Digital Art Zone

 
   
29 of 48
29
Carrara 8.5.0.172 Beta Now Available for Download
Posted: 13 December 2012 07:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 421 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  87
Joined  2004-09-24

What is the current status of Carrara and Genesis? Is see reports here that some things work and some don’t.

I don’t use Daz Studio - am only interested in Carrara. Been considering buying a Genesis model, but don’t see the point if it is going to create frustration over glitches and missing features.

What is the current consensus? Is the current beta + genesis ready for prime time? Or should I continue to wait?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 December 2012 11:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 422 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6088
Joined  2007-12-04

C8.5 is still in beta form and has some issues with errors occurring - but as for the Carrara part itself, I think it’s the best version out there.
Genesis in Carrara is still not quite there… but again - best it’s been so far. I currently use Genesis in Carrara as Orcs and it works very well. Having the beta to mess with, it’s getting me more accustomed to the new rigging that Genesis offers - which is really cool.

They have just extended the expiration date of the current beta’s serial code on the first post of this thread. Prior to this release, Genesis and parts of Carrara were nowhere near what they are now.

The biggest error that drives me nuts right now is when I work out an entire scene without saving part way through - and then it says “An Error has Occurred” at the end of the save. Doesn’t always happen, but it happens enough to occasionally make me quit for the night.

Seeing them push the SN date back tells me that they’re crunching hard away at improvements. I am very confident that C8.5 production version is going to rock!

I believe that most Carrara users will prefer 8.5 over 8.1 (if they fix the “errors” issue) even if they have no interest in Genesis - simply because they’ve just made stuff better.

My two cents so far.

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 December 2012 08:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 423 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  87
Joined  2004-09-24
Dartanbeck - 13 December 2012 11:03 PM

The biggest error that drives me nuts right now is when I work out an entire scene without saving part way through - and then it says “An Error has Occurred” at the end of the save. Doesn’t always happen, but it happens enough to occasionally make me quit for the night.

That comment sums up my history with Carrara (and its prior versions, going back to the Ray Dream days). There always seems to be some fatal flaw which becomes so frustrating that I quit. In my case, I quit for months instead of just the night. I was using v7 and hoped v8 would solve many of the stability issues I had. (Using a Mac, and v7 was never as stable for me as it seemed to be for some Windows users.) I was again hopeful that 8.5 would address those issues, and it did to a large degree (at least the earlier builds I used).

For the stability issues it fixed, 8.5 introduced other problems (for me) that have not been addressed. Yes, I did the bug tracker thing… issues reported over a year ago are still sitting there. I understand that they are busy working on other things, but that doesn’t solve my problems.

It may sound “selfish” but between work, family and other responsibilities I can be stretched pretty thin. To work with a piece of software for 45 minutes or an hour, just to have it crash and lose all work - or even to fight with it for an hour to do something which should take a few minutes - I simply do not feel like that is a rewarding way to spend my time. Don’t get me wrong - it’s not like I expect to create some 3D masterpiece. But I would like something to show for my efforts.

I was actively using Carrara about a year ago to work on some things for a project. I was probably around March or April that I “quit for the night.” I recently picked it up again to do a short animation for work. This animation didn’t use any “content” - it was a simple animated logo created in C8.5. Carrara worked very well, with only a few glitches that were easy to work around. However, my experience with Carrara has always been the real problems start (for me) when “content” is added, especially posable figures.

My hope was that 8.5 is at the point where it might be “safe” to buy Genesis figures fir C8.5 use without hitting too many deal-breaking glitches. I really like Carrara and will probably always come back to it. For me it isn’t a matter of which program to use. When Carrara becomes too frustrating for me, I stop playing with 3D altogether. (This makes it especially hard to come back, since there are so many “content” related things which are not intuitive at all. There is so much to re-learn).

Sorry for the ramble. Your response struck a chord. I would really like to jump back in and get my personal project going again. From your post I am get the impression it might make sense to wait a little longer? The question is “how long to wait?” I am sure they are busy on fixes and improvements, but this beta has been going on for how long now… 12months? 18 months? This isn’t meant as a complaint, but an acknowledgement of the reality that there is no guessing how much longer it will be “beta” or when the serious bugs are finally fixed. (I am waiting over a year for the Mil Horse bug to be acknowledged!) If I am going to jump back in, I need to shoot for a minimum acceptable level of stability.

I can deal with saving every 5 minutes, knowing that 1 in 5 of those saves will result in a crash (talk about low expectations!). I don’t think I can handle constant or random glitches where features don’t work as they should or random crash/freezes on a regular basis.


When you “error” at the end of a save, it the whole file trashed? Or do you just lose work since the last save?

Also, is the “spot render not working” (on MacOS) a known issue that is being worked on?

