Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 2
2
does it run on Mountain Lion?
Posted: 25 July 2012 01:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  435
Joined  2010-09-22
PLahoda - 25 July 2012 01:07 PM

Richard, I think I will download & install ML on one of my older computers and will definitely test Carrara on it. Hopefully this happens over the weekend. I will let you know. Is anyone faster ?

Thanks pal! But arent you worried about not being able to DOWNGRADE this machine you are talking about

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 July 2012 11:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  206
Joined  2010-06-09

8.5.0.149 runs on 10.8 Mountain Lion.
Yep just installed Mountain Lion and fired Carrara with baited breath.
IT WOKS OK.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 July 2012 01:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  435
Joined  2010-09-22
londonmarlo - 26 July 2012 11:34 PM

8.5.0.149 runs on 10.8 Mountain Lion.
Yep just installed Mountain Lion and fired Carrara with baited breath.
IT WOKS OK.

YOu might want to take the long scenic route/drive before with Carrara you say it runs on 10.8!  PLEASE do some work with it then tell us what happens!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 July 2012 05:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1639
Joined  0

After reading the info for Mountain Lion, it looks like Apple is dropping support for 32bit processes in this round.

The things I would test would be the 32bit version of Carrara, and also rendering to a Quicktime which opens a 32bit quicktime-thing (I think this still happens?) or any other 32bit processes you can think of…

 Signature 

320+ TUTORIALS for Carrara at CARRARA CAFE
C3DE - CARRARA 3D EXPO MAGAZINE - the showcase for Carrara Artists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 July 2012 03:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2007-09-14
RichardChaos - 27 July 2012 01:43 PM
londonmarlo - 26 July 2012 11:34 PM

8.5.0.149 runs on 10.8 Mountain Lion.
Yep just installed Mountain Lion and fired Carrara with baited breath.
IT WOKS OK.

YOu might want to take the long scenic route/drive before with Carrara you say it runs on 10.8!  PLEASE do some work with it then tell us what happens!

I just did that. I am on Mountain Lion right now, and everything I tried with Carrara worked just fine. App starts, file open, rendering works, no problems whatsoever. Need to try some of my high poly files to see if the problems with saving and overall stability persists, but I am afraid this has nothing to do with underlying OS but we need to keep our fingers crossed that DAZ will eventually squash some long persistent bugs.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 July 2012 05:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  435
Joined  2010-09-22
PLahoda - 28 July 2012 03:33 AM
RichardChaos - 27 July 2012 01:43 PM
londonmarlo - 26 July 2012 11:34 PM

8.5.0.149 runs on 10.8 Mountain Lion.
Yep just installed Mountain Lion and fired Carrara with baited breath.
IT WOKS OK.

YOu might want to take the long scenic route/drive before with Carrara you say it runs on 10.8!  PLEASE do some work with it then tell us what happens!

I just did that. I am on Mountain Lion right now, and everything I tried with Carrara worked just fine. App starts, file open, rendering works, no problems whatsoever. Need to try some of my high poly files to see if the problems with saving and overall stability persists, but I am afraid this has nothing to do with underlying OS but we need to keep our fingers crossed that DAZ will eventually squash some long persistent bugs.

I would like to know if you get an ERROR and crash if you click in the timeline! That may take a few minutes but IF I open C8 in power MAC 10.5.8 and have to click, s;elect , move things around in the timeline within a few minutes I will get and error/crash! Which means if I dont want to loose any of my work I have to save every few moves and that means a multi-minute save

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 July 2012 12:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  9
Joined  2007-03-19

I am currently running it in Mountain Lion

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 06:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  209
Joined  2005-08-31

I’ve been using the new beta (172) in both Lion and Mountain Lion. Performance seems to be the same in both operating systems. I’ve opened, rendered and saved a large file with two M4 characters and a lot of buildings. Everything was good. Adding poses works well. I tried some simple bullet physics and they work too. I haven’t tried animating or changing shaders yet. I only had one crash so far. (That’s much better than the previous build.) When I added a pose to Genesis in Mountain Lion. I tried it again and it crashed again. After rebooting I was able to get it to work. It didn’t crash in Lion.

I did notice one strange behavior with the new beta. The spot render doesn’t work anymore. It just gives me a white square. I got the same behavior on both operating systems on two different computers (27” iMac and a 13” MacBook Pro). Has anyone else seen this? It works the same whether OpenGL rendering is active or software rendering. Should I report this in the Bug Report.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 02:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1639
Joined  0

Confirmed. I have a totally white spot render. angry

DO NOT DOWNLOAD BETA 172

 Signature 

320+ TUTORIALS for Carrara at CARRARA CAFE
C3DE - CARRARA 3D EXPO MAGAZINE - the showcase for Carrara Artists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2012 11:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  36
Joined  2003-10-09

Random crashing and frequently in mtn lion save often!  No white square test render working in Mtn Lion and build 172 64 bit i5.

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 2
2