Digital Art Zone

 
   
7 of 48
7
Carrara 8.5.0.172 Beta Now Available for Download
Posted: 15 August 2012 08:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 91 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  136
Joined  2005-10-11

Well, “Open mouth, insert foot!”  red face

Didn’t know Carrara could do that!!! gulp

 

 Signature 

My YouTube channel 
www.blenderportal.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 August 2012 09:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 92 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6667
Joined  2009-07-13
megacal - 15 August 2012 08:57 PM

Well, “Open mouth, insert foot!”  red face

Didn’t know Carrara could do that!!! gulp

 

open wider, insert other foot
Mec4D again! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EQcD590XhiY&feature=plcp

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
my gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 August 2012 11:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 93 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  136
Joined  2005-10-11

Great animation and rendering. smile

 Signature 

My YouTube channel 
www.blenderportal.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 August 2012 11:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 94 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1211
Joined  2008-01-01

Really great effects

Probably not for crystals, but for light patterns from water, Caustics Generator is brilliant.  Free version at http://www.dualheights.se/caustics/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 August 2012 12:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 95 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1059
Joined  2007-10-15
Roygee - 15 August 2012 11:05 PM

Probably not for crystals, but for light patterns from water, Caustics Generator is brilliant.  Free version at http://www.dualheights.se/caustics/

AAAIIIIEEEEEEEEE !!!!!! You guys and your software solutions for everything !!!!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 August 2012 05:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 96 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  238
Joined  2003-10-09
megacal - 15 August 2012 02:29 PM

you could hand draw a simple caustics pattern that you can use as a Gel for a light. And it will give you some wonderful results.

Or just search the internet for “caustics” and you can find all kinds of images that you can borrow from to make a really nice light Gel.

Great effect, JoeMamma 2000! wink

I haven’t tried Caustics or Light Gels before, but definitely will try your method on an ice cube. Thanks for the tip. smile

Hi SmallFy,

re: your final render…...what shader do you have on the ice? Sorry, the crystals don’t look anything like ice (?),
regardless of caustics.

Would love to be able to do this in Carrara some day.  (C4D/AR3)  smile

Oh, I know it doesn’t look anything like ice. Especially after the renders that bombed because I got nil pointer and memory allocation errors. I put a bug report in, but, man, after seeing what could have been… After all the hassles I had, I was glad to just be able to get this render out.

tongue rolleye

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 August 2012 10:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 97 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  136
Joined  2005-10-11

Hi SmallFry,

I had Sky Light enabled, Indirect Light enabled and set up for Ambient Occlusion only, a couple of Anything Glows lights, and Caustics. All this on a WinXP PC that’s about 5 years old. It’s a scene filled with ice slides, a Stonemason building set, about 6 LoRez figures, 2 Mike3 figures with clothing, and a partridge in a pear tree.

Well, that ‘splains it!  It was the %$#&! partridge! LOL

I hope you had use of another computer during the render(?)......if not, Do Not Pass Go! Go directly to Frys, Best Buy or NewEgg and
get the cheapest computer if necessary to be your render box…..it will no doubt be way better than any 5yr old.
You will live longer due to less stress, have your cake and eat it, too. cheese 

I have a 5yr old HP6226 laptop that still works great, and was the cheapest I could find at the time ($700) to replace a $1900 computer
that was being worked on in the shop.

I’m amazed at how much computer you can buy today for $350! ......they’re almost disposable….people pay more for smart phones!

Life is too short for 4day renders, imho. tongue laugh


 

 

 Signature 

My YouTube channel 
www.blenderportal.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 12:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 98 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1211
Joined  2008-01-01

All this talk about caustics made me thirsty - so did a Joe Mamma-inspired practical test an poured a rather large whiskey on the rocks to check for caustics - nope, nothing.  From the glass, yes, from the ice, no.  Lots of reflection and refraction, but no caustics.  Had a couple more to be sure - my wife says it was six, but who’s counting.

Came up with this

Have a drink, Superman, it’ll do you good!

Image Attachments
whiskey.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 06:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 99 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  209
Joined  2006-10-13

What about the plugins for carrara how hard will they be to transfer over? Do I have to track down my codes again to transfer them to the new version? I’m not talking about this version I’m talking about a version that isn’t beta, the complete version if you will. Norton said carrara 8.5 exe isn’t safe and it removed it (WTF).  Well I can’t install the new version my antivirus wont allow it. What are you trying to pull here.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 07:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 100 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6667
Joined  2009-07-13

your antivirus is giving false positives
no-one trying to pull anything rolleyes

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
my gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 07:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 101 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  209
Joined  2006-10-13

It’s never done it before.  I’m giving it another shot. I have notice that it doesn’t show the file size that may be the cause of it or not. It just shows how much I have downloaded. It doesn’t show how much out of a certain amount.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 07:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 102 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  209
Joined  2006-10-13

This is what it says.  What the heck am I supposed to do I can’t get it to stop is there anyway for the programmers to make it trust worthy.

Image Attachments
Untrustworth.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 07:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 103 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  209
Joined  2006-10-13

64 bit nor 32 bit is any good the anti virus kicks it out and utterly destroys it completely with no way to recover it.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 07:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 104 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14194
Joined  2003-10-09

You will find it in your quarantined files.  This is an annoying Norton characteristic, it quarantimes any file that it doesn’t recognise.

You simply need to restore it from out of your quarantine folder.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        Spring Bryce Rendering Challenge        April Freebie Challenge
My DAZ Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 August 2012 08:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 105 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  209
Joined  2006-10-13

Cant figure it out. I went and found the quarantine folder but no matter what I do I can’t get in. I try to figure out how do it from norton, but that doesn’t work either.

Profile
 
 
   
7 of 48
7