Is NLA still buggy? Or have most of the glitches been addressed?

What do you mean by “Genesis in Carrara is still not quite there”? What exactly are the main issues? Would you recommend someone purchase a Genesis figure(s) for use in the current beta version, or will that simply be hair pulling experience?

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 December 2012 09:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 424 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4691
Joined  2004-07-01

” What do you mean by “Genesis in Carrara is still not quite there”? What exactly are the main issues? Would you recommend someone purchase a Genesis figure(s) for use in the current beta version, or will that simply be hair pulling experience? “

Genesis works great in Carrara 8.5 as do V4 and M4 etc .
I use a pc so can’t say for mac users .

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 December 2012 10:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 425 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6088
Joined  2007-12-04
jrm21 - 14 December 2012 08:33 AM

For me it isn’t a matter of which program to use. When Carrara becomes too frustrating for me, I stop playing with 3D altogether. (This makes it especially hard to come back, since there are so many “content” related things which are not intuitive at all. There is so much to re-learn).

I feel the same. Carrara is my virtual studio and the only application that I’ve felt comfortable with for doing this whole 3d animation/render business. In this latest beta (I’m using - and highly recommend - Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit) Carrara gets better than it’s ever been. Although, since this IS a beta, I’ve not uninstalled 8.1, but I never use it anymore. It’s always 8.5 beta that draws me in.

jrm21 - 14 December 2012 08:33 AM

Sorry for the ramble. Your response struck a chord. I would really like to jump back in and get my personal project going again. From your post I am get the impression it might make sense to wait a little longer? The question is “how long to wait?” I am sure they are busy on fixes and improvements, but this beta has been going on for how long now… 12months? 18 months? This isn’t meant as a complaint, but an acknowledgement of the reality that there is no guessing how much longer it will be “beta” or when the serious bugs are finally fixed. (I am waiting over a year for the Mil Horse bug to be acknowledged!) If I am going to jump back in, I need to shoot for a minimum acceptable level of stability.

I can deal with saving every 5 minutes, knowing that 1 in 5 of those saves will result in a crash (talk about low expectations!). I don’t think I can handle constant or random glitches where features don’t work as they should or random crash/freezes on a regular basis.

The wait comes from the fact that they have to work on this Carrara and Daz Studio and Genesis altogether, since the new “duf” format is what makes all of them work together which is no simple task. However, through all of this, the Devs have done an outstanding job along the way. I’ve tried all of the beta versions except for one - which was known to be problematic. It was very interesting to see the improvements develop. Personally, I would suggest giving it a try - but I can’t testify for MAC OS.

jrm21 - 14 December 2012 08:33 AM

When you “error” at the end of a save, it the whole file trashed? Or do you just lose work since the last save?

Just since last save. It also seems that I get this error less if I save more often.

jrm21 - 14 December 2012 08:33 AM

Also, is the “spot render not working” (on MacOS) a known issue that is being worked on?

Is NLA still buggy? Or have most of the glitches been addressed?

Sorry - I don’t have a Mac to test on. The only NLA thing (that I notice) is that when you set a clip to “Loop” during a walk animation, it doesn’t get the translation correct. I was told that this is on the list of things to be fixed. But if you place the clips next to each other and “Match Previous Position” in the NLA tab, it works perfectly!

jrm21 - 14 December 2012 08:33 AM

What do you mean by “Genesis in Carrara is still not quite there”? What exactly are the main issues? Would you recommend someone purchase a Genesis figure(s) for use in the current beta version, or will that simply be hair pulling experience?

I guess that my BIG issue is that I keep trying to make a Genesis version of my main Heroine, but can’t because of the lack of Long Curly Hair for Genesis so I keep trying to get an incompatible version working - to no avail. So that wasn’t the best thing to say.
I have purchased a wealth of Genesis products - especially all of those that add previous “Generations” morphs to Genesis - which also adds those generation’s technology to auto-fit. So if you have a good collection of products from previous generation figures, I’d get those packs - even if only to use for the auto-fit feature (Fit-To in Carrara)
I guess I was spoiled with Vicky 4. Genesis can be anything from a massive Troll, or Gorilla to a sweet little kid with pigtails… very impressive indeed. But when it comes to sculpting out a specific female face, I feel that Vicky 4 has much better possibilities without making the expression morphs look funny. However, I must also add that I’ve been working a lot more in Carrara on stuff NOT related to Genesis - just my usual scene/animation stuff. I’ve only been dabbling with Genesis. I bought Midnight Stories’ “Lycan”, which is amazingly awesome! I also have the Troll, Gorilla, V5 Pro Suite, M5, Gen 4 morphs, Gen 3 morphs, Creature stuff and a whole slew of clothing and hair. The super nasty Orcs that I’ve made use many of the available morphs - mainly MS Lycan and Troll - using others for individuality.
Something interesting about Genesis and Carrara:
The first time you load Genesis into your scene it takes a bit. Loading the second Genesis and the third, fourth, etc., is almost instantaneous - making Genesis a fine choice for populating areas - especially since that one figure can be so many different things.

