Digital Art Zone

 
   
21 of 65
21
GET DAZ STUDIO 4.5!  See why you should do it today!
Posted: 20 August 2012 11:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 301 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  114
Joined  2011-04-11
Richard Haseltine - 20 August 2012 02:03 PM
artistb3 - 20 August 2012 09:13 AM

For saving a full scene, the File->Save now basically works the same as the File->Save As which makes it useless.  In fact, less than useless in my estimation since it no longer even populates the “File Name:” field in the save dialog.  This is going to result in users inadvertently over-writing the wrong files…

It shouldn’t prompt if the user information of the scene matches the current user - Edit>Preferences>General, click the Edit button under the Authorship info panel. This was done to make it harder to overwrite content delivery files, such as the default loader for Genesis.

Richard:  Thanks, this resolves it.  I now understand the following change log entry: “Fixed #45596 : Fixed save to only act like save as if the author of the loaded file and the current author are not the same”.  Works different from DS4 so good to know but probably good to know for DS4, as well, since I could never quite understand when the dialog was going to pop us after File-Save was invoked (sometimes did, sometimes didn’t). 

Why aren’t two empty strings considered a match?  At minimum, if no match, might be safer if the dialog populates the “File Name:” field with the name of the currently loaded scene (if there is one).

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 12:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 302 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1120
Joined  2010-11-30

Tied to post this question earlier but the forums have been acting funny for the past few hours.

Is the Cartoon Render Style Option in the Render Settings working correctly with 4.5?

I tried doing some test renders and they weren’t having the same quality look that 4 gave.  The toon effect wasn’t even noticeable in several cases and in others it looked very different from what I’d get in Studio 4 or even Studio 3.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 02:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 303 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  27
Joined  2005-10-05

I’m Blond so please forgive me for the following Dumb Questions:-

I have Daz Studio 4 Advanced plus most all of the Genesis Extras (V5/M5 etc)

1.  Is DS 4.5 an version update or is it an Upgrade which has to be paid for?
2.  Assuming it’s an update, do I have to also download the ‘DAZ Studio 4 Advanced Upgrade’ file again?
3.  Do all my Genesis extras also have to be reset and downloaded?

 Signature 

Simply…...Out There!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 02:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 304 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  27
Joined  2005-10-05
DoctorJellybean - 16 August 2012 05:40 PM

Reset your downloads, that is the old version.

Decimator does what it says, it creates a low poly version of a figure. Really not recommended for Genesis I believe.

I’ve reset my Downloads from my Itemised history and I’m also getting the old version so can anyone ‘give me a clue?’

 Signature 

Simply…...Out There!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 02:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 305 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  211
Joined  2005-10-21
jeanke - 20 August 2012 02:31 PM
Cymbidium - 20 August 2012 11:18 AM
jeanke - 20 August 2012 10:11 AM
Cymbidium - 20 August 2012 04:23 AM

Just found a new prob - InaneGlory’s Photo Studio 1 lights cause an immediate crash to desktop.  Guess these will have to be updated also?  Anyone else experienced this?  *scissors*

That’s what happens to me too, i do hope they’ll get an update! rolleyes

And it’s both 1 and 2.

Grtz Jean-Claude

Ps: any one filled in a bug report for that???

Sort of glad it wasn’t only me, but that’s not promising.  Only have ‘1’, but I guess they would be essentially the same light shaders so not surprising they are both affected.  I haven’t filled in a bug report (never having made one before) - was really waiting to see how many more people had experienced this.

I’ll fill one in, we’ll see what happens. Atleast they know it’s a problem smile.

Grtz Jean-Claude

Thanks Jean-Claude!! smile  I suppose it may be a case that the vendor will have to make the decision whether to spend time upgrading, but it would be really annoying if it wasn’t done.  Haven’t tested many other light sets, since working on a new character right now.  Hoping that there aren’t too many more affected by the new version. *fingerscrossed*

 Signature 

May I be excused? My brain is full….... tongue wink
My Renderosity store
My dA Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 03:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 306 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2007-06-17

I have reset & downloaded my pw shaders - the only one showing as ‘updated’ in my DS4.5 is pwGhost (only one highlighted blue designating new files) - however none of the shaders are rendering here correctly now I have updated - if the diffuse colour is set (ie. not white) then the item renders whatever colour the diffues is, or it renders white - no effects, nothing - just solid bright white. Not even the ghost shaders are working for me even though they say they have been updated :( is anyone else having problems?

 Signature 

Anything purple is mine! Everything else can be dyed or painted

If you can’t handle the flames, don’t poke the dragon.

For all your testing requirements, put your trust in our team: TheDreamTeamProject

CreekyPointStudios - creators of high quality Poser & DS content @
http://www.yurdigital.com
&
http://www.fantasiesrealm.com

Post Count: add 470

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 05:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 307 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14070
Joined  2003-10-09
LeggyBlond - 21 August 2012 02:06 AM

I’m Blond so please forgive me for the following Dumb Questions:-

I have Daz Studio 4 Advanced plus most all of the Genesis Extras (V5/M5 etc)

1.  Is DS 4.5 an version update or is it an Upgrade which has to be paid for?
2.  Assuming it’s an update, do I have to also download the ‘DAZ Studio 4 Advanced Upgrade’ file again?
3.  Do all my Genesis extras also have to be reset and downloaded?

