Digital Art Zone

 
     
UV changes when scene reopened
Posted: 30 July 2012 09:27 AM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2248
Joined  2012-02-04

This is so frustrating! I’m using DS 4 Pro. When I reopen a saved scene, the character’s UV map sometimes has changed and all the skin looks wrong. This happened yesterday with M5. His skin was mapped to Kids 4. I know this has been discussed before, and I thought the answer was to click the padlock icon on the UV surface and lock it. But that did not help. Even though the UV was locked on M5, it came back as Kids 4 when reopened. ARGHHHHH. I can’t find the previous thread(s), because the forum search won’t let me search for UV, because UV is only 2 letters long. ARGHHHHH again! Has anyone found a fix for this, or is it just a known bug that I have to live with?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 10:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  50
Joined  2010-05-18

I have the same issue, although I’ve gotten used to it. Still be interested to hear if there is a cure for it.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 02:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1336
Joined  2006-03-14

What version of DS4?  4.0.2.37?

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 03:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2248
Joined  2012-02-04
adamr001 - 30 July 2012 02:43 PM

What version of DS4?  4.0.2.37?

Adam, I am using 4.0.3.47, which I believe is the latest version (other the the 4.5 RC, of course. I haven’t tried it).

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 03:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  50
Joined  2010-05-18

I’ve had it with all versions of ds4 pro I’e used, possibly even with ds4a before that, i can’t recall.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 03:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2248
Joined  2012-02-04
genejoke - 30 July 2012 03:36 PM

I’ve had it with all versions of ds4 pro I’e used, possibly even with ds4a before that, i can’t recall.

Do you mean “I’ve had it”, as in the problem has occurred, or “I’ve had it”, as in I’m totally fed up and refuse to use it ever again?—- or BOTH?
LOL

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 03:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  50
Joined  2010-05-18

As in I’ve had the problem with all versions.  still using it the program.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 05:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1172
Joined  2009-01-09

You might try resetting and redownloading Genesis Evolution everything (seriously, anything with the words “Genesis” and “Evolution”), as well as the Gen4 Shapes. Also MS-Lycan, if you have it. I had that problem—mostly with the Michaels—and it got much much worse after I installed MS-Lycan. (Lycan HATES Michaels. Any of them. All of them. Seems to be moderately indifferent to Victoriae.)


However, all of Genesis Evolution whatevers and the Shapes have been updated relatively recently—I think for version 4.5 compatibility, but I’m not sure— and they seem to have carried along some UV fixes in the bargain. MS-Lycan has also been updated to release version 1.1 (I think) to 1.4. The problem hasn’t completely gone away, but it’s much much less frequent since I updated.

 Signature 

VWrangler at deviantArt (NSFW for some images; login required to view those)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 06:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2248
Joined  2012-02-04
vwrangler - 30 July 2012 05:40 PM

You might try resetting and redownloading Genesis Evolution everything (seriously, anything with the words “Genesis” and “Evolution”), as well as the Gen4 Shapes. Also MS-Lycan, if you have it. I had that problem—mostly with the Michaels—and it got much much worse after I installed MS-Lycan. (Lycan HATES Michaels. Any of them. All of them. Seems to be moderately indifferent to Victoriae.)


However, all of Genesis Evolution whatevers and the Shapes have been updated relatively recently—I think for version 4.5 compatibility, but I’m not sure— and they seem to have carried along some UV fixes in the bargain. MS-Lycan has also been updated to release version 1.1 (I think) to 1.4. The problem hasn’t completely gone away, but it’s much much less frequent since I updated.

I reset and downloaded and got these files:
12992_GenesisEvolutionHeadMorphs_1.4_trx.exe
12994_GenesisEvolutionBodyMorphs_1.3_trx.exe
13079_V4andM4ShapesforGenesis_1.2_trx.exe
But these are the version numbers I already had downloaded and installed. I got the evolution morphs in February and the shapes in April. I don’t remember whether I ever updated them before, but I don’t think so. Since the versions match, I didn’t reinstall them now. They wouldn’t have changed without changing the version number, would they? I don’t have MS-Lycan. I really don’t have a very large library, because I’ve only been using DAZ Studio since February 2012.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 07:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1336
Joined  2006-03-14

Hmm, I’m using 4.5 RC3 and I can’t say I’ve noticed the issue.  I’ve been on 4.5 for awhile now though.

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 July 2012 12:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1172
Joined  2009-01-09
barbult - 30 July 2012 06:33 PM

I reset and downloaded and got these files:
12992_GenesisEvolutionHeadMorphs_1.4_trx.exe
12994_GenesisEvolutionBodyMorphs_1.3_trx.exe
13079_V4andM4ShapesforGenesis_1.2_trx.exe
But these are the version numbers I already had downloaded and installed. I got the evolution morphs in February and the shapes in April. I don’t remember whether I ever updated them before, but I don’t think so. Since the versions match, I didn’t reinstall them now. They wouldn’t have changed without changing the version number, would they? I don’t have MS-Lycan. I really don’t have a very large library, because I’ve only been using DAZ Studio since February 2012.


Ah, OK. In that case, I got nothin’, I’m afraid. I thought it was fixed with the updates, but maybe the issue is installing something that resets UVs. Sorry I can’t be more help.

 Signature 

VWrangler at deviantArt (NSFW for some images; login required to view those)

Profile