Digital Art Zone

 
     
Frustrating Crashes
Posted: 05 August 2012 03:21 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  151
Joined  2004-06-24

Thought I would re-work one of my old images in B7pro, origional was done in 2004. Anyway what I did was moved a sampan more into the fore ground added some baskets now every time I try to save CRASH!!!!!!!!!! Grrrrrrrrrrrr. File size is 40.2Mb.

Cheers
GG

Image Attachments
Bryce-7-crash.jpg
 Signature 

WHO said Kiwis can’t fly ?????

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2012 04:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  879
Joined  2008-11-26

I have frequent crashes with bryce 7 and my files are not so big. I keep saving as I work. I’m on windows 7 64bit.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2012 04:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3828
Joined  2004-10-01

@kiwi_gg - file size doesn’t tell you anything about the size of the scene because it is compressed. This has the advantage of saving (cheap) disk space but the disadvantage that the compression/decompression is done in memory.

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2012 05:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17075
Joined  2003-10-09

A question Horo.  Is this compression something that was introduced in Br7 or has it always been there ?

I ask because I have BR5 files with a size of eg 493gb Would dread to think how big the scene file would be if that is a compressed size.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2012 07:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3828
Joined  2004-10-01

File compression came with Bryce 6.0. Bryce 5.0 has them definitely uncompressed. By the way, you can try it: zip the file. If you gain a lot, the file is uncompressed. If you gain only a few percents, it is already compressed.

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2012 08:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17075
Joined  2003-10-09

OK, thanks Horo. I didn’t bother putting 6 on this PC, and as you know I don’t think it will even try to work with 7, much as I want to play with the big boys and use B7.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2012 12:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  151
Joined  2004-06-24

Thanks for that info horo, I did’nt know about the file compression being introduced with B6. I Have had a sleep on the crash problem and I think it may be the texture on the baskets thats doing it so I’ll check it out some time today.

Cheers
GG

 Signature 

WHO said Kiwis can’t fly ?????

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2012 12:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17075
Joined  2003-10-09

It could well be the textures. Bryce uses uncompressed textures, and so many textures nowadays are made physically big (in pixel size) and high res, so when they are uncompressed by Bryce they have quite enormous kb sizes.  Basically think of a jpg being turned back into a tiff or bmp.

Horo did do a chart with te comparitive sizes once, but of course it is somewhere in the old Bryce forum.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile