Digital Art Zone

 
     
Particle blur
Posted: 29 July 2012 10:23 AM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  435
Joined  2010-09-22

I am trying to use a one polygon sort of like a diamond as an object in a particle emitter so a smoke trail. NOW if U was using the preset DIAMOND in the emitter I could set an OBJECT BLUR to the emitter, say between 8-12 and go form there.

BUT it’s apparent one can NOT apply an OBJECT BLUR to an Emitter IF it uses an OBJECT! WHy the hell is that

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 July 2012 10:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6154
Joined  2006-08-27

Ummmm….. I don’t know.


Have you tried the smoke preset from the Simple Particles directory in your Object Browser? I’ve had good luck modifying that and using it for smoke trails. The added advantage is that you can get an idea as to how it’s built. If I recall it uses squares and a particle shader system. A good way to learn about the emitter and the particle shaders in my opinion!

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 July 2012 10:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6154
Joined  2006-08-27

Richard, I just had a thought regarding the blur issue. Instead of using blur on the emitter, use it on the object you’re emitting. Basically the emitter is replicating your emitted object. I’ve made simple bird models, rigged them, and animated flapping wings and used an emitter to simulate a flock of birds, so maybe you can use the blur function directly on the object.

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 July 2012 10:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  435
Joined  2010-09-22

Thats exactly what I am trying right now!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 July 2012 02:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  435
Joined  2010-09-22
evilproducer - 29 July 2012 10:46 AM

Ummmm….. I don’t know.


Have you tried the smoke preset from the Simple Particles directory in your Object Browser? I’ve had good luck modifying that and using it for smoke trails. The added advantage is that you can get an idea as to how it’s built. If I recall it uses squares and a particle shader system. A good way to learn about the emitter and the particle shaders in my opinion!

Well I would LOVE to try the PARTICLE EMITTER SMOKE! BUT get this every time I pick it!

Image Attachments
Picture_3.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 10:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  398
Joined  0
RichardChaos - 29 July 2012 02:59 PM

Well I would LOVE to try the PARTICLE EMITTER SMOKE! BUT get this every time I pick it!


See this post by 3DAGE:
http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewreply/54218/

 Signature 

-Dean

DAZ Gallery: http://www.daz3d.com/gallery/#users/1922/

Profile