Digital Art Zone

 
     
Metadata for poser compresed files. Is It possible?
Posted: 04 August 2012 02:49 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  515
Joined  2005-01-19

I have crz, p2z, hrz, ppz items in an external disk. Their directory is in poser format and this is declared in content library. I used “poser format” branch in content library because “daz format” branch doesn’t show items, only empty sub-folders. But I want create metadata for this, following “Creating Homebrew Metadata” tutorial, it doesn’t work. Then, is it possible create metadata for this items in external disk or not?

 Signature 

Playing with shaders

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/20283/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 August 2012 03:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2229
Joined  2003-12-06
gilikshe - 04 August 2012 02:49 PM

Their directory is in poser format and this is declared in content library. I used “poser format” branch in content library because “daz format” branch doesn’t show items, only empty sub-folders.

FWIW, this is how DAZ|Studio has always worked — Poser items and D|S items must be in folders defined as containing Poser or D|S content. Any locations defined as the wrong format will appear to contain only empty folders, as you discovered.

I can’t help with the metadata question, I’m afraid, I don’t use it.

 Signature 

Gone to Vegas to play poker. Back when I run out of clothes.—Your Muse.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 August 2012 07:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  901
Joined  2009-12-07

Hi Gilikshe

I’d be happy to help you figure out how to do this. If you can see those items in DAZ Studio, then you can create metadata for them. Can you confirm that after you add your externap Poser format content folders to DAZ Studio and select Scan Known Directories for Files or Search Hard Disk, that you see the items in DAZ Studio?

If you can do the above, then which step of the tutorial doesn’t work?

 Signature 

PoseMaster for DAZ Studio and PoseMaster People Pack now sold at Rendo.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 August 2012 10:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  515
Joined  2005-01-19
cridgit - 04 August 2012 07:35 PM

Hi Gilikshe

I’d be happy to help you figure out how to do this. If you can see those items in DAZ Studio, then you can create metadata for them. Can you confirm that after you add your externap Poser format content folders to DAZ Studio and select Scan Known Directories for Files or Search Hard Disk, that you see the items in DAZ Studio?

If you can do the above, then which step of the tutorial doesn’t work?

Thanks.

I add external runtime to “DAZ Studio Formats”, files are not showing in “content library”. I add the same external runtime to “Poser Formats” all files are showed. No problem, it is the expected behavior. Next, I go to “Scan Known Directories”. When scanning is ended in “Categories/Default/Unassigned” doesn’t appear all files. I search carefully the Unassigned folder and only *.p2z compressed files appears, *.crz and *.ppz doesn’t. So, I can’t reproduce the following steps on the tutorial.

I think “Search Hard Disk” is not appropriate to me, I don’t want that all poser folder in the disk are reading, only the folder of interest.

I currently use a clean installation of DS4.5 R3, since DS4.0.3.37 doesn’t work more in my machine.

 Signature 

Playing with shaders

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/20283/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 August 2012 04:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  246
Joined  2006-04-05

Hi Gilikshe,

Do you own Poser, not sure from your post?

If so, there is an option to uncompress Poser compressed files,ending z, which should solve the issue. If you don’t own Poser I am not sure if there is an external program that will uncompress them, WinRAR certainly will not. Maybe someone else knows?

Just another way to approach it.

 Signature 

My DevArt Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 August 2012 12:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  515
Joined  2005-01-19
Haruchai - 05 August 2012 04:51 AM

Hi Gilikshe,

Do you own Poser, not sure from your post?

If so, there is an option to uncompress Poser compressed files,ending z, which should solve the issue. If you don’t own Poser I am not sure if there is an external program that will uncompress them, WinRAR certainly will not. Maybe someone else knows?

Just another way to approach it.

I don’t own Poser. I compress my files with gzip, It reduce content size between 25% and 50%. My freebies’ collection growth exponentially.

 Signature 

Playing with shaders

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/20283/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 August 2012 03:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  515
Joined  2005-01-19

Already solve!! Steps I apply are slightly different from tutorial, but the information in tutoriaal has been very useful

Image Attachments
IDOLA3.jpg
 Signature 

Playing with shaders

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/20283/

Profile