Digital Art Zone

 
   
4 of 10
4
DAZ Studio 4.5 RC 3 Is Now Available for Download
Posted: 30 July 2012 01:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 46 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  50
Joined  2010-05-18
genejoke - 29 July 2012 01:14 AM

For some reason there is no download available and it asks me to check order status.

Well that’s sorted now but…

Anyone else having trouble with saved scenes opening with genesis being a stretched mess and completely unusable?  It seems to be when using files saved in the old format, which presents a BIG problem for me unless there is some kind of work around.

Image Attachments
dfdfd.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 02:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 47 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  41
Joined  2005-04-08

Thank you to the guy’s posting images,a very effective way to highlight results.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 07:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 48 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2847
Joined  0

RC3 is working pretty well here (64-bit version).


I don’t use Genesis, and all my old 4.5 RC2 scenes load and render without issue.  Continued experimentation with older content is going well, no horribly broken figures on loading so far.  The various pw* plugins work just fine in early testing.  Sure wish I had my Atmopheric Camera.. sigh.  It can wait.


I do get the “This program has stopped operating” when I exit DS4.5 RC3 64-bit, ut this is about 30-45 seconds after I’ve closed the app and there’s no data loss/file corruption so I consider it an annoyance, I guess I should go file a bug even though it’s just “nuisance level”.


I feel pretty warm and fuzzy about RC3 for my purposes. cool smile SO FAR (heh)!

 Signature 

My bloggity blog: http://the-serpents-fang.blogspot.com/
My Red Room Authors Page: http://redroom.com/member/edward-averill

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 07:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 49 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4753
Joined  2011-10-04

I pretty much use nothing but Genesis when it comes to humanoid figures, and I haven’t had those sorts of problems myself. Sadly, I have no idea why this might be so, and why others have a problem. Check the log file for errors? :(

Edit: oh wait! Could you show the scene list, to show how items are parented?

 Signature 

Thanking: M F M for a gift of dragons!
My DeviantArt page.
My DAZ Studio 4 freebies.
My ramblings/blog

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 08:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 50 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  803
Joined  2007-01-08
Kevin Sanderson - 29 July 2012 08:11 AM

That motion blur is great!!

Thanks!

Kevin Sanderson - 29 July 2012 08:11 AM

For the speed increase in the newer version of 3Delight, some highlights from the change log at 3Delight: “
“Improved ray tracing performance of some transparent curves. Very dense fur patches which necessitate shader evaluation for ray-tracing will benefit the most from this optimization (we experience a maximum speed increase of 300%).”

I think this one was what caught my eye, but i didn’t notice it only applied to curves. confused I guess we have one more reason to wait for LAMH!

Motion Blur doesn’t work on (just) camera movements, though.

And I have some daz scenes that do not render fine (missing bucket on one eye). I’ll try again later.

Motion blur on rotation in place:

Image Attachments
Rotation_MotionBlur_Plushie.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 12:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 51 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  312
Joined  2003-10-09

RE: #40

zilvergrafix - 28 July 2012 06:03 PM

I had this installation error, twice, I can’t install RC3, some advice? maybe a corrupt download?


Unfortunately, there seems to be a bug with the installers produced by the version of BitRock InstallBuilder used to build the previous installers, which causes the uninstaller that is created by the installer to be invalid (0 bytes). When the new installer attempts to run the uninstaller created by the previous installer, it fails - which also causes the new installer to fail and the message that you are seeing to be displayed. Luckily, in this scenario the number/names of files in the new installer are the same… so to work around the issue, you can go to the path indicated by the dialog (in your case: “C:\Program Files\DAZ 3D\DAZStudio4\Uninstallers\”) and delete the uninstaller (in your case: “Remove-DAZStudio4_Win64.exe”), which should have a size of 0 bytes if it is the same issue we’ve become aware of. You should then be able to run the new installer without it failing and it should create a new uninstaller that isn’t 0 bytes.

FWIW, the change log for 4.5.0.95, in the Pending Release section, indicates…

Updated Bitrock InstallBuilder to version 8.3.0; addresses bugs in the installers being generated by previous versions

... so we are aware of the issue and we want it fixed too - as much as, if not more than, you do.

-Rob

 Signature 

- Documentation Center
- Install Manager
- DAZ Studio 4.x
- DSON Importer
- DSON File Format Specification

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 05:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 52 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1829
Joined  2006-02-17

Anyone else having problems setting DS4rc3 to render?  I’ve having a problem where DS4 loops over the same 4 textures infinitely and chews up all disk.

