Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
What happen to the installers
Posted: 29 July 2012 04:18 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  68
Joined  2003-10-09

I been restalling data base into my new computer starting new I started to work with poser 9 and Daz Studio 4 I have some programs I brought back in 2004 to 2006 in on CD’s. I lost many my programs from Daz3d so I am using Da3d library to get these lost programs, I been coming across many programs the installers was stripped from them, and now one have to go thru extra steps to get into my computer. So far all the installers used by Daz3d (2004 to 2010) still worked in poser 9. Those programs I loss the installers I like to have them back again so make easy put them back into the Daz programs back into computer-.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 July 2012 04:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13574
Joined  2003-10-09

Are you referring to the replacement of installers with plain Zips? That’s a recent move, with older content being given priority as the mac installers weren’t working at all on new machines. At the moment you have to install by hand (fairly simple on Windows), but the plan is for there to be an install manager that will function as the old installers did - it will just be a single download that will then handle all zips, instead of being attached to each piece of content.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 July 2012 08:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07

I’ll be glade when it all goes to zips, I hate installers.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 July 2012 08:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7499
Joined  2006-03-19

And many love them. Regardless some are going to be disappointing no matter which way they go.

 Signature 

ARTCollaborations Store on DAZ3D    ARTCollaborations on Facebook

*****Mad Chemistry Lab*****  

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 July 2012 11:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  132
Joined  0

I actually do like the installers, but I don’t mind either way. Whether zip or exe/installer file, content still gets installed.


Where I’m having issues with this right now though is that currently from what I’m seeing, the .zip installers are only including Studio stuff… this one for example : http://www.daz3d.com/shop/tales-of-adventure-for-stephanie-petite/


Open the zip file. It is all starting with CONTENT/Runtime/....


Which of course means I now have to dump it into a folder outside of my Runtime, manually MOVE all of the files to their appropriate place. Now, while I don’t mind having to do that for freebies, I’ve kind of come to expect moe fluid installing from Daz, so having to do it with Daz files is VERY irritating. LOL


*Shrugs*


I don’t mind the move to zips… but I think they need to fine tune it a bit.


[Edited for the SPACING again…...]

 Signature 

“It is small and broken, but still good. Still good.”
—Lilo & Stitch—

My Content Paradise Store
My Freebies

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 July 2012 11:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  132
Joined  0

I should mention, too… that for some reason the MAT files included in the zip file for the linked item above… do NOT work. I am having to manually apply each and every texture to each and every material zone… and when I looked at the code in the .PZ2 file, I can’t see any major difference other than the lack of Poser version number…

 Signature 

“It is small and broken, but still good. Still good.”
—Lilo & Stitch—

My Content Paradise Store
My Freebies

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 July 2012 11:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15238
Joined  2003-10-09

Apparently once the installer app arrives it should be able to do it automatically even for Poser users.

I have alwas unzipped to a temp folder and then moved stuff where I want it, not where someone else feels I should have it, so it isn’t making too much difference to me,

However Inside the Content folder is a complete runtime folder, so you should just be able to move the library structure to whichever runtime you want to have the contents in without too much problems.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        E Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 July 2012 12:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  132
Joined  0

The trouble is, Chohole… that for whatever reason, the MAT files simply do not work.


Click. Nothing.


No textures apply… I had to manually assign each texture, to each material zone. Not that I mind this terribly in terms of my habit of altering/changing the stock textures of an item anyway, but the problem is that the MAT files should work as they’re supposed to.


I opened up the .PZ2 files to take a look and I can’t see anything that would make it not apply. So I do not know if this is a file issue with the installer (I’ve uninstalled/redownloaded/reinstalled several times now - still no joy), or if maybe it’s something about how Poser 9 is handling .PZ2 files that lack the “Poser version number X” thing…


Example… this is what the .PZ2 code looks like for the Celeste boots for SP3 (which works fine, and was installed via Daz’s executable installers…)

{
version
{
number 4.01
}
figure
{
material HeelRivets


And this is what the .PZ2 code looks like for the SP3 Tales of Adventure file (which was installed via the ZIP installer, the Content/Runtime… directory, and does NOT apply ANY textures :

{
figure
{
material hem
  {


Now, I don’t think this is a DS vs. Poser thing, I can’t see that one little ommission of code causing the textures to not apply. And I also admittedly have not tested this in Poser 7 - I’m using version 9 on this machine. But when I go to use the supplied MAT poses… they just don’t do anything. Click and nothing. I’ve never run across this issue with the executable installers…

