Digital Art Zone

 
   
6 of 12
6
Dark Apocalypse: Shrieker [Commercial]
Posted: 07 August 2012 08:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 76 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1252
Joined  2003-10-19
Kendall Sears - 07 August 2012 08:14 PM

Cool creature.


Quick question… do you have a morph that allows for the “head” to be split like the lower jaws held in reserve?  I noticed that there isn’t one on the creature by default.  It would be really cool to be able to open the head in all 4 directions.


Kendall

Unfortunately, no… I have no way to split the geometry in that fashion. At this point, the best way that would work, is to hide the head plate, and to duplicate the lower jaw geometry twice, fit it to the top of the head as a parented prop or conformer. Then morph that piece the same way the jaw is (so it can open and close)

But I do want to mention, this has blank channels. So if anyone wants to make additional morphs, it will support custom morph pose injection.

 Signature 

—- Don’t knock on death’s door… ring the doorbell and run (he HATES that)

| My Store on DAZ | D4IVI4G3 Iµ© | Facebook |

Need help with something of mine? Shoot me an email: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 August 2012 09:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 77 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1862
Joined  2006-02-17

Quick Heads Up:  The poses reset the figure position back to 0,0,0


Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 August 2012 09:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 78 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1252
Joined  2003-10-19
Kendall Sears - 07 August 2012 09:00 PM

Quick Heads Up:  The poses reset the figure position back to 0,0,0


Kendall

They wha?

 Signature 

—- Don’t knock on death’s door… ring the doorbell and run (he HATES that)

| My Store on DAZ | D4IVI4G3 Iµ© | Facebook |

Need help with something of mine? Shoot me an email: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 August 2012 09:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 79 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1862
Joined  2006-02-17
IgnisSerpentus - 07 August 2012 09:12 PM
Kendall Sears - 07 August 2012 09:00 PM

Quick Heads Up:  The poses reset the figure position back to 0,0,0


Kendall

They wha?

I’m using the Shrieker in a fairly complex scene (7 of them so far) and poses00-06 reposition the figure from the correct scene position to (0,0,0) or in one case pose02(0,-1.81,0.13).  I stopped checking after the fist seven poses.


Just thought you’d like to know.  BTW DS4.5rc3 using the poses from Smart Content.


Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 August 2012 09:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 80 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2977
Joined  2004-10-25

I could be wrong because I never took note of it, but I thought ALL poses do that.  I usually pose my figures before moving them, so I’ve not come across this before, or at least I don’t recall it ever happening.

 Signature 

OK . . . Where’s my chocolate?     Post Count —> 3,263 and growing!     Visit my Renderosity Gallery

It’s what you learn after you know it all that counts ~ John Wooden

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 August 2012 09:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 81 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1252
Joined  2003-10-19

Oh yah… they pose relative to the floor in Poser (which is very small, and the shrieker is massive in scale) so you definitely want to pose initially, then move it to where u want it in the scene. I had the same issue when rendering the promos and stuff.

@ Miss B Well, poses can be both ways, really. Actually, one could strip out the translations on the body, to keep it fairly center to its starting point. I just didn’t. If they are moved by the hip, however, that’s a more delicate thing, since the hip is actually part of the pose. But yah, for the most part I pose first and then move them in the scene, too. But there are times when I decide I want a diff pose and it moves back to square one on me lol

 Signature 

—- Don’t knock on death’s door… ring the doorbell and run (he HATES that)

| My Store on DAZ | D4IVI4G3 Iµ© | Facebook |

Need help with something of mine? Shoot me an email: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 August 2012 09:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 82 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1862
Joined  2006-02-17
Miss B - 07 August 2012 09:24 PM

I could be wrong because I never took note of it, but I thought ALL poses do that.  I usually pose my figures before moving them, so I’ve not come across this before, or at least I don’t recall it ever happening.


When creating a pose preset (at least in DS4) one can tell DS not to include specific settings.  Alexa learned this when creating her poses for the Iceskating and bowling poses for the freepository.


If one doesn’t include the translations, then the figure stays where it belongs.


Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 August 2012 09:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 83 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1252
Joined  2003-10-19

Yeah, I just checked and omitting the translate isn’t going to work in this case. Because some of the poses sit, and others slither, its going to push them thru the ground if the trans is removed on all of them (or alternately, make some float in the air lol)

Now, you could easily remove them anyway in edit pad, if you prefer (copy all the translate entries and extend one bracket, and replace with nothing)  and then just drop the floor, if you want. Or alternatively, just remove the trans entries in a poser editing tool like poser file editor. The trade-off will be having to set them properly on the floor, though.

