Digital Art Zone

 
   
3 of 10
3
DAZ Studio 4.5 RC 3 Is Now Available for Download
Posted: 28 July 2012 03:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 31 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  41
Joined  2005-04-08

The last version of Dazstudio 4.5 worked great on my PC,a solid experience with no bugs or glitches…......until I saved my work.I basically loaded up an old scene (Daz4x),re-posed a few figures (both Genesis and v4),then saved in the new Daz format.

When loading the same scene in the new Daz format,it took 10 times longer to load and for some reason the figures in the scene had moved,(example,figure no longer sitting on chair,instead hovers over the chair,hip/legs are no longer in sitting position).........so basically I had to re-pose the figures.

I pretty much use Dazstudio on an every day basis,so I had no choice other than reverting back to Daz 4.X….......has anyone experienced similar issues with 4.5,is it a known issue,is it fixed,are the new (longer) load times normal?

I would also like to add that I did not notice any difference in the general running of Dazstudio 4.5…....nothing was faster,better etc…..what are the main improvements of DAZ 4.5????

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 July 2012 04:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 32 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  217
Joined  2011-02-16

I played a bit with RC3 last night and it seemed to me that it loaded faster than RC2, which was allot slower than DS4Pro. I didn’t experience many bugs on RC1 or 2 but I haven’t had allot of time to play with DS these last few months. I have noticed though that if I work on a scene and save a render, close that scene down, open/create another and render - it still has the previous render name in the box. I often tweak things and save multiple renders of one scene and I wouldn’t want to overwite the previous render nor use the original render name on the next scene. I can see a use for keeping a name while working on one scene but the next? Or are we supposed to close DS between opening scenes?

 Signature 

Meg

Interested in Male Figures, Male clothes, Male Hair, Contemporary settings and vehicles

DS4.6Pro on W7 64bit laptop

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 July 2012 07:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 33 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  503
Joined  2003-10-09
MassMinion - 28 July 2012 03:53 AM

The last version of Dazstudio 4.5 worked great on my PC,a solid experience with no bugs or glitches…......until I saved my work.I basically loaded up an old scene (Daz4x),re-posed a few figures (both Genesis and v4),then saved in the new Daz format.

When loading the same scene in the new Daz format,it took 10 times longer to load and for some reason the figures in the scene had moved,(example,figure no longer sitting on chair,instead hovers over the chair,hip/legs are no longer in sitting position).........so basically I had to re-pose the figures.

I pretty much use Dazstudio on an every day basis,so I had no choice other than reverting back to Daz 4.X….......has anyone experienced similar issues with 4.5,is it a known issue,is it fixed,are the new (longer) load times normal?

I would also like to add that I did not notice any difference in the general running of Dazstudio 4.5…....nothing was faster,better etc…..what are the main improvements of DAZ 4.5????

Reading the original post and this:  http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/public/software/dazstudio/4/change_log#release_candidate_3

it looks like they made tons of fixes and tweaks, big improvements to FBX, Studio now can do motion blur (finally!!!), the 3Delight render engine is now updated (alright!!! - raytracing should be faster now), fixed GLSL rendering on newer OpenGL drivers (great because I use OpenGL to test animations and was hoping GLSL would be improved), and Shader Mixer has been improved. I am now seriously tempted to download and try this. I don’t usually participate in beta tests because of the high frustration I have encountered in the past.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 July 2012 07:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 34 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  41
Joined  2005-04-08

3Dreamer….....I actually find the previous saved render/image name quite handy…....I do series work,same scene but different poses,same render save name pops up but I just add 01,02,03 to the end….......works well for people like me,with a shockingly poor memory

Kevin Sanderson…....I’ve read the updates etc,it sounds impressive but sadly I wiped Daz 4.5 off my hard drive because scenes take to long to load and couldn’t save my work as intended…......these are the basics…..and they seem worse than 4X.If you have a solid workflow and need Dazstudio to work then I would not install this version…...........if you want to beta test and like to tinker then from my experience the software was quite solid to play with…........I had 3 genesis figures,v4,large prop scene, multiple lights,mesh smoothing,auto fit and it all ran smooth.
Didn’t notice any significant different difference on render times or quality….......my only issues were saving poses and scene load times,which makes the software unusable for my workflow.
I was hoping to see the inclusion of animation IK,would have been a great feature.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 July 2012 08:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 35 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4785
Joined  2011-10-04

That’s odd, ‘cause I found it faster to save and open than in 4.0.*—are you using 32-bit version or 64-bit version? (Mine’s 64-bit version.)

