Digital Art Zone

 
   
13 of 48
13
Carrara 8.5.0.172 Beta Now Available for Download
Posted: 03 October 2012 07:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 181 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1870
Joined  2006-02-17

It is beyond silly to start speculating about any of this since we’ve been given no indication that a “final” is ready for distribution.  More likely is that DAZ has decided to end the “free beta” program and has put the “normal” Carrara prices back in the database.  We were told that C8.5 is almost ready, but we were not told when it was slated for distribution, or for that matter if it was still subject to testing by the “public.”

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 October 2012 07:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 182 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  429
Joined  2007-10-08
artistb3 - 03 October 2012 06:49 AM
tyler zambori - 30 September 2012 10:10 PM

And for me the price for the carrara 8.5 beta seems to be $199.95.  That is a nominal fee?
To pay for the bug fixes I already paid for, and didn’t get? I don’t think so!

The question I have regarding the pricing is: will DAZ be charging everyone the same full price when the production version hits the streets?  I paid full price for Carrara 8.0 last Dec,  It would be patently unfair for DAZ NOT to have upgrade pricing for Carrara.  This would be insult added to injury after paying full price for Studio last year, as well.

The $199.00 price is a default setting in the store. If we have an upgrade cost it will be minimal. The price was suppose to remain $0 during Beta, I’ve updated the store to reflect that.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2012 07:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 183 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07

“If we have an upgrade cost”?

Edit to add from the carrara site:

“close to another beta build for Carrara 8.5”

“This build will be out in a few days.”

“Posted on Jul 27, 2012”

Need I say more.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2012 11:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 184 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  109
Joined  2004-12-01

Just checking in—any news on whats going on these days?  Please tell us something.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 October 2012 04:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 185 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  6
Joined  0

I think I’m too stupid, now I have the latest beta of Carrara 8.5.0.172 Beta
get the program with the serial number of page 1, run to still not here:

To register the Carrara 8.5 Beta you will need to use the serial code listed here: CDZCPRO-085-0000032-TVE-001-EBTOMAG   (Expires 01-NOV-2012 )

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 October 2012 05:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 186 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6417
Joined  2007-12-04

Yes. You get the Carrara 8.5 Beta here, in the store
Then you enter the Serial when you run the software for the first time.

The only thing that expires in November is that Serial Code. If the Beta continues beyond that date, they issue a new code on the first page of this thread. Carrara 8 owners will have the opportunity to upgrade by the end of the beta. New customers will likely be able to buy the new program from the usual Carrara store page.

Hope that helps clear things up a bit.

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 October 2012 07:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 187 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6417
Joined  2007-12-04

After happening several times, I’ve finally reported a Bug Report regarding an error popping up at the end of a save - resulting in no save and hours of lost work. This does not happen all the time, and I’m not certain how to reproduce it. Please add to the Bug Report if you have experienced this - especially if you know how to reproduce it.

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 October 2012 03:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 188 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1137
Joined  2007-10-17

For those interested, the products that are listed as DSON compatible means that you can also use them in Carrara. The DSA files that Carrara can’t read, have been replaced with DUF files which Carrara 8.5 does read.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 02:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 189 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  109
Joined  2004-12-01
DAZ_Spooky - 11 October 2012 03:02 PM

For those interested, the products that are listed as DSON compatible means that you can also use them in Carrara. The DSA files that Carrara can’t read, have been replaced with DUF files which Carrara 8.5 does read.

So we can use this program for Genisis stuff in C8?  What about the current way of doing it?  As in the .185 beta.  Does this DSON program work more like the old Poser Runtime environment?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 02:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 190 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1137
Joined  2007-10-17
akulla3D - 12 October 2012 02:21 PM
DAZ_Spooky - 11 October 2012 03:02 PM

For those interested, the products that are listed as DSON compatible means that you can also use them in Carrara. The DSA files that Carrara can’t read, have been replaced with DUF files which Carrara 8.5 does read.

So we can use this program for Genisis stuff in C8?  What about the current way of doing it?  As in the .185 beta.  Does this DSON program work more like the old Poser Runtime environment?

Not the program, but the updated content.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 03:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 191 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  86
Joined  2004-09-21

so we need to reset our downloads and we can apply the duf directly in carrara 8.5 which we could not do when they were .dsf?

 

 Signature 

Master the Muse - Journeys into Creativity
http://www.masterthemuse.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 06:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 192 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6417
Joined  2007-12-04
swordvisions - 12 October 2012 03:53 PM

so we need to reset our downloads and we can apply the duf directly in carrara 8.5 which we could not do when they were .dsf?

Yeah

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 October 2012 06:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 193 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6417
Joined  2007-12-04

I still don’t do a lot of modeling, myself - nor have I had a LOT of experience doing so with other software. But the software that I did try were 3DS Max and Maya, which have both always existed far beyond my budget (as a hobbyist).

I have to say that I really enjoy the tools in the Carrara Pro model room (vertex modeler, so far). I love the camera control compared to Hexagon. It also has a very intuitive arrangement for the tools themselves, once you get to know a bit more about what you’re doing.

If you’re a noob and wondering about the modeling capabilities of Carrara… take it from a hobbyist who enjoys experimenting for some time without instruction… Carrara is a modeler… and a whole lot more. The Carrara Learning DVD’s with Phil Wilkes also help drive home some great techniques, ideas and essential how-to’s - to really get you going in the modeling field within this excellent software.

I personally enjoy animating the models that I purchase here at DAZ and rendering out clips of action shots. Creating special effects and advancing my skills with shaders. Discovering ways to optimize my scenes for more efficient time/render management have proven endlessly enjoyable along the way.

Thanks DAZ!

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 October 2012 07:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 194 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  17
Joined  2009-04-22
Dartanbeck - 12 October 2012 06:35 PM

I still don’t do a lot of modeling, myself - nor have I had a LOT of experience doing so with other software. But the software that I did try were 3DS Max and Maya, which have both always existed far beyond my budget (as a hobbyist).

I have to say that I really enjoy the tools in the Carrara Pro model room (vertex modeler, so far). I love the camera control compared to Hexagon. It also has a very intuitive arrangement for the tools themselves, once you get to know a bit more about what you’re doing.

If you’re a noob and wondering about the modeling capabilities of Carrara… take it from a hobbyist who enjoys experimenting for some time without instruction… Carrara is a modeler… and a whole lot more. The Carrara Learning DVD’s with Phil Wilkes also help drive home some great techniques, ideas and essential how-to’s - to really get you going in the modeling field within this excellent software.

I personally enjoy animating the models that I purchase here at DAZ and rendering out clips of action shots. Creating special effects and advancing my skills with shaders. Discovering ways to optimize my scenes for more efficient time/render management have proven endlessly enjoyable along the way.

Thanks DAZ!

Nice declaration, grin (I’m french, couldn’t find a better word than declaration, LOL… testimony maybe?)

Since I only use Carrara for all my 3D creations, I like the modelling too.

I just need more experience, but for what I know, it’s good enough for me and more !

grin

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 October 2012 05:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 195 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1200
Joined  2005-04-12

I finally got around to updating my Beta to the latest version. I saved a DUF file from DS (latest build) of a Genesis figure with a few morphs applied and a hair model (no clothes) and then tried loading that into Carrara 8.5. This is claimed to work I believe. It took 20 mins to load the file (half of which seemed to be “projecting morphs”), but it did eventually appear, I then tried to save a Carrara version in the hope that that would load faster - and Carrara crashed in doing a “Save As” - just froze, so that I had to shut it down.  I tried restarting my PC and with nothing else running, tried again - and got the same result.

Now I know that I don’t have the latest and most powerful machine - in fact a laptop with 3GB RAM - but to just load and save a file should not be a big ask. It works on DS fine and loads the same file in maybe 20 secs.

Anyone else having the same issues?

Profile
 
 
   
13 of 48
13