Loaded image GSuit_GenLeatherDiffuse.jpg
Loaded image MrIncredulousTemplate.png
Loaded image SallyMaeHairTex07B_DC.jpg
Loaded image SallyMaeHairTex07_DC.jpg
Ran tdlmake on image C:/users/krsears/Application Data/DAZ 3D/Studio4/temp/d4.tif
Ran tdlmake on image C:/users/krsears/Application Data/DAZ 3D/Studio4/temp/d3.tif
Ran tdlmake on image C:/users/krsears/Application Data/DAZ 3D/Studio4/temp/d2.tif
Loaded image GSuit_GenLeatherDiffuse.jpg
Loaded image MrIncredulousTemplate.png
Loaded image SallyMaeHairTex07B_DC.jpg
Loaded image SallyMaeHairTex07_DC.jpg
Ran tdlmake on image C:/users/krsears/Application Data/DAZ 3D/Studio4/temp/d4.tif
Ran tdlmake on image C:/users/krsears/Application Data/DAZ 3D/Studio4/temp/d3.tif
Ran tdlmake on image C:/users/krsears/Application Data/DAZ 3D/Studio4/temp/d2.tif
Loaded image GSuit_GenLeatherDiffuse.jpg
Loaded image MrIncredulousTemplate.png
Loaded image SallyMaeHairTex07B_DC.jpg
Loaded image SallyMaeHairTex07_DC.jpg
Ran tdlmake on image C:/users/krsears/Application Data/DAZ 3D/Studio4/temp/d4.tif
Ran tdlmake on image C:/users/krsears/Application Data/DAZ 3D/Studio4/temp/d3.tif
Ran tdlmake on image C:/users/krsears/Application Data/DAZ 3D/Studio4/temp/d2.tif
Loaded image GSuit_GenLeatherDiffuse.jpg
Loaded image MrIncredulousTemplate.png
Loaded image SallyMaeHairTex07B_DC.jpg
Loaded image SallyMaeHairTex07_DC.jpg


Repeated in the log.txt file hundreds of times.  I stopped the render but it had already created 500G of .tdl files in a very short period of time.


Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 05:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 53 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4753
Joined  2011-10-04

...okay, wow. o_O

 Signature 

Thanking: M F M for a gift of dragons!
My DeviantArt page.
My DAZ Studio 4 freebies.
My ramblings/blog

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 05:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 54 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1829
Joined  2006-02-17

OK.  Are we limited in “Images”?  I restarted the render.  It gets to 98/99 at 99% on the Render Dialog then drops back to 95% and 95/99.


In 9 minutes it chewed up over 10G of disk.  This happens whether rendering to Image, Window, or RIB.  Here is a quick capture from the render dialog’s memo area.


