Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Help with content please
Posted: 30 July 2012 09:00 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  172
Joined  2010-07-20

I seem to have mucked up my content somehow. I just got myself a new mac and of course totally screwed up backing things up, done that before but hey! So no i have my content on a folder user/username/documents/daz3d/studio/My Library DS4ADV.
This means that i have to load any new content following that path, no problem there until yesterday. I purchased some stuff from Daz, all $1.99 offers, Onyx outfit for genesis, and a series of West park basement and morgue props together with some poses. The Onyx is fine, the poses are fine but the props dont seem to function at all. any ideas please. Also if possible can someone suggest a way to get my runtime sorted out and named properly.
Many thanks

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 11:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1308
Joined  2006-03-14

It sounds like your content directories are not mapped entirely correctly.  Would you go to Edit > Preferences > Content Library and click on the Content Directory Manager button, then expand both DAZ and Poser formats, and post what you have listed for each?  Or a screenshot.  That would help too.

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 12:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  172
Joined  2010-07-20

Hi Adam
Not totally sure what is going on here, probably me being dim as usual. I saved my content from the old Mac in a folder named My Library DSAADV, no idea why i did that, must have been a reason at the time….
Anyway i set up content manage to use that folder for both Poser and DS, and it has worked well enough up until i tried to use the West Park stuff. The props seem to be there but dont show when clicked. West park poses and the Onyx for genesis stuff is fine.
Scvreen shots included as you requested.
Thanks for your time

Image Attachments
Screen_Shot_2012-07-30_at_19.23_.53_.png
Screen_Shot_2012-07-30_at_19.25_.13_.png
Screen_Shot_2012-07-30_at_19.25_.38_.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 01:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1308
Joined  2006-03-14

Okay, well, it’s not a directory problem.  I don’t have the West Park Basement so I can’t double check it to make sure the product itself is OK. 


Are you certain it’s not just loading off-camera?  Can you check the Scene tab to see if it is there?

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 01:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  172
Joined  2010-07-20

It is definitely not loading at all, there is nothing shown in the scene tab.
if i buy content from other parties i have to load the various elements separately. Generally the item comes with a set of folders. In one purchase, taken at random they are as follows.
Geometries. containing sub folders with obj files.
Libraries with two main sub folders Pose and Props
Pose contains pz files and Props contains pp2 files
Textures contains jpg files.
I am not sure but i would think that all content has to be composed of these basic files and possibly others though i am swimming in waters i am not too familiar with here. With DS content the items come with an installer, so i can’t check what folders are included or if they are loaded properly. Is there a way to see how items that are installed with DS installers are composed. I am not sure if i have the necessary knowledge to sort things out but i could give it a shot.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 02:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16403
Joined  2009-01-22

Let me check my West Park Basement for you. I will edit this post with what I find out.

EDIT: Okay the folder you are showing is the Materials files. I have a Scenes Folder that holds the actual props. I see you have a Components folder. Check in it and see if it holds the actual props.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 03:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  172
Joined  2010-07-20

Hi
I am posting screenshots of everything i have ref West park basement and morgue. Hope it helps and thanks for your time

Image Attachments
Screen_Shot_2012-07-30_at_22.19_.55_.png
Screen_Shot_2012-07-30_at_22.20_.12_.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 03:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16403
Joined  2009-01-22

You are right, I do not see any figure files. They all look like Mat files. Have you looked in Figures? It’s a long shot but the pz2’s might be there. And I belive I have DAZ versions also, so check in your Daz Studio Formats also. You might get lucky and have them in one of those folders. I’m sorry I was not more help.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 04:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  172
Joined  2010-07-20

Genius!! there they all were, sometimes the best way to hide something is in plain sight, mind you it doesnt help if the seeker is blind as a bat, figuratively speaking. My very grateful thanks

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 05:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16403
Joined  2009-01-22

Yeah! Glad you found them. Now go render and have some fun. And your welcome of course.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 July 2012 05:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  16
Joined  2009-03-21

