Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 3
1
new rigging tool for simple prop (is there more easy way?)
Posted: 05 August 2012 01:39 PM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1762
Joined  2012-03-24

Is there more easy way to make simple rigged figure(prop) on daz studio?

it means not human, or doll animals with weight, just prop which parts can move by rigs.

Now I can make simple figure by CCT, but it needs assigne face group
then use Figure set up tool, then adjust bone by joint editor, then need triax weight map,,

If I want to send obj consits of some groups from Hexagon, and want to set rig,
First, I need to weld them as one obj.

then need to assign every poligon as face groups again.
though I can use material groups for assigne face group,,

(if I did not assigne face groups, I should make many bones manually,, terrible!!)

I just want to move parts of prop (obj)  with rig(bone) in daz studio.
it is better just assign face group automatically by “group name” and
follow the movements and rotation, which assined to rigs.

(of course need not buldge maps ,, graduation weight,, and ,, riggidity )

if think about machine eg robot arm, or drill prop, they need not complex surface move at all.)

so I suggest the easy rigging utillity or plug-in by object groups.

you can connect other obj(new primitive or imported obj) with new rig ,(just apply by one click new rig)too.

then you can move them as one obj,

it seems so easy to make prop animation when you want to need movements,,

(it is my test work by Geekatplay , so thaks kind video tutoriall ^^!! I hope to rig this robot someday,,)
http://www.geekatplay.com/tutorials/hexagon/thirdteen/

Image Attachments
group.JPG
group2.JPG
Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 August 2012 04:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15746
Joined  2003-10-09

Well, you need groups or (for TriAx rigging) to assign bones in order for DS to know which bits should move - it can’t look at a bare mesh and deduce which bits should be moving parts. If you make each part a separate item in Hexagon those should load as groups in DS. Now, if you don’t want anything to bend it would be simplest not to use TriAx at all - use the legacy Parametric mode instead (option at top of pane) and when you’ve created your figure select all the bones, go to the Parameters pane and turn off the Bend button. Then you just need to adjust the end points and you are done.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2012 12:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1762
Joined  2012-03-24

@Richard

I mistook when export obj because I used hexagon bridge or weled option.
.
by your advice, Now I can send a obj (which has some parts and grouped one in hexagon)  with assignments face grooup by parts name of obj to d|s4 pro . then used figure set up tool with Parametric option.  and test movements.
.
but it is something different what I hope, I want to just connect them by rig.
(it is as if parented objects,  but when I translate the parts of children node,
other node can move with, and I want to save them as one prop,,(of figure))

and I can not understand how to adjust rig,,

( old joint editor ? appear.  I change tool,  then buck joint editor, it turend rig system which I used to about triax figure,,
sometimes change, sometimes not,,)
.
so I test with more simple case.

1. I made cube, cylinder(joint parts), sphere, in hexagon. then named them, “cube” , “joint”, “sphere”
.
2. I grouped them as one name “3obj” . then export as wavefront object , then import the file in d|s 4 pro (4,0,3 64bit)
.
3 now the “3obj” (one object) face groups are assigned by their parts name in hexagon.(cube, joint, sphere)
.
4 Figure setup tool, with Parametric(legasy) option, I load geometry, then parented 3rigs and change XYZ order.

5 click create (checkrig1.jpg)

6 I adjust rig point, then check move(rotation), I hope rotate each “face parts” 3-ways.and connect them by rig.
if I rotate (twist) the cube bone (parets bone), I hope 3 parts rotate,  ,, not hope parts of cube surface twist .

(checkrig2.jpg)
.
where I missed? I try to adjust rig, but I can not rotate whole cube,, .just twist parts of cube.

and is there any document about how to rig with Parametric(legasy) option?

I can not understand what they means,,.(green and red crossed square,,etc)

Image Attachments
checkrig1.JPG
checkrig2.JPG
Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2012 12:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1762
Joined  2012-03-24

so,, what is this tool?  I can not understand these color map looks like weight maps,,

I set joint editor tool. is this old tool for parametric figure?  and sometimes they disappear.

