Digital Art Zone

 
     
Best Way to back up everything?
Posted: 06 August 2012 11:30 AM   [ Ignore ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4687
Joined  2011-11-25

Hi, are there instructions on the best wayt o back up daz stuff so the scene files will work? . I want to make sure I am performing a proper backup of not just the installers but my runtime so if my machine should crash then I can restore my work… (if possible).

thanks,

S

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2012 12:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15717
Joined  2003-10-09

Back up all of your content directories - the vital one is the first listed in the Content Directory Manager for DAZ Studio formats as that holds the native geometry files, needed for the scene to open (in 4.0 - 4.5 is a bit more flexible, as long as the original files are present).

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2012 01:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4687
Joined  2011-11-25

When you mean content directories, you are referring to everything within the daz 3d folder, such as the content manageent service, content manager, studio folder etc?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2012 03:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15717
Joined  2003-10-09

Well, I meant everything in the various folders you have selected as content directories. Backing up the database is a little trickier, Adamr001 has a tutorial on that. Other settings are in the registry or in the DS AppData folder, but I’m not sue how portable things like custom actions would be.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2012 03:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1308
Joined  2006-03-14

To backup the CMS database, you first need to stop the CMS Service, then you can copy the entire databases folder (you need all 5 or 6 files) to another location.  Don’t forget to restart the CMS.

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2012 03:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1308
Joined  2006-03-14

I wrote a quick batch script for this purposes…


Here’s a code sample of mine.  You’d need to change the path to the CMS databases folder to what yours is for it to work.

pause
net stop 
"DAZ Content Management Service"
xcopy /"E:\DAZ\Content Management Service\databases\*.*" "E:\DAZ\Content Management Service\databases\backup\"
net start "DAZ Content Management Service"
pause 

This code also forces you to press the any key for it to start and gives you a chance to view any error messages (again by forcing you to press any key) before it closes.


Take out the two “pause” lines if you don’t want the prompts.


This works only on Windows-based PCs.  Haven’t figured out how to do it in OSX yet sorry.

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile