Digital Art Zone

 
     
Shader Mixer and Uber products
Posted: 25 July 2012 07:28 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  22
Joined  2012-01-09

I am getting into the shader mixer to see the nuts and bolts behind lighting and materials. I watched tutorials about building materials and shaders in 3D max. It is not a one to one translation, but it helps you understand the theory, architecture and objectives in building shaders. I am a 2 month newbie and the non documentation issue is really killing me.


So I go over to Studio 4 and the Daz Default Shader architecture is essentially very easy compared to the video I just watched. So I want to look at say my UberSurface Bricks and it won’t load. UberEnvironment is the same thing. I highlight the shader and hit load current shader, choose light (even tried material) and nothing loads. Ugggg, so frustrating. Uber is essentially the main shader extension to access higher level rendering options for Daz studio. What gives?


Does Studio 4.0 have this capability? Am I missing something, like the architecture is not built off of the shader mixer but somewhere else that is not accessible? Or am I missing the mark as to what Uber products do?


Grateful3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 July 2012 01:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2277
Joined  2005-09-05
davidscameracraft - 25 July 2012 07:28 PM

I am getting into the shader mixer to see the nuts and bolts behind lighting and materials. I watched tutorials about building materials and shaders in 3D max. It is not a one to one translation, but it helps you understand the theory, architecture and objectives in building shaders. I am a 2 month newbie and the non documentation issue is really killing me.


So I go over to Studio 4 and the Daz Default Shader architecture is essentially very easy compared to the video I just watched. So I want to look at say my UberSurface Bricks and it won’t load. UberEnvironment is the same thing. I highlight the shader and hit load current shader, choose light (even tried material) and nothing loads. Ugggg, so frustrating. Uber is essentially the main shader extension to access higher level rendering options for Daz studio. What gives?


Does Studio 4.0 have this capability? Am I missing something, like the architecture is not built off of the shader mixer but somewhere else that is not accessible? Or am I missing the mark as to what Uber products do?


Grateful3D

Hi, if I’m not mistaken Über was created by aPA initially the file is probably encrypted. If you save ShaderMixer files with an encrypted format you won’t be able to open those either.

I know how you feel about the lack of documentation…: (. I had planned on writing up tutorials for some of the networks that had been posted but with starting anew job this year I just haven’t had the time.

If you look at the links in my sig it will lead you to some of. The threads created on ShaderMixer when it first came out. You may need to change some of the links to access the old threads to include IIRC forum archive in the URL . If you get stuck just ask in the forum and I’m sure people will help.
Cheers
Pen

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 July 2012 02:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8225
Joined  2009-05-14

...and it doesn’t help that the Shader Miixer functions have changed a little too since DS3. Every tutorial I try to follow works with me pulling my hair out. You should look and compare the old Glass Shader and the New one in DS4.5 RC2. There seems to be more bricks in the new one.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 July 2012 03:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  938
Joined  2007-01-04

3rd party shaders (they come with .sdl files) can’t be opened as they are copyrighted, on top of that they weren’t built in the ShaderMixer, so there is nothing in them that it can use to generate the required bricks.

 Signature 

**shuffles of with a new headache** tongue wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 July 2012 05:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  22
Joined  2012-01-09

“3rd party shaders (they come with .sdl files) can’t be opened as they are copyrighted, on top of that they weren’t built in the ShaderMixer, so there is nothing in them that it can use to generate the required bricks.”


Ahhh, so you are saying that Uber is software driven and is not represented by the shader mixer routine. It is a specialized software routine. Do you know what it accesses? The rendering engine and or the computers hardware?

Will have to look at the shader mixer tutorial and see if I can figure out how to build some Subsurface Scattering and velvet skin effects. But I am afraid without proper docs it might be like spitting into the wind.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 July 2012 05:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15217
Joined  2003-10-09

Strictly, even the default shaders aren’t being read - it’s just that they have equivalent bricks and DS knows how to convert to Shader Mixer. We were told that other shaders could, in principle, do the same but so far none of the addons have brick equivalents.

Saving a Shader Mixer shader as .dsb won’t stop it from being loaded into Sahder Mixer once it’s been applied, as far as I know.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 July 2012 11:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  793
Joined  2012-02-12
davidscameracraft - 26 July 2012 05:01 AM

“3rd party shaders (they come with .sdl files) can’t be opened as they are copyrighted, on top of that they weren’t built in the ShaderMixer, so there is nothing in them that it can use to generate the required bricks.”


