Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
OT - New Hard-drive woes
Posted: 22 July 2012 12:57 PM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2279
Joined  2003-10-09

Ok….had to get a new hard-drive, so now I have to reinstall everything. What a PITA
I do have the old HD and all its data as a second drive, so all my info is there somewhere.

So right now I am trying to find all my old Firefox bookmarks.
Does anyone know where FF hides the bookmarks so I can copy them over?

Rawn

 Signature 

A step away from the ordinary
http://www.daz3d.com/shop/rawart/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2012 01:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7798
Joined  2006-03-19

Good question. I’ve search and search with no avail.

 Signature 

ARTCollaborations Store on DAZ3D    ARTCollaborations on Facebook

*****Forgotten Temple Ruins*****  

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2012 01:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1866
Joined  2006-02-17
RawArt - 22 July 2012 12:57 PM

Ok….had to get a new hard-drive, so now I have to reinstall everything. What a PITA
I do have the old HD and all its data as a second drive, so all my info is there somewhere.

So right now I am trying to find all my old Firefox bookmarks.
Does anyone know where FF hides the bookmarks so I can copy them over?

Rawn


Windows:
Documents and Settings\YourUsername\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\default.XXX


Mac:
Library/Application Support/Firefox/Profiles/xxxx.default


Linux:
.mozilla/firefox/xxxx.default


Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2012 01:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14784
Joined  2003-10-09

Or Users\You\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\default.XXX for Vista and Windows 7. You will need to either enable the display of hidden files and folders in the Folder Options Control Panel applet or type the path into the Address bar, if it’s visible, to get there.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2012 01:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2918
Joined  2004-04-14

Next time, if you know your going to have to replace your HDD, you can tell FF to export all your book marks to an html file and then import that same html file after the reinstall.

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2012 01:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2279
Joined  2003-10-09

Thanx Guys…still not finding it though

I see a l2vzzubg.default in the profiles folder…does that make sense?


I should say I am using vista pro 64

 Signature 

A step away from the ordinary
http://www.daz3d.com/shop/rawart/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2012 01:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2279
Joined  2003-10-09
Mattymanx - 22 July 2012 01:37 PM

Next time, if you know your going to have to replace your HDD, you can tell FF to export all your book marks to an html file and then import that same html file after the reinstall.

The plan was to use my current hardrive as the main one again…but the techy guy havily discouraged me from that when I was in the store.
I think he discouraged it because it would probably be easier to install all the new hardware on the clean empty harddrive.

Rawn

 Signature 

A step away from the ordinary
http://www.daz3d.com/shop/rawart/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2012 02:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  768
Joined  2012-02-12
RawArt - 22 July 2012 01:38 PM

Thanx Guys…still not finding it though

I see a l2vzzubg.default in the profiles folder…does that make sense?


I should say I am using vista pro 64

That’s it. Firefox always gives this type of name to the profile folders. In it you should find also a “bookmarkbackup” folder. You have then two choice.

1 - copy and overwrite everything that is in the folder into your current FF profile folder which has a different name. You’ll get back Bookmarks, Navigation history, plugins…everything. But you will lose your current FF profile as you overwrite it

2 - Open FF then click on “show all bookmark”. Click on “Import and backup”-> “restore”->“browse” then browse to “l2vzzubg.default\bookmarkbackups” and choose the latest bookmark to restore

RawArt - 22 July 2012 01:38 PM

The plan was to use my current hardrive as the main one again…but the techy guy havily discouraged me from that when I was in the store.
I think he discouraged it because it would probably be easier to install all the new hardware on the clean empty harddrive.

It would have been quicker to clone the old one. But a clean install usually gives some performance gain because window"s registry will be less a mess due to installing/deinstalling programs. Hope you bought an SSD btw. That really speeds up things

 

 Signature 

My Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2012 04:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2279
Joined  2003-10-09

awesome…that worked.
Thanx alot!!!

I may come in with different problems tomorrow when I really start reinstalling LOL

Rawn

 Signature 

A step away from the ordinary
http://www.daz3d.com/shop/rawart/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2012 04:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3021
Joined  2004-10-25
RawArt - 22 July 2012 04:18 PM

awesome…that worked.
Thanx alot!!!

Rawn

Excellent.  Glad to see Takeo got you sorted.  I had the same problem back in November when I had to get a new laptop because the older one was failing.  I happen to save a copy of the latest bookmarks backup .json file every day to a folder on my desktop for easy access, and then I delete the one from the day before.  This certainly came in handy.


Instructions said you could only “import” an .html file, but I tried “restore” for the heck of it and saw the “Chose File” below the current date, and that allowed me to browse to where I had my latest backup .json file.  Boy was I overjoyed as I have about 15 to 20 yrs worth of bookmarks and would really be at a loss if I couldn’t get them back.

 Signature 

OK . . . Where’s my chocolate?     Post Count —> 3,263 and growing!     Visit my Renderosity Gallery

It’s what you learn after you know it all that counts ~ John Wooden

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2012 06:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  203
Joined  2003-10-09

Perhaps MozBackup would be useful - it will back up and restore the settings, bookmarks and emails of :
Firefox, Thunderbird, SeaMonkey etc etc…

http://mozbackup.jasnapaka.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2012 11:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  768
Joined  2012-02-12

Best way is to use Firefox sync so that your profile is accessible anywhere through internet

 Signature 

My Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 July 2012 06:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2279
Joined  2003-10-09

Looks like I wont be able to change my vista64 back to the classic look I had before.
I don’t know why…but I dont have any of the “Change to classic”  things in the control panel to click on anymore…hmmm

Maybe I will just have to get used to the new look raspberry

 Signature 

A step away from the ordinary
http://www.daz3d.com/shop/rawart/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 July 2012 07:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  995
Joined  2006-02-27

IT sucks you had to get a new harddrive

I had to swap out three of them this year, I believe they came from a bad batch because they were all different brands but purchased around the same time

If you have trouble recovering any info try this program

http://www.piriform.com/recuva

its worked like a charm for me many a time

While we are on the matter of Harddrives I am planning to switch to a pair of hybrid drives

two Seagate Momentus XT hybrid drives

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822148837

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 July 2012 09:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2279
Joined  2003-10-09

Ok…the store buggers got me.

I was wondering why everything was looking different in my OS….I suddenly realized they installed windows7 instead of my vista pro.
I brought it back to the shop..and they apologised and said if I want vista, they would need the machine for 2 more days (since my vista was pre-servicep pack1 ).....or they would give me a deal on windows 7.
Yeah…I bit the hook and took win 7 instead of the loss of 2 days work.

geeeezzzzz

Rawn

 Signature 

A step away from the ordinary
http://www.daz3d.com/shop/rawart/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 July 2012 10:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  995
Joined  2006-02-27

I think 7 rocks, also think you will be happy with it.

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1