Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
No more Readme files?
Posted: 30 July 2012 06:40 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  294
Joined  2003-10-09

I just purchased two new items in the store here and of course, install them right away because anxious to use them.
I know sometime back they changed the default about reading “readme” file immediately after install, which is OK.
But now I can’t find readme anywhere, so I reinstall because thinking I do something wrong.


It looks like now we don’t have readme to keep on own computer.  Instead we have to connect to DAZ.


To me this is not good.  I have to go through extra step of saving that webpage to disk.  Also, what happens if that particular item is removed from store? Probably readme will disappear also.  I know most of you have at one time tried to find out about discontinued item and it’s like it never existed.


This is not an improvement to product and hope things are restored

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 07:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1336
Joined  2006-03-14

http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/public/read_me/index/start

 

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 08:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  294
Joined  2003-10-09
adamr001 - 30 July 2012 07:40 PM

http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/public/read_me/index/start

I know that is where they are now, but it would be nice if they actually included the readme with a purchased product.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 09:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  75
Joined  2009-06-11
Medzin - 30 July 2012 08:22 PM
adamr001 - 30 July 2012 07:40 PM

http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/public/read_me/index/start

I know that is where they are now, but it would be nice if they actually included the readme with a purchased product.

I agree. Taking the readme out and linking to a webpage instead was a poor choice. They don’t seem to realize that just maybe not EVERYONE has their art computer connected to the internet. And even if you do, given the reliability of DAZ’s new setup, actually connecting to it is a hit-or-miss proposition.red face

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 11:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2282
Joined  2012-02-04

It is interesting to see that quite a few of the items say “This product has not yet been publicly released.”, rather than showing a readme file. They must be new products that we will see “SOON”.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 July 2012 03:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15981
Joined  2003-10-09

THere is a Feature request to have the readme restored to the downloads, in the Mantis bug tracker, if you would like to add your support.

https://bugs.daz3d.com/view.php?id=47340

Do note that if you have never used the Bugtracker before you will need to start a new account there, as it is separate from the Daz main site, but you can use the same Username etc, to make it easier to track.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        September Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 July 2012 08:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1312
Joined  2003-10-09

Thanks chohole - I’ve added my support to restoring readmes to the packages.


Cheers,


Cliff

 Signature 

Cliff’s Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 July 2012 09:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  250
Joined  2003-10-09

ReadMe’s are an essential part of a product. Internet access is not always possible.

I have connection outages and have vacationed in remote places with no connections available. In those conditions I cannot then access an online ReadMe on my traveling laptop.

With thousands of products on my computers and multiple runtimes I can forget where a product is stored or forget a feature of a product I want to review. So, having a ReadMe included is a way to find or verify.

No ReadMe’s included in a product is a bad idea.

 Signature 

http://www.daz3d.com/shop/don-albert/

http://www.donalbertgraphicarts.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 August 2012 09:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  225
Joined  2011-10-02

Some of us take fast internet connections for granted, and don’t render when we vacation, but those are good points.  On the other hand, I love the online ReadMes as it enables me to get a little more information on a product before I decide to buy it.  Plus the current ReadMe files aren’t that easy to navigate either, especially if you buy from other sites.  Having both would be nice, but if I had to pick one, I’d go with online.  Nicely indexed and saves me time and space.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 August 2012 04:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1749
Joined  2012-04-14

Where are the readme’s? They’re not included in the download and they’re not on the website. Getting Page Not found errors.  If you’re going to remove them from the download the very least you can do is to ensure that the readme is available on the website. It seems like every single time I buy something lately the readme is not available. This is really very poor.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 August 2012 05:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07

Apps haven’t had any documentation for a while, no surprise if DAZ has stopped doing documentation for content.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 August 2012 06:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15981
Joined  2003-10-09

Merging this threa with the exisitng thread.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        September Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 August 2012 11:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1749
Joined  2012-04-14

What is the point of the view readme box redirecting to a not found page?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 August 2012 11:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7682
Joined  2006-03-19

There are occasions that they forget to put the readme up. It is a different department that handles that. All we can do is point them to the appropriate packs so they can get it fixed.

 Signature 

ARTCollaborations Store on DAZ3D    ARTCollaborations on Facebook

*****Mad Chemistry Lab*****  

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 August 2012 12:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1749
Joined  2012-04-14

Perhaps DAZ should invest in producing a checklist of tasks that have to be done before a product is put up in the store, with a little sign off for each section. The product shouldn’t go live without the list being completed.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 August 2012 01:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1312
Joined  2003-10-09

Indeed. The “different department” excuse doesn’t really cut it for a company striving for “world-class”, especially given the apparent size of DAZ3D (it’s not like the other department is in a different time zone).

Cheers,

Cliff

 Signature 

Cliff’s Store

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1