I bought a bunch of new content over the weekend, to take advantage of the Platinum Club offer, and two thirds of the content I bought I can’t even use! I unzipped the files then clicked the installer (on Mac) and everything seemed to install fine, no errors. Here are the items I bought and the SMALL list of content that actually loads:

*Four of the Old West buildings
*Millenium Horse
*Tack for Millenium Horse
*Haunted Mansion
*The Study
*Cowboy pack for M4
*Holiday Nook

Out of all that content, only the Millenium Horse, the Study, and Holiday Nook work. Everything else seems to be in the correct directory but it is grayed out and won’t let me load it. Or with some things (the Holiday Nook) it says it can’t find the materials, so it won’t let me install it. If Daz’s own content installers don’t work correctly, how is anything supposed to be done correctly and be usable?!  I can’t be the only person having these problems. I’m including a screen shot of my content library directory manager. If anyone can help, I’d greatly appreciate it. I’m sooooo frustrated with this program.

Edit: Ok, now I’ve got the horse tack to load up, although I don’t really know what I did differently. I still can’t get ANY of the Old West buildings to load up at all. I’ve checked the folder location of the background/buildings that DO work, and they are in a completely different folder (runtime: support) and they all have three files associated with each one: dsx, dsa, and jpg. The Old West buildings (which don’t load up) are in the (contents/environments/architecture folder, and appear to only have ds. and png files associated with them. Does that help anyone figure this out??

Image Attachments
CM_Capture_5.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 July 2012 11:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  768
Joined  2005-09-19

I don’t have the Old West buildings and Haunted Mansion to check, but my guess is that the buildings actually load from runtime/libraries/props for those that are .PP2 files, and runtime/libraries/characters for those that are .CR2s rather than .PP2s, and that the files you are looking at under content are simply the Studio optimised textures for them. If you haven’t been looking in runtime, then similarly you may have missed the .CR2 or .PP2 files for the other items you are having problems with.

It’s exceptionally rare for there to be a problem with an existing DAZ installer and rare with a newly released one, if you find yourself having problems with newly installed content your best bet is to ask where the files actually get installed and what you should see in your content library tab.

Edited to add, IIRC runtime/support is simply the folder holding the metadata used to load the smart content database and has nothing to do with the actual product files. Older items may not even have metadata yet.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 July 2012 11:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  16
Joined  2009-03-21

Hey DWG,
Thanks for the reply. I’ve actually checked the runtime folder like you mentioned, but it’s not even showing up in there. In fact, I’ve searched my whole hard drive for the obj or cr2 files these models were supposed to come with, and they aren’t showing up anywhere, in any folder. So I’m dumbfounded. I’ve written tech support about it, so hopefully I’ll hear something in the morning.

Well, keep your fingers crossed =)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 August 2012 12:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  768
Joined  2005-09-19

What you could try is installing to an empty folder outside of your content library. That will show you exactly what is being installed.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 August 2012 10:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  16
Joined  2009-03-21
DWG - 01 August 2012 12:42 AM

What you could try is installing to an empty folder outside of your content library. That will show you exactly what is being installed.

Ok DWG, I’ve uninstalled all the content that isn’t working, and I’ll reinstall it to a folder where I can verify all the files it is installing. But what will I be looking for, as far as what will tell me what the problem is? I assume if I don’t see either a cr2 or obj file, then that is a problem?

UPDATE: Ok DWG, I have looked at the documentation which states that there should be 2 cr2 files with the Old West Undertakers building, for example, and I reinstalled that file into a folder which I specified, and I have verified there are absolutely no cr2 files installing, which is obviously the problem.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 August 2012 11:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16403
Joined  2009-01-22

I think the biggest part of your problem is the fact that you only installed the DS files for some of your items. I never do that, and this is why. Some of the older items were designed in the Poser format and came with all of the Poser files, (Yes, DS has a Poser Runtime in the Content folder to read those items.) and then only had the DS files for the things that needed them. Most of those files only had DS texture files with them. So if you never installed the Poser files all you have are textures. You still need the Poser files so you can load the object and then put the DS textures on, (the DS textures look right when rendered without any work) it will load with them most of the time but you still need the full package. I think you might only have textures for some of your stuff you installed.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1