1. It’s a free update.
2. yes, reset the main application from your order hsitory to get the new version - it will also add the old version to your downloads.
3. a lot of them, yes, though I do have a script to fix the Duplicate IDs issue - I’d suggest that only as a stop-gap, so you can spread the downloading of new files out.

LeggyBlond - 21 August 2012 02:12 AM

I’ve reset my Downloads from my Itemised history and I’m also getting the old version so can anyone ‘give me a clue?’

Decimator is supplied in the main DS4.5 installer, you simply need to give it your serial number through help>About Installed plugins.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 07:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 308 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2368
Joined  2007-12-07

I was a little leery about moving up to DS4.5 but ... on the whole I am glad I did.  Still not sure what a few of the new features do, but I suspect I will slowly come to grips with them in time.

What I will do, however, is stand up and applaud the ‘save scene subset’ option under the File menu.  It does what it says on the tin and made the creation of a particular render a lot, lot simpler.  Using that option you can select what objects in the open scene you wish to save (in my case it was a ‘complex’ muzzle flash, comprising two actual muzzle flash props, a linear point light and a primitive cylinder (with diffuse, ambient and trans maps applied)).  Saved those once I was happy with the overall effect and since I had four guns firing merged the created .duf file back in three times.  That was, in effect, a copy/paste of bits of the scene made without having to mess about with the scene like I would have had to previously (get wanted effect, delete all other components of the scene, save scene, re-load original scene, merge in the ‘mini-scene’ as many times as needed).

 Signature 

Some writings by a friend:
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/11.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/13.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/7.html

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 09:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 309 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  27
Joined  2005-10-05
Richard Haseltine - 21 August 2012 05:51 AM
LeggyBlond - 21 August 2012 02:06 AM

I’m Blond so please forgive me for the following Dumb Questions:-

I have Daz Studio 4 Advanced plus most all of the Genesis Extras (V5/M5 etc)

1.  Is DS 4.5 an version update or is it an Upgrade which has to be paid for?
2.  Assuming it’s an update, do I have to also download the ‘DAZ Studio 4 Advanced Upgrade’ file again?
3.  Do all my Genesis extras also have to be reset and downloaded?

1. It’s a free update.
2. yes, reset the main application from your order hsitory to get the new version - it will also add the old version to your downloads.
3. a lot of them, yes, though I do have a script to fix the Duplicate IDs issue - I’d suggest that only as a stop-gap, so you can spread the downloading of new files out.

LeggyBlond - 21 August 2012 02:12 AM

I’ve reset my Downloads from my Itemised history and I’m also getting the old version so can anyone ‘give me a clue?’

Decimator is supplied in the main DS4.5 installer, you simply need to give it your serial number through help>About Installed plugins.

After re-setting my downloads, ‘All’ files when clicked for download show as the old version and there is no sign of ‘Decimator’ whatever that is.

 Signature 

Simply…...Out There!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 09:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 310 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4538
Joined  2004-08-11

If you got the paid for version then the Decimator is part of the package.  If you got on board after DAZ started giving away DAZ Studio Pro then Decimator is not part of the package so don’t worry about it.

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 09:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 311 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  27
Joined  2005-10-05
RAMWolff - 21 August 2012 09:12 AM

If you got the paid for version then the Decimator is part of the package.  If you got on board after DAZ started giving away DAZ Studio Pro then Decimator is not part of the package so don’t worry about it.

Decimator, when I bought it and whatever matters not as all I get on a reset is the old version.  I’ve written to the help people as I’m getting a tad peed off.

It would be far simpler to have simply placed it in the downloads(as used to be the case)  with a brief mail informing us it was available.  The only reason I knew about it was because I looked in the forum which I don’t do very often.

Whatever way I only seem to get ‘4.0.3.47.’

 Signature 

Simply…...Out There!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 09:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 312 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4538
Joined  2004-08-11

The update mailing reminders are MIA for everyone at the moment…. If you bought it then you should have the update.  Call up DAZ if your in the USA and ask that they look into it….

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 09:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 313 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  336
Joined  2003-10-09
LeggyBlond - 21 August 2012 09:33 AM
RAMWolff - 21 August 2012 09:12 AM

If you got the paid for version then the Decimator is part of the package.  If you got on board after DAZ started giving away DAZ Studio Pro then Decimator is not part of the package so don’t worry about it.

Decimator, when I bought it and whatever matters not as all I get on a reset is the old version.  I’ve written to the help people as I’m getting a tad peed off.

It would be far simpler to have simply placed it in the downloads(as used to be the case)  with a brief mail informing us it was available.  The only reason I knew about it was because I looked in the forum which I don’t do very often.

Whatever way I only seem to get ‘4.0.3.47.’

All you have to do is install DS 4.5 and then just enter your original Decimator serial number. You don’t have to install Decimator again.

 Signature 

“Own the day”
Live, Love, Laugh, Dream, Believe  

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 10:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 314 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8554
Joined  2007-11-06

When you reset you get both the 4.0.3.47 downloads (so you can back them up if you want to) and the 4.5.0.114 downloads.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 August 2012 10:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 315 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  239
Joined  2005-09-14

From what I am reading in “LeggyBlond’s” post I think she has DS4 Advanced and not DS4 Pro. If she has DS4 Advanced can she reset her downloads and will it be 4.5 pro or still advanced? If not does she have to go to the store and add the DS4 Pro to her shopping cart since it is free? Dang I hope I am making sense…lol. That might be what she is confused about and if I am wrong I apologize for jumping the g*n grin.

Profile
 
 
   
21 of 65
21