All in all - Carrara 8.5 beta build 172 is my favorite Carrara to date. It’s just better.
My opinions, of course wink

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 December 2012 10:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 426 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6088
Joined  2007-12-04

Auto Fit or Fit To
is an amazing piece of work. If you have the Gen 3 morph pack for Genesis and a collection of clothing and other items for M3, V3, D3, etc., you can actually use David 3 clothing on Victoria 5, if you like. But if you keep female clothes with females, and so on, you’ll have great success with this feature. But even when you push it to it’s extremes you’ll amaze at how well Fit To works on Genesis!

Of course, once you’ve Fit clothes to Genesis, they follow the morphs as you change them. Genesis, Carrara and the Fit-To tool all know what morphs you have installed on Genesis and it accommodates you from there. With Genesis, you don’t have to “Load” morphs to the figure, like previous Generation figures. Once you purchase and install them, they are available on any new instance of Genesis. But here’s the cool part. Any installed morphs on Genesis may be there for you to use as you like, but they won’t take up any resources within your file (aside from an allocation address) until you use them. That’s why Genesis doesn’t feel like a sluggish pile of overburdened morphs when using it. It’s quick, responsive and easy to use.

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 December 2012 06:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 427 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  87
Joined  2004-09-24

Ok, so it sounds like this may be a good time to take the plunge. Fingers crossed, I took advantage of the current sale and picked up some genesis items.

Of course I forgot that each “bundle” consists of a dozen files and each of those files has multiple versions.

NOTE TO DAZ: PLEASE _PLEASE_ bring back the ability to filter available downloads. Bad enough there are three files for everything. I don’t need to see an additional three files for the PC version! For three items purchased, I have over 19 pages of downloads to go through.


Ranting aside, I have a question. There are three files for each item:

1. Legacy
2. DSON core
3. Poser Companion

What are the differences? More importantly, which one (or more) do I need to download and install? I don’t use Poser - only Carrara. I _may_ want to open a file in DAZ Studio, but that is even not likely.

edited to add…

Once installed, is there anything special needed to get content to show up in Carrara’s “smart content” tab? (I know how to import folders in to the regular content browser, but cannot remember how to get items into the new smart tab).

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 December 2012 04:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 428 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15572
Joined  2003-10-09

Legacy…..................DS4 and under

DSON Core…....................DS 4.5 (also needed for Poser 9+)

Poser Companion file…..............Poser 9+

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        L Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        August Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 December 2012 08:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 429 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  87
Joined  2004-09-24
chohole - 15 December 2012 04:43 AM

Legacy…..................DS4 and under

DSON Core…....................DS 4.5 (also needed for Poser 9+)

Poser Companion file…..............Poser 9+


But which install for Carrara? I don’t use Poser or DS

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 December 2012 09:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 430 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6088
Joined  2007-12-04
jrm21 - 15 December 2012 08:07 AM
chohole - 15 December 2012 04:43 AM

Legacy…..................DS4 and under

DSON Core…....................DS 4.5 (also needed for Poser 9+)

Poser Companion file…..............Poser 9+


But which install for Carrara? I don’t use Poser or DS

I don’t use Poser, so I just install the Daz Studio files into their Default location in the My Library folder - or however that works for Mac
In order to use Genesis in Carrara, to my knowledge at this date in time (may change soon?) you need to have the latest version of Daz Studio installed. This is where your version of Genesis comes from - that’s why you want to have the latest Daz Studio always.
Once you then open Carrara 8.5 beta, you’ll find Genesis and everything you’ve installed for Genesis in the “Content” tab of your Carrara browser. “My Library” is the content heading, People is where you’ll find Genesis and all of its clothes, hair and stuff.

I really wish that Daz could make a better way of distinguishing which files to download and install. Legacy, to me, has “Older System or Software written all over it. I’m still sorting through that lingo every time I make a purchase. And I hate it.

Looks to me, according to chohole, that “Legacy” is what you want - which may be what I need to? I better get this all straight. Damn!

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 December 2012 09:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 431 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4691
Joined  2004-07-01
jrm21 - 15 December 2012 08:07 AM
chohole - 15 December 2012 04:43 AM

Legacy…..................DS4 and under

DSON Core…....................DS 4.5 (also needed for Poser 9+)

Poser Companion file…..............Poser 9+


But which install for Carrara? I don’t use Poser or DS

you will need to download and install DS 4.5 - one time for sure - so you get all the files you need for Carrara 8.5

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 December 2012 09:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 432 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  87
Joined  2004-09-24

Color me confused.