(in this pic, I try to move sphere and rig(sylinder), with sylinder bone lotate,
but if I twist (lotation X), the surface of cube twist too,, why? I did not set any weight map,,)

Image Attachments
jointool.JPG
Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2012 04:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15746
Joined  2003-10-09

Remember to select all of the bones after you create your figure and turn the Bend property off. Then each will move as a unit without deforming, and you will not need to adjust anything other than the centre and end points. The old style rigging did assign weights to joints, that’s needed for bending, but it did so not vertex by vertex but by the position of the points in relation to angled planes and, optionally, a pair of spheres - you are seeing variations because you haven’t turned bending off.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2012 12:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1762
Joined  2012-03-24

Thanks, I finally found “bend” misc category option in parameter tab
I had mistaken, your “bend” menas. so I rocked every rotation (bend, twist, side-side)
then,, it something wrong, if I could not tell you what I want,, then unrock again,,

But Now I can understand. I get all what I wanted to know (exporting group, and rig prop without weight map)

thanks much Richard. 

then to save it as figure or prop,  I need to change it as traiax figure finally. do not need I?
and if I keep bend setting, I should modifier assets ?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2012 12:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1762
Joined  2012-03-24

Now, I tryed save,
if I want to save the “rigged-obj” (without weight map, no bend option),
as figure or prop, I should change triax figure. if I do so, it can not keep “no bend” option.


So I try to save it as daz scene file as “riggedobj.daz” .  but everytime I road the file,
it turned erroer message,, and the geometry (surface) do not road.
bone only loading,,

I make the rigged prop by obj saved at mylibrary(my default contents directory) >myname>myobj ,
then I save the .daz scene file mylibrary>myname>myscene (almost every dsf file I saved there)

is there something mistake?  ><;

I can not save anything,,

Image Attachments
loaderroer.JPG
Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2012 12:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15746
Joined  2003-10-09

Try exporting as a CR2. However, aside from the scaling issue you will have with that I think the problem is the two-part group names - “Group2 rig” etc. - as in an OBJ file those are seen as name separators. Open your original OBJ in a text editor and search for “Group2”, deleting every instance (or just replacing with nothing) and I think that will work better. That looks like a bug to me - it really shouldn’t be keeping both names as group names when rigging.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 August 2012 12:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1762
Joined  2012-03-24

Thank you Richard, I hope this is last question about making rigged simple figure (no bend)
.
I understand about group name , so change them by editor.
.
Now I can save the figure (named “rigtest”) as daz scene file.
.
and I thought to save “rigtest” as cr2 (actually I tried )

But, the scale setting is difficult.
.
to make this figure,  I imported “rigtest.obj” with scale for daz. (whch is exported as 10times scale from hexagon as to use daz studio)
it seems correct scale to wrok in daz studio, then use the geometry, rig and make the prop as you said.
I keep , 1:10 everytime,  for   Hexagon and d|s obj. scale setting.

I just use “rigtest” on daz studio not poser.
when I exprot it as cr2 file, and load it in daz studio,  the prop show with so large scale geometry.
once it killed my graphic card.

I checked cr2 exporter option, but I can not find how to change scale like obj.export improt, or morh loader.

so how to save (export)  the “rigtest” as cr2 with relevant scale for d|s4 ?

I do not understand clearly about cr2 file, but it seems need geometry(.obj) with cr2.
under runtime/geometry/

then,  I should change the scale “rigtest.obj”  ‘(which used for making the simple figure)
and save it as same name,  under runtime/geometry/ direcotry?

I hope (this is not complain),  would be able to use more simple rig system for no bending figure
without trx weight (which can be saved as dsf , duf) next version d|s

Image Attachments
cr2export.JPG
Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 August 2012 02:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1762
Joined  2012-03-24

now I correct scale.
.
after I export the no weight figre as cr.2 ,  then export   .obj file again with poser scale, then over write geometry for cr2.
.
However afterwards the figure saved as cr2 can not move sameway as I rigged and checked before export.
.
if I rotate child node, it moves other parents node too.
So I checked the face group assigend by poligon Groue editor,
face group has gone away..

did I mistake export obj setting when overwrite?

Image Attachments
crexport2.JPG
cr2save.JPG
Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 August 2012 05:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15746
Joined  2003-10-09

The export options look right, but if the groups aren’t in the original imported OBJ for some reason that won’t help. Try exporting the geometry of the figure, which you know should be correctly grouped, rather than of an imported obj and see if that works.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 August 2012 06:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1762
Joined  2012-03-24

thanks richard so much.. I tried again
first I come to a my conclusion , (I hope it my mistake,,) I could not save as cr2 what I hope.

but I reported how to try again.

==================================================

I could not rememver which I exported the obj of the rigged figure with correct scale or not.

So I checked again.