Ahhh, so you are saying that Uber is software driven and is not represented by the shader mixer routine. It is a specialized software routine. Do you know what it accesses? The rendering engine and or the computers hardware?

Will have to look at the shader mixer tutorial and see if I can figure out how to build some Subsurface Scattering and velvet skin effects. But I am afraid without proper docs it might be like spitting into the wind.

In fact the only difference between Shader mixer shaders and others is that DS4 has the source code of the bricks somewhere (don’t ask me where I don’t know). This gives users the ability to build their own shaders which are compiled at rendertime. From what I’ve read it uses a feature called co-shaders if I’m guessing right

UE or other 3rd party shaders are already compiled and you don’t have the source…so no brick in shader mixer. Now if you want to understand shaders, I’d suggest to read renderman documentations after you’re done with shader mixer tutorials.

 Signature 

My Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 July 2012 01:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  22
Joined  2012-01-09

“I’d suggest to read renderman documentations after you’re done with shader mixer tutorials.”


That was such a great idea. Thanks for suggesting it. I won’t be coding shaders anytime soon but reading the documentation really gives you a complete insight into what the foundation of shaders are doing.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 July 2012 01:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2277
Joined  2005-09-05
Szark - 26 July 2012 02:22 AM

...and it doesn’t help that the Shader Miixer functions have changed a little too since DS3. Every tutorial I try to follow works with me pulling my hair out. You should look and compare the old Glass Shader and the New one in DS4.5 RC2. There seems to be more bricks in the new one.

Haven’t had chance to look at shadermixer much recently been too busy with work…I’ll have to check it out.

They did change a number of things when it came out of beta, a number of the bricks changed their names I know. I wish I had more time so I could write some proper tutorials for some of the networks that people have created. I keep meaning to do the networks Yacoma and Age of Armour provided(I’ve gotten permission to do so from both of them) I just haven’t had time…: (

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 July 2012 01:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2277
Joined  2005-09-05
Richard Haseltine - 26 July 2012 05:08 AM

Strictly, even the default shaders aren’t being read - it’s just that they have equivalent bricks and DS knows how to convert to Shader Mixer. We were told that other shaders could, in principle, do the same but so far none of the addons have brick equivalents.

Saving a Shader Mixer shader as .dsb won’t stop it from being loaded into Sahder Mixer once it’s been applied, as far as I know.

When I released the cat fur preset there was a way to save as an encrypted file format this may have changed since as that was when it was in beta.

I remember a conversation with Adam (or someone) about the different formats as some of the testers had problems with one of the formats.

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 July 2012 05:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15217
Joined  2003-10-09

Yes, DSB and DSE are version tagged and so wouldn’t open in an older version of DS. But I thought the network could still be read into Shader Mixer once applied to a surface.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 July 2012 04:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2277
Joined  2005-09-05
Richard Haseltine - 27 July 2012 05:42 AM

Yes, DSB and DSE are version tagged and so wouldn’t open in an older version of DS. But I thought the network could still be read into Shader Mixer once applied to a surface.

It was my understanding and I could be wrong that it couldn’t but from the conversations I had at the time I was under the impression that it would allow pa’s to release presets without worrying that someone would pinch their network and release something similar.

Sorry if I’m taking this thread off topic…

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 July 2012 05:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  390
Joined  2005-11-10
Pendraia - 27 July 2012 04:34 PM
Richard Haseltine - 27 July 2012 05:42 AM

Yes, DSB and DSE are version tagged and so wouldn’t open in an older version of DS. But I thought the network could still be read into Shader Mixer once applied to a surface.

It was my understanding and I could be wrong that it couldn’t but from the conversations I had at the time I was under the impression that it would allow pa’s to release presets without worrying that someone would pinch their network and release something similar.

Sorry if I’m taking this thread off topic…

I had this understanding as well so that if you wanted similar capability to a PW shader you would need to work them out from scratch your self rather than dissecting the shader.  This was what seamed to stop any similar shaders for DS 4 until DAZ brought out most of PW and compiled them for DS4.

 Signature 

Community Volunteer:
My DAZ Store 

NeilV Poser Stuff & Chohole’s Space

Old Post Count = 6362

Profile