Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Save as Material Preset Question
Posted: 30 July 2012 08:27 AM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  343
Joined  2011-12-30

Hi, I need a pink sweater so I made the texture and save the jpg to:

C:\Users\username\Documents\DAZ 3D\Studio\My Library\Runtime\textures\mystuff

Then I saved as “Material Preset” to the same folder.  Is this the correct place to save the material preset to?

I ask because when I went back in to load the sweater I got error locate file but I looked in the DAZ folder and the sweater was was in the texture/mystuff file.

I need to send this file to a friend and would like to be able to set up the zip file so it in an easy to file location.

Thoughts? Advice? 

Thank you
Kimberly

 

 Signature 

3D Artist Network.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 09:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1336
Joined  2006-03-14

No, the textures folder is a special case folder.  Material presets don’t belong there just the raw images themselves.


Also, since you do not have a corresponding pz2 file, it won’t appear in the poser hierarchy at all.  You should put it at c:\users\username\documents\daz 3d\studio\my library\presets\materials\<your handle>\product name

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 09:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  343
Joined  2011-12-30
adamr001 - 30 July 2012 09:06 AM

No, the textures folder is a special case folder.  Material presets don’t belong there just the raw images themselves.


Also, since you do not have a corresponding pz2 file, it won’t appear in the poser hierarchy at all.  You should put it at c:\users\username\documents\daz 3d\studio\my library\presets\materials\<your handle>\product name

Thank you, that worked.  I had to add a material folder to my presets but it worked. 

 

 Signature 

3D Artist Network.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 02:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1336
Joined  2006-03-14

Glad to help. smile

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 05:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  343
Joined  2011-12-30
adamr001 - 30 July 2012 02:49 PM

Glad to help. smile


Hi, it works for me but no one else.  It needs the actually texture file jpg in there some place.  I have read http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/artzone/pub/tutorials/otherapps/otherapps-misc40#step_2_-_creating_the_folder_for_our_textures and was wondering if there was any place to get this tutor with the preview example images or another tutor so I can follow it step by step.

Thanks

 Signature 

3D Artist Network.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 05:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

I’ve made one item in the past. Lets see if I can help. Mine was a Poser format Prop but this is what I did.

When I created the Items Object I put it in…
Runtime>Geometries>My Folder (Any name will do)
Then I made my Texture files for the item and they went into..
Runtime>textures>My Folder
Next I loaded my Object into Daz and used the Surfaces tab to Load the textures on my prop.
I then used Save As>Material File
I saved it into this folder
Runtime>Libraries>Pose>My Folder (it was made and ready to save too)
I then used the PP2 Exporter Script to Save as a Poser Prop. I saved it into…
Runtime>Libraries>Prop>My Folder.

By creating the Mat files from the textures in the proper Folder and the Object in the proper folder all the paths were in the PP2 file.
To get my item ready to put on ShareCG I created a empty Folder with a Rumtime structure in it that only had the paths my item used.
I then copied all my files into that file structure just exactly as they existed in my DS folders. And Zipped the Full Runtime into one File with a ReadMe in it. What I learned was All files have to be included, and all the paths have to match 100%. It worked and is still up on ShareCG with almost 200 DL’s and no complaints.

For a DS item it would be the same, you would just be sure to include all the files in the proper folders in a DS structure.

I hope this might help you.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 06:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  343
Joined  2011-12-30

Jaderail, yes that helps but I am still a bit lost.

This is where I am at right now and plan to walk away after this posting till Morning and revisit this fresh. BTW: I am only doing DAZ at least for now. I have poser 2012 and I like DAZ better, but that is just me.

I put my textures (jpg) in C:\Users\user\Documents\DAZ 3D\Studio\My Library\Runtime\textures\this products folder name


I them open DAZ and my kids4 with basic wear shirt in this case. I go to surface, select the shirt and add the new texture.


