 for the pw surface & pw sketch) - seems they didn’t reset to latest versions & that explains everything - now, off to download yet again.

To DAZ : Maybe next time you post links to updates & notify people to rest their downloads, you have the updated files ready to use - no point telling people to reset & then giving them only old files - makes people upset & wastes download limits for those that have them (like me).

 Signature 

Anything purple is mine! Everything else can be dyed or painted

If you can’t handle the flames, don’t poke the dragon.

For all your testing requirements, put your trust in our team: TheDreamTeamProject

CreekyPointStudios - creators of high quality Poser & DS content @
http://www.yurdigital.com
&
http://www.fantasiesrealm.com

Post Count: add 470

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 August 2012 08:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 399 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2007-06-17

Well - that didn’t help - just reset them & it is showing version 1.2 still - no idea what’s going on but I am not getting 1.3 :(

 Signature 

Anything purple is mine! Everything else can be dyed or painted

If you can’t handle the flames, don’t poke the dragon.

For all your testing requirements, put your trust in our team: TheDreamTeamProject

CreekyPointStudios - creators of high quality Poser & DS content @
http://www.yurdigital.com
&
http://www.fantasiesrealm.com

Post Count: add 470

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 August 2012 08:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 400 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8381
Joined  2007-11-06
CreekyPointStudios - 22 August 2012 08:03 PM

Well - that didn’t help - just reset them & it is showing version 1.2 still - no idea what’s going on but I am not getting 1.3 :(

What is the exact name and SKU of the bundle you reset?

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 August 2012 08:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 401 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  201
Joined  2006-03-02

Thanks to posters here for describing the uses of the geometry shell. I just downloaded and installed 4.5 and had a try with using Jepe’s body and facial hair maps on the shell. So much easier than the fiddly M4 method and a lot more versatile!  Unfortunately I’m getting some kind of what looks like a moire pattern, which I assume has something to do with render settings or maybe the small size of the render.  I used UE2 and one distant light with shadow maps for this render.

Image Attachments
abominable-hair02.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 August 2012 09:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 402 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2007-06-17
fixmypcmike - 22 August 2012 08:05 PM
CreekyPointStudios - 22 August 2012 08:03 PM

Well - that didn’t help - just reset them & it is showing version 1.2 still - no idea what’s going on but I am not getting 1.3 :(

What is the exact name and SKU of the bundle you reset?

The bundle is : The Poseworks Shader Collection 2009
SKU: 8254

I reset & redownload - then installed when the announcement was made that the bundles were updated (I followed the link on the first page of this thread that takes you to the updated shaders) (and yes, I did this after installing DS4.5) - loaded the most recent scene I have been working on that uses one of those shaders (pwSUrface2_DS4 - supple skin with adjustments) but when I rendered, the skin rendered white - I then closed DS - restarted it - loaded a sphere & applied numerous shaders from different packs (pw effects, other pw surface settings, etc) - all rendered white unless I set a diffuse colour, and then it rendered whatever the colour was that I has selected. No effects showed during rendering - and on occassion DS just crashed & closed. I don’t know what I have done wrong, but they are not working right for me here now but they were just fine before I updated.

Thankyou for any & all help smile

 

 Signature 

Anything purple is mine! Everything else can be dyed or painted

If you can’t handle the flames, don’t poke the dragon.

For all your testing requirements, put your trust in our team: TheDreamTeamProject

CreekyPointStudios - creators of high quality Poser & DS content @
http://www.yurdigital.com
&
http://www.fantasiesrealm.com

Post Count: add 470

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 August 2012 10:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 403 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8381
Joined  2007-11-06

I haven’t seen that particular bundle mentioned—I’ve forwarded it to DAZ 3D.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 August 2012 10:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 404 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  309
Joined  2003-10-09

#24

-Rob

 Signature 

- Documentation Center
- Install Manager
- DAZ Studio 4.x
- DSON Importer
- DSON File Format Specification

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 August 2012 10:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 405 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  501
Joined  2005-09-12
fixmypcmike - 22 August 2012 10:10 PM

I haven’t seen that particular bundle mentioned—I’ve forwarded it to DAZ 3D.


That’s the one I had trouble finding (mentioned in one of these 4.5 threads) because it lives under “T” in the itemized order history - but it got fixed on the first day, late.


Y’know, I’d have thought that part of the new store database implementation would have looked at doing bundles differently, because this problem always crops up. Like making product bundles a package of references to product and not packages of product, so updating the product would automatically update every bundle that included it. Or at the very least, provide a query that would return a list of all skus that include a particular product.

In any case, this bundle was updated and I (at least) got the 1.3 versions of the Poseworks shaders yesterday.

 Signature 

The only constant is change—and it’s a variable.

Profile
 
 
   
27 of 65
27