I ended up installing the DSON files. They are labeled “DSON” on the download page, but the actual filename doesn’t have that qualifier (as opposed to legacy and poser, both of which have that name as part of the downloaded file). Since it seemed to be labeled as the “standard” file, I figured that’s what I needed.

I also installed the latest DS version. I seemed to remember that was needed for the “smart content” to work. Launching DS caused “new content” to be recognized and seemed to update the smart content database.

Note that I keep all my content on a separate hard drive. My “old” runtime content is in there, with different items loaded into different folder (V4, M4, Props, Scenery, etc.). I also have a DS “Content” folder there, which DS seems to recognize. For the Genesis installs, I created a “genesis figures” folder and a “Horse 2” folder, with respective content installed there.

Going to Carrara, things were not as simple. I am having trouble with the “Smart Content” tab.

Starting off, there are inconsistencies.

At the top of the directory tree I have:

>Files
  >Default
    >Accessories
    > etc…

>Categories
  >Default
    >Accessories
    >Anatomy
        >Internal
        >External
    > etc…

>Products
  >A
    >Aikanaro
    >Alchemy Chasm
    >Aldora Hair for Genesis
  >etc…


There are many more entries, but the above is only meant to give an idea.


When I click on “Files” the browser window shows me everything in the sub-directories. When I click on “Accessories” it shows me everything in Accessories and its sub-directories. So far so good.

When I click on “Categories” I see nothing. Same for Accessories in the “categories” section. I have to drill down to the specific sub-folder to see any content which may exist. Same for the “Products” listing. You can only see content for the specific selection, not any items in a sub-directory of that selection.


In all the listings, some items are highlighted and some are plain black text. That would seem to indicate that the highlighted item has content. However, this is not the case. While none of the “plain text” entries show content, only some of the highlighted entries show content. This, however, may be related to the next problems…

In the above example, the “Aldora Hair for Genesis” is installed. It can be seen and selected from the browser when viewed from the “Files” selection. However, if viewed from the “Products->A->Aldora Hair for Genesis” tree, nothing shows up in the browser window (and the item obviously cannot be selected). This is the case for many products… they are available in one section (i.e. files) but not in another (Products).


Is there a “how to” guide for this?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 December 2012 03:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 433 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6088
Joined  2007-12-04

If you wish to hunt down items in their categories, like you would for the Poser content folders you have, You’ll want the “Content” tab, not the “Smart Content” tab.
The way I understand the “Smart Content” tab in the browser, you don’t touch the side panel to the left.
Instead, you select a figure or part of a figure, and “Smart Content” tab will show you what you have that’s compatible, from your DS directory. Personally, I just can’t get used to that plan.
Instead of Smart Content, some of us have proven to be too woven into the way we’ve always done it.
Please keep in mind that many of these folders (or headings in the browser) may mean something to DS, but have nothing selectable for Carrara - those are the blank ones.
For me, I install all Genesis stuff to the default, rather than putting them in my Poser Runtime Drive.

We Carrara 8.5 beta users currently need Daz Studio for Genesis - not just the smart content database. To get the latest and greatest Genesis version, you update DS. Since Genesis seems so “All on its own” compared to everything else I buy from Daz, I just drop the headache and install where it suggests - but I know that many do similar to your method and it works fine - personal preference.

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 December 2012 03:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 434 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6088
Joined  2007-12-04
jrm21 - 15 December 2012 09:31 AM

Is there a “how to” guide for this?

Yes. In the shop, look under the “Free” part and there’s a “Getting Started with DAZ Studio 4 and Genesis” download.
Edit: Guess it’s not free anymore :(

Here’s the link:
http://www.daz3d.com/shop/getting-started-with-daz-studio-4-and-genesis

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 December 2012 06:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 435 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6088
Joined  2007-12-04

Arrrrgh!
Okay, a V4 based character - dressed, with long hair - rendered and saved a million times over (exaggeration, of course),
Two NLA clips applied creating a walk down the street, turn left into the alley and continue walking - all using aniBlocks,
Simple Urban Sprawl scene with three moving vehicles,
Simple Fake GI Lighting,
Nothing fancy or special and a couple hours work.
Error occurred while performing “Save As”

I try saving with different options - no avail.
This error happens rather constantly now in an otherwise stable Carrara - it’s KILLING ME!!!
I can still render it, but not in the Batch render because there’s absolutely no sign of a saved file.
Auto-convert shader texturing to “Fast Mip Map” makes opening the file again in a previous Carrara Pro an enormous PITA - especially with Urban Sprawl-type stuff with lots of texture maps.

PLEASE fix this and get us a new update… PLEASE?

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
   
29 of 48
29