 Signature 

“It is small and broken, but still good. Still good.”
—Lilo & Stitch—

My Content Paradise Store
My Freebies

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 July 2012 01:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15238
Joined  2003-10-09

Can you submit a support ticket on this please. THere does seem to be a problem. Use the Zendesk support and Tech SUpport as the dept.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        E Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 July 2012 02:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5198
Joined  2005-04-16

I think the original poster was asking how to get his old stuff back.  Resetting your orders from your order history is the way, but the poor guy probably couldn’t find anything and didn’t want to keep paging through all those pages…way back to 2004?  That’s a lot of pages!  The fact that he’s not been back it probably because he is passed out somewhere with the order history on his screen.  Or he didn’t think he’d get the answer he needs.


Dana

 Signature 

Old post count: 7511

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 06:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07

“manually MOVE all of the files to their appropriate place”

Why? I unzip the file, check the folders, then cut the runtime and paste it in the right runtime folder. I know it is all there and in the right folder structure and in the right place because I put it there. For an installer I do the same thing, I install to a dummy folder, check the folders, the cut and paste the runtime. The difference is all the clickety clicks to get it set up to install. I can usually have a zip sorted and in a runtime before I’m done with the clickety clicks to install the content with an installer. I’ve learned; thanks to installers, to never install directly to my runtimes/studio content folder. I saves me some hassle, like textures going in to the wrong folder so the cr2 can’t find them when you load the content. 

Note: I do as little as possible in the cluster F studio content folder.


Seliah once you have applied your textures resave the content. One of the few things I use studio for is content repair.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 07:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  68
Joined  2003-10-09

To make it clear I just want Daz go back before the new store so it make easy form down load my programs. Just until I learn how use the zip to install into poser 9 once I able to that I be happy with zip again. If Daz is worry about the old installers does not work in poser 9 all the programs down load from CD’s worked so far the oldest program went into poser 9 is 4/2004 that was portrait Studio props

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 07:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  68
Joined  2003-10-09

Note I been with Daz since 2003 they went thru many types of styles how they post thier notes what their programs are where to find after installing them.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 10:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5198
Joined  2005-04-16
Greg - 30 July 2012 07:33 AM

To make it clear I just want Daz go back before the new store so it make easy form down load my programs. Just until I learn how use the zip to install into poser 9 once I able to that I be happy with zip again. If Daz is worry about the old installers does not work in poser 9 all the programs down load from CD’s worked so far the oldest program went into poser 9 is 4/2004 that was portrait Studio props


Go back?  Go back?  It took years to convince them to move to zip files!  No going back!!!  But as far as I can tell, they haven’t really done much with zip files yet.  Even the brand new products are still coming in installers!  What a waste of their time!  They have to create the installers.  Then later they’ll have to convert them to zip files.  Why aren’t they just making the new stuff zip files in the first place?  Avoid some extra work down the road.

 Signature 

Old post count: 7511

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 10:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5198
Joined  2005-04-16
ManStan - 30 July 2012 06:02 AM

“manually MOVE all of the files to their appropriate place”

Why? I unzip the file, check the folders, then cut the runtime and paste it in the right runtime folder. I know it is all there and in the right folder structure and in the right place because I put it there. For an installer I do the same thing, I install to a dummy folder, check the folders, the cut and paste the runtime. The difference is all the clickety clicks to get it set up to install. I can usually have a zip sorted and in a runtime before I’m done with the clickety clicks to install the content with an installer. I’ve learned; thanks to installers, to never install directly to my runtimes/studio content folder. I saves me some hassle, like textures going in to the wrong folder so the cr2 can’t find them when you load the content. 

Note: I do as little as possible in the cluster F studio content folder.


Seliah once you have applied your textures resave the content. One of the few things I use studio for is content repair.


Why unzip them first?  With a decent archiver you can see what the folder structure is without unzipping it to your drive anywhere!  I use a totally free (not shareware, freeware…there is a difference) archiver and I can see the folders when I open a zip file with it.  All that unzipping then cutting wreaks havoc with your hard drive…it’s called fragmenting…and it tends to slow the system down.  I only unzip to a test folder when I can see that the structure is screwed up, so I can fix it.  Otherwise I unzip it directly to where i want it.

Dana

 Signature 

Old post count: 7511

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 10:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15238
Joined  2003-10-09

With the new zips that only works for DS, doesn’t work for poser, as the runtime structure is packaged within the Content folder.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        E Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1