Digital Art Zone

 
     
help needed installing content
Posted: 03 August 2012 03:20 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2008-10-19

Hi i have been useing an older version of daz for a couple of years and upgraded to daz 4 last week ,my problem is how do i install the characters,props etc that i have collected i am running on a windows system , the few that i have installed are not showing in up in the contents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 August 2012 03:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6682
Joined  2005-08-15

Hello ferreter!

There is no need to re-install content for DS4, you can simply list the DS3 Content folder as a DAZ Studio and Poser Formats folder inside DS4P.

In DS4P in the Content Library tab, right click on DAZ Studio Fomrats, and then select ‘Add a Base Directory’.  Do the same thing with Poser Formats, and use Add a Runtime Directory.  In both cases, you should give the path to the Content folder, and not any folder below it, DS4P will pick up the Runtime folder from there.

See if that helps.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 August 2012 12:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2008-10-19

i did set up my old folders but ds4 cant find them

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 August 2012 12:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6682
Joined  2005-08-15

Did you set them up as described above?

I have my Content folder from DS3 set up that way with no problems.  What Operating System are you using, and where is the Content folder located?  If you are using Windows 7 or Vista, it should not be in the Porgram Files area..

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 August 2012 06:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2008-10-19

thanks for your help i am useing xp , i can now find them

Profile