Then save as Material Preset in the
C:\Users\user\Documents\DAZ 3D\Studio\My Library\Runtime\libraries\Materials\this products folder name


To zip the file, I set up folder Runtime with two folders inside that textures and \libraries\Materials\folder name  


Then I copy the content for each related folder to the correct matching folder.


Then I send to zip folder.


Thoughts?? Correction??  Faster way to Zip this stuff??


I know I am making this too hard on myself so I am off to veg on True Blood from last night, trying to forget my small business of 13 years needs a new source of income and would like to share some freebies back on ShareCG since I have download so much from there ~ and ~  come at this fresh in the morning.  Sorry, crazy old lady rant. raspberry

 Signature 

3D Artist Network.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 08:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Looks good to me but I think the new Daz only saves Daz materials files I’m not sure they belong in the Runtime folder or not.
Like you I need to crash so I’ll check it tomorrow also.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 July 2012 07:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  343
Joined  2011-12-30
Jaderail - 30 July 2012 08:12 PM

Looks good to me but I think the new Daz only saves Daz materials files I’m not sure they belong in the Runtime folder or not.
Like you I need to crash so I’ll check it tomorrow also.

I think I might, just might, have it now. I posted in the free section to see if it could be tested by others. http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/4930/

 

 Signature 

3D Artist Network.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 July 2012 10:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

I followed your path and I see others are still getting an error. I DL’ed it to look at and see you saved as a dsb. If you re-do it and save as a dsa I can check the paths in the file and tell you what needs fixed. Happy to do it and it will not take any time at all.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 July 2012 11:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  343
Joined  2011-12-30
Jaderail - 31 July 2012 10:44 AM

I followed your path and I see others are still getting an error. I DL’ed it to look at and see you saved as a dsb. If you re-do it and save as a dsa I can check the paths in the file and tell you what needs fixed. Happy to do it and it will not take any time at all.

Am I not suppose to save as Material presets?  Sorry I am not sure what you mean by redo and save as dsa.

I have

 

Image Attachments
material.png
texture.png
 Signature 

3D Artist Network.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 July 2012 11:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

That part is correct. When you get to the File name part of the save you should have a drop down that has three options .dsa .dsb and .dse . The last two are compressed and can not be edited or read in an editor. Dsa is plan text and we can look at all the file paths. I have this option in DS4Pro 4.0.3.47 in the Save As Materials File.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 July 2012 11:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  343
Joined  2011-12-30

I found Save As Materials File in daz pro. I have to take off but will check it out more this evening.
thanks

 Signature 

3D Artist Network.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 July 2012 06:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  343
Joined  2011-12-30
Jaderail - 31 July 2012 11:16 AM

That part is correct. When you get to the File name part of the save you should have a drop down that has three options .dsa .dsb and .dse . The last two are compressed and can not be edited or read in an editor. Dsa is plan text and we can look at all the file paths. I have this option in DS4Pro 4.0.3.47 in the Save As Materials File.

Thanks for the file type lesson. I ready several articles on file types for DAZ and 3D content and will try it with the dsb tomorrow morning.

 Signature 

3D Artist Network.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 August 2012 08:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  343
Joined  2011-12-30
Jaderail - 31 July 2012 11:16 AM

That part is correct. When you get to the File name part of the save you should have a drop down that has three options .dsa .dsb and .dse . The last two are compressed and can not be edited or read in an editor. Dsa is plan text and we can look at all the file paths. I have this option in DS4Pro 4.0.3.47 in the Save As Materials File.

I get the file types now, I used the dsa at http://www.sharecg.com/v/63939/view/21/DAZ-Studio/Kids4-Stripped-Shirt-with-Dog-Design but I am 99.9% sure this is correct.

Thanks to everyone for all the help. I have too much fun making textures.

 Signature 

3D Artist Network.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 August 2012 08:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  343
Joined  2011-12-30

I just updated to the newest daz.  Now my save as material preset extension is a .duf.  I read all the help files and I’m nearly sure that is correct but I feel better if someone could verify this is correct, the .duf.

Thank you

 Signature 

3D Artist Network.

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1