 Signature 

—- Don’t knock on death’s door… ring the doorbell and run (he HATES that)

| My Store on DAZ | D4IVI4G3 Iµ© | Facebook |

Need help with something of mine? Shoot me an email: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 August 2012 09:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 84 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1862
Joined  2006-02-17
IgnisSerpentus - 07 August 2012 09:40 PM

Yeah, I just checked and omitting the translate isn’t going to work in this case. Because some of the poses sit, and others slither, its going to push them thru the ground if the trans is removed on all of them (or alternately, make some float in the air lol)

Now, you could easily remove them anyway in edit pad, if you prefer (copy all the translate entries and extend one bracket, and replace with nothing)  and then just drop the floor, if you want. Or alternately, just remove the trans entries in a poser editing tool like poser file editor. The trade-off will be having to set them properly on the floor, though.


Already edited before I even contacted you.  grin  I was just letting you know in case you didn’t already.  It can be really irritating to have painstakingly laid out a large scene only to have a pose preset jump your figure off camera.


Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 August 2012 09:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 85 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1252
Joined  2003-10-19
Kendall Sears - 07 August 2012 09:49 PM
IgnisSerpentus - 07 August 2012 09:40 PM

Yeah, I just checked and omitting the translate isn’t going to work in this case. Because some of the poses sit, and others slither, its going to push them thru the ground if the trans is removed on all of them (or alternately, make some float in the air lol)

Now, you could easily remove them anyway in edit pad, if you prefer (copy all the translate entries and extend one bracket, and replace with nothing)  and then just drop the floor, if you want. Or alternately, just remove the trans entries in a poser editing tool like poser file editor. The trade-off will be having to set them properly on the floor, though.


Already edited before I even contacted you.  grin  I was just letting you know in case you didn’t already.  It can be really irritating to have painstakingly laid out a large scene only to have a pose preset jump your figure off camera.


Kendall

Yeah, having them that way would have failed QA though. They all must drop to the floor properly, and cant float above or dip below. So sadly, that’s something that will have to be left up to the end user to do on their own :(

 Signature 

—- Don’t knock on death’s door… ring the doorbell and run (he HATES that)

| My Store on DAZ | D4IVI4G3 Iµ© | Facebook |

Need help with something of mine? Shoot me an email: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 August 2012 09:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 86 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1252
Joined  2003-10-19

Hm actually, looking again… as long as the y trans is left, it should work

 Signature 

—- Don’t knock on death’s door… ring the doorbell and run (he HATES that)

| My Store on DAZ | D4IVI4G3 Iµ© | Facebook |

Need help with something of mine? Shoot me an email: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 August 2012 10:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 87 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1862
Joined  2006-02-17
IgnisSerpentus - 07 August 2012 09:59 PM

Hm actually, looking again… as long as the y trans is left, it should work


Or create separate “Pose In Place - Pose00”  poses that don’t change the translations.


Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 August 2012 10:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 88 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1252
Joined  2003-10-19

Ok if you guys want a set that dont move around in the scene, here you go.

http://www.damageinc3d.net/Support/DIShriekerPoses-NoTrans.zip

Note: These are just the poses, and will install to the same directory, and overwrite the origs. If you want to keep them as an aside, I would recommend manually dragging them into the pose folder, into a new folder. You can then copy over the thumbs, since these have none.

 Signature 

—- Don’t knock on death’s door… ring the doorbell and run (he HATES that)

| My Store on DAZ | D4IVI4G3 Iµ© | Facebook |

Need help with something of mine? Shoot me an email: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 August 2012 10:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 89 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1862
Joined  2006-02-17
IgnisSerpentus - 07 August 2012 10:11 PM

Ok if you guys want a set that dont move around in the scene, here you go.

http://www.damageinc3d.net/Support/DIShriekerPoses-NoTrans.zip

Note: These are just the poses, and will install to the same directory, and overwrite the origs. If you want to keep them as an aside, I would recommend manually dragging them into the pose folder, into a new folder. You can then copy over the thumbs, since these have none.


Very nice!  Thanks.


Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 August 2012 10:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 90 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  351
Joined  2003-10-09

Poor Shrieker took a wrong turn somewhere!  ohh

 

Image Attachments
LostShrieker1024.jpg
 Signature 

“Own the day”
Live, Love, Laugh, Dream, Believe  

Profile
 
 
   
6 of 12
6