 Signature 

Remembering Jaderail. Rest, my friend.
My DeviantArt page.
My DAZ Studio 4 freebies.
My ramblings/blog

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 July 2012 08:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 36 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4544
Joined  2004-08-11

Still wish you guys would UP the undo’s it’s ridiculous to have only 20 undo’s .... make it 50 and you got a deal!

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 July 2012 10:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 37 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  41
Joined  2005-04-08

I’m using the 64 bit version…....Dazstudio 4.5 saves at lightning speed…......the odd thing is,importing a scene created with the old Daz file format (4X) loaded far faster than the same scene did in the new daz file format????

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 July 2012 02:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 38 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  18
Joined  2006-09-06
rbtwhiz - 27 July 2012 07:08 PM

You will be prompted the same as if you had clicked File > Save As > Scene…...
...
If a scene has no author, or “you” are not the author, you will be prompted. If however, the name for the author of the scene matches the name you have entered into the Authorship Information dialog, the save action will actually perform a Save rather than a Save As… because it then assumes you know that you are modifying a scene “you” made.

Thank you for the info!

 Signature 

Klas

TERRALights.de

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 July 2012 03:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 39 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  220
Joined  2008-06-12

I have a figure based on V4, scaled down with a head-scale morph applied.  A version I saved in DS4.5rc2, when reloaded into rc3, did not have the hair correctly fit to it, and I could not fit other hairs to it.  A version I saved from 4.0 has the hair right, but the clothing does not fit properly (as it did previously - it’s just ‘Courageous’ tunic), with the upper chest poking through.

A DS3 version seems OK.

I will do more experiments in isolation so I can file a sensible bug report.  There were a lot of changelog entries about bounding boxes and Y scaling, and I wonder if something got broken.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 July 2012 06:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 40 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  208
Joined  2006-01-26

I had this installation error, twice, I can’t install RC3, some advice? maybe a corrupt download?

 

Image Attachments
erroh.jpg
 Signature 

http://www.daz3d.com/gallery/#users/1312/
http://zilvergrafix.deviantart.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 July 2012 06:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 41 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  233
Joined  2003-10-09

Area lights don’t work correctly in RC3, also Genesis behaves strange and looks strange while clicking - I don’t want to have to look at broken shoulders. I go back to RC2. :(

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 July 2012 01:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 42 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  51
Joined  2010-05-18

For some reason there is no download available and it asks me to check order status.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 July 2012 04:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 43 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  820
Joined  2007-01-08
Kevin Sanderson - 28 July 2012 07:08 AM

Studio now can do motion blur (finally!!!)

O_o I was kinda going to sit this one out until I read that! Thanks DAZ!!!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 July 2012 06:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 44 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  820
Joined  2007-01-08

OK, my first test of 3Delight 10 was about the massive gains in speed of AO through transparency. I did a scene in RC2 with Genesis and the A4 Long Hair and rendered at decent render settings with UE2. The gain on two test renders at different angles is around 5%. Hopefully the small gain is due non-recompilation of the shader, but we’ll see.
Second test was motion blur, which I’m loving already! But beware of the cubic spline interpolation, at half between a keyframe and the next the motion blur will be highest, as in the duck below.

Image Attachments
Duck_MotionBlur.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 July 2012 08:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 45 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  503
Joined  2003-10-09

That motion blur is great!!

For the speed increase in the newer version of 3Delight, some highlights from the change log at 3Delight: “

“Improved startup performance of the raytracer for some particular scenes. An example scene for which this optimization will work is a single big curves primitive (containing a very large amount of curves).”

“Shaders with light methods which have too many required parameters to be run from illuminance loops are now cleanly skipped.”

“Improved multithreading with textures and point clouds.”

“Faster startup of the ray tracer with subdivision surfaces.” & “Faster handling of subdivision surfaces.”

“Improved ray tracing performance of some transparent curves. Very dense fur patches which necessitate shader evaluation for ray-tracing will benefit the most from this optimization (we experience a maximum speed increase of 300%).”

“Improved memory management for large scenes. Resulting memory savings can reach 25%.”

“Ray tracing subdivision surfaces now uses significantly less memory and is slightly faster. On our test scenes, memory usage is halved on scenes with a lot of subdivision surfaces.”

Profile
 
 
   
3 of 10
3