I had saved the scene of the figure “rigtest” (not weightmapped but rigged) as rigtest.daz before.

so I load the rigtest.daz scene file. then checked group by poligon groupeditor and rig move.

that is fine. If I bend the child node “rig_sphere”, only the small sphere surfaces
(assigned as G_rig_sphere) move.

If I bend(rotate z)  middle node rig_tube, the tube surfaces(as G_rig_tube, )and
the child of the tube , small sphere surfaces bend, and not move base large sphere, (parent of tube ) surfaces.

Now I exproted the “rigtest” figure on the scene as “rigtest.cr"again.

the geometry of “rigtest.cr” had copied and saved as “>>\Mylibrary\Runtime\Geometries\TK\test\rigtest.obj”.

then I exported the “rigtest” figure(which had been checked group) as obj for overwrite the geometry scale.

the alert window “File already exists” showed up, I click “yes” now I overwrote “rigtest.obj”

then load the “rigtest.cr2” from contents livrary. the image icon changed so I hope,,

it goes well,,  but,,,It lost the Face group, and move bone only.

so if someone check same things , and do well , please tell me how to. I try again.

and thanks so much to many reply and advide Richard. I can get many knowledge this time.
(I had never export cr2 before,,everytime change triax figure,,)

I know if I use triax-weight (Filled weight 100persents, I can do same thing and save as figure,prop)
so I stop to try now.

Image Attachments
rigsean.JPGrigexport3.JPGrigexport4.JPG
Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 August 2012 06:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1762
Joined  2012-03-24

for confirm it, I checked “export obj ” from the scene with figure
and import the obj in daz4 again and checked the group. it keeps the group assignement for facegroup.

So I think if I export rigged figure as cr2, the geometry lost the group assignement ,does not it? 
I can not confirm whidh of case it happend, ,, but in this case , the gropu assignment has gone away.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 August 2012 05:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15746
Joined  2003-10-09

I just exported an OBJ from a figure loaded from CR2, then imported it into Figure Setup and the groups were still present. So I think the problem must be coming from the figure, not the exporter. You have a hand-edited OBJ with just the correct group names, don’t you? Try copying your figure, from the .daz scene file, into Figure Setup (Copy From Select Figure in the option menu), then import your correctly grouped OBJ, and drag it onto the hierarchy - that should replace the problematic group names. Create that figure, and see if it will export and save correctly (ignoring the fact that the scale will still be wrong and will need correcting).

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 August 2012 01:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1762
Joined  2012-03-24

I wana check it one by one with pic,
so tell me if I mistook when I did.

step1. Now I load a “rigtest.daz” scene. I can load it without problem.
then I check the “rigtest” figure movements.

(confirm that the figure was made by Figure Setup tool,and I saved the scene
with figure, and I did not save it as other file (cr2 or dsf),
I could save it only as “rigtest.daz” scene file).

the rigtest figure on the scene goes well how I hope so.

it keeps “no bend” option, too.

the node name is
“rig_base” >> “rig_tube” >> “rig_sphere”  (Parents>>Child)

the three bones are assigned with the each parts of object, keeping “face group”.  I did not set “Region group”

(these parts are grouped to one , before in hexagon, I just make one group from three parts)

and I check it by porigon group editor too.

(I set “group name” when I group them in hexagon, and when I made the figure on figure set up tool,
change “rig name”, and “label name” to remove “group name problem”

, so it keep some problem? if the name of node is wrong tell it please)


step2 Select the figure(rigtest) on the Scene , then copy it on “Figure Setup tool”  (by option menu of Figure setup tool)

now I hope to check there something mistake parts about node, or should I change name?

and I did not ” import your correctly grouped OBJ, and drag it onto the hierarchy - that should replace the problematic group names. “

I can not which obj do you mean. the obj if the obj by which I made this figure?

I can not which obj I used to make this simple figure. because I try so many times to test,
I have many obj to make this. if I export this rigtest.daz as obj, and reload it OK?

this is so simple figure, ( it is just test, so only two parts obj I will make and try if I hope)
but I need what order is need more clearly. and I think need not to keep mistake group name.

I feel it has not same means if tesi it from cr.2 figure too. because I can not save the figure without seane file,
It happend when I set figure as parametric type then export as cr2.

Image Attachments
a_rig2.JPGa_rig1.JPG
Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 August 2012 01:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15746
Joined  2003-10-09

You still have spaces in the group names, which I suspect is the reason you can’t export as CR2 (or as OBJ with the correct group names).

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 3
1