Optimizing Images - 80/99
Optimizing Images - 81/99
Optimizing Images - 80/99
Optimizing Images - 81/99
Optimizing Images - 80/99
Optimizing Images - 81/99
Optimizing Images - 82/99
Optimizing Images - 83/99
Optimizing Images - 82/99
Optimizing Images - 83/99
Optimizing Images - 84/99
Optimizing Images - 85/99
Optimizing Images - 86/99
Optimizing Images - 87/99
Optimizing Images - 86/99
Optimizing Images - 87/99
Optimizing Images - 88/99
Optimizing Images - 89/99
Optimizing Images - 90/99
Optimizing Images - 89/99
Optimizing Images - 90/99
Optimizing Images - 91/99
Optimizing Images - 92/99
Optimizing Images - 93/99
Optimizing Images - 92/99
Optimizing Images - 93/99
Optimizing Images - 94/99
Optimizing Images - 95/99
Optimizing Images - 96/99
Optimizing Images - 94/99
Optimizing Images - 95/99
Optimizing Images - 96/99
Optimizing Images - 97/99
Optimizing Images - 95/99
Optimizing Images - 96/99
Optimizing Images - 97/99
Optimizing Images - 98/99
Optimizing Images - 95/99
Optimizing Images - 96/99
Optimizing Images - 97/99
Optimizing Images - 98/99
Optimizing Images - 95/99
Optimizing Images - 96/99
Optimizing Images - 97/99
Optimizing Images - 95/99
Optimizing Images - 96/99
Optimizing Images - 97/99
Optimizing Images - 98/99
Optimizing Images - 95/99
Optimizing Images - 96/99
Optimizing Images - 97/99
Optimizing Images - 95/99
Optimizing Images - 96/99
Optimizing Images - 97/99
Optimizing Images - 95/99
Optimizing Images - 96/99
Optimizing Images - 97/99
Optimizing Images - 98/99
Optimizing Images - 95/99
Optimizing Images - 96/99
Optimizing Images - 97/99
Optimizing Images - 95/99
Optimizing Images - 96/99
Optimizing Images - 97/99
Optimizing Images - 95/99
Optimizing Images - 96/99
Optimizing Images - 97/99
Optimizing Images - 95/99
Optimizing Images - 96/99
Optimizing Images - 97/99
Optimizing Images - 95/99
Optimizing Images - 96/99
Optimizing Images - 97/99
Optimizing Images - 95/99
Optimizing Images - 96/99
Optimizing Images - 97/99
Optimizing Images - 98/99
Optimizing Images - 96/99
Optimizing Images - 95/99
Optimizing Images - 96/99
Optimizing Images - 97/99
Optimizing Images - 95/99
Optimizing Images - 96/99
Optimizing Images - 97/99
Optimizing Images - 98/99
Optimizing Images - 95/99
Optimizing Images - 96/99
Optimizing Images - 97/99
Optimizing Images - 98/99
Optimizing Images - 95/99
Optimizing Images - 96/99
Optimizing Images - 97/99
Optimizing Images - 98/99
Optimizing Images - 95/99
Optimizing Images - 96/99
Optimizing Images - 97/99
Optimizing Images - 95/99
Optimizing Images - 96/99
Optimizing Images - 97/99
Optimizing Images - 98/99


Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 07:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 55 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  22
Joined  2011-09-02

In case anyone was wondering, the DS4.5 rc3 installer now works properly on Windows 8 (at least for me). You may need to delete the default content uninstaller first though.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 07:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 56 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1829
Joined  2006-02-17

Getting weirder…  Different scene, getting negative numbers.  XP, Windows 32 bit.  DS4.5rc3

Rendering in 3Delight
Optimizing Images - 0/2
Optimizing Images - 1/2
Optimizing Images - -2/2   <——
Optimizing Images - -1/2   <——
Optimizing Images - 0/2
Optimizing Images - -2/2   <——
Optimizing Images - -1/2   <——
Optimizing Images - 0/2
Optimizing Images - 1/2
Optimizing Images - -2/2   <——
Optimizing Images - -1/2   <——
Optimizing Images - 1/2


Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 July 2012 12:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 57 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2004-05-25

Thank you! smile

That is great to be able to use GoZ again! smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 July 2012 01:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 58 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2009-06-17

Any information when Ubersoft and Uberspot lights will be recompiled for the RC3 onwards version and what sort of effect using the existing versions has on performance?

I tend to rely on ubersoft lights rather than Uberenvironment due to the environment sphere and the effect not matching up.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 August 2012 09:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 59 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  967
Joined  2007-10-17
genejoke - 30 July 2012 01:08 AM
genejoke - 29 July 2012 01:14 AM

For some reason there is no download available and it asks me to check order status.

Well that’s sorted now but…

Anyone else having trouble with saved scenes opening with genesis being a stretched mess and completely unusable?  It seems to be when using files saved in the old format, which presents a BIG problem for me unless there is some kind of work around.

I have seen this one during a fairly early build of 4.5. I did it by applying a V4 pose to Genesis that changed the rotation order and broke the binding of the figure. This was done with a DUF save and load. It looked like Genesis turned to liquid, which looks similar to your image.

That has been fixed. Without more information I can’t be sure but what it looks like is you saved a .daz file in some version of DAZ Studio before RC1, which had genesis posed using a previous generation pose. Upon loading the .daz file the binding, like my pose, broke.

There is a work around,  though it is time consuming. Reinstall the old version of DS, save out character presets for your saved characters, (Note a character preset does not carry the pose.) then you can apply those presets to Genesis in the current version and quickly recreate your scene as poses will not break the binding anymore.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 August 2012 01:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 60 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2012-04-28

Can we assume that since 4.5.0.90 is getting perilously close to 4.5.1 that this is going to be an official stable release very soon?

Profile
 
 
   
4 of 10
4