Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
send backwards
Posted: 07 August 2014 04:05 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  24
Joined  2014-06-17

Hello, I have trees and a mountain but I see that the mountain is in front of parts of the trees. I would like to send the mountain behind the trees. Is that possible?
Thanks!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 August 2014 05:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17031
Joined  2003-10-09

Select the mountain and use Edit from the top line of icons and the reposition buttons to move it   (4th Icon along on the edit screen)

or , of course, you can do the same with the trees and move them as well.

Select buttons are on the bottom line of icons

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 August 2014 04:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  98
Joined  2006-02-21

Vivianrk..
It sounds like you’re new to Bryce… Although I have been playing with it for a few years, I am still learning.  I found that watching the many available video tutorials was invaluable to me.. check out the many Bryce tutorials in this very forum.  Good luck and have fun.
Steve

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 August 2014 01:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1780
Joined  2011-09-25

@Vivianrk:  Welcome to the forum.  To help see how far you move the mountains you can change your view by using the keypad.  #1 is the camera view; #2 is the overhead view and you can use the ‘+’ and ‘-’ keys to zoom in and out; #3 is the right view; #4 is the left view; #0 is the director view.  Also, there’s a drop down to the right of the preview pain which also lets you choose your view.

 Signature 

If you constantly look backward, it’s guaranteed you’ll run into something on your forward journey.
My Gallery Page: GussNemo’s Efforts

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 August 2014 03:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  24
Joined  2014-06-17

Thanks for all your help but I am very new to Bryce so I am still floundering. I have highlighted the mountain and pressed ‘E’ but where is the option to place it behind other objects?

Thank you for the welcomes smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 August 2014 04:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17031
Joined  2003-10-09

Use this widget from the top line of icons

Image Attachments
Bryce_edit_and_move.jpg
 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 August 2014 04:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17031
Joined  2003-10-09

You may also benefit from browsing through some tutorials

From this one (for absolute beginners)  http://www.pxleyes.com/tutorial/bryce/1218/Absolute-Beginners-Guide-to-Bryce.html

or this one,  which is a series and reccomended http://www.robinwood.com/Catalog/Technical/BryceTuts/BrycePages/Bryce1Start.html

Don’t worry about the fact that many tutorials are for Earlier versions, The basic operations haven’t varied too much since Bryce 5, but many new features have been added.

There is a whole list of tutorials listed here http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/323/#41654

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 August 2014 05:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  24
Joined  2014-06-17

Thanks for that. Yes I have been resizing and moving and turning objects. But my problem is that I have trees located in the workspace and when I add a mountain, I want it to be in the background of the trees. Like in Word, on inserting a picture, one can designate to put the pic ‘behind text’ or ’ in front of text. In other words I want the trees to be overlapping the mountain so that the mountain sits visibly behind the trees.

PS I will look into those tutes later, thanks.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 August 2014 05:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17031
Joined  2003-10-09

Working in 3D is not the same as working in 2D,  you have a 3 dimensional space to fill, so you need to move things around differently, no such thing as layering as you get in images.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 August 2014 05:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3823
Joined  2004-10-01

@vivienrk - a mountain is a terrain and as such an object like a tree. It can be resized and moved. If you use the Perspective camera instead of the Directors camera and set it as shown below, you can select any object and move it Z = forward/back, X = left/right and Y up/down. Bryce is a 3D program and your objects are in a room, not on a plane. Word - or any 2D image or construction program - is a plane without depth. Here it makes sense to send an object back, i.e. behind any object in the foreground. In a 3D program, such nomenclature doesn’t make any sense because if you move the camera, what is back can be right and what was front left depending on how you move and rotate the camera. In this context, what is front and what is back is relative to the camera - the observer - and therefore there are no controls with such labels. As long as you look at the wireframe, you haven’t a depth clue and your trees and montain appear to be at the same plane. Either render or look from above or a side and you’ll see they are at different locations.

Image Attachments
CamEdit.jpgCamPos.gif
 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 August 2014 03:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  24
Joined  2014-06-17

Thanks Horo - I understand more now. So it is up to the camera position. So if I set it at the rear and create a mountain, then this object will be in the rear?
Thanks also for your images. I don’t have the Perspective camera option, only Current, Director and Camera view, so when I open up the Camera and 2 D projection popup the object name is Director.

PS sorry to be so long in getting back to this

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 August 2014 03:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3823
Joined  2004-10-01

@vivienrk - you’re welcome. You do have the Perspective camera. In the first image above, there is a hand below the green save dots, left of the terrain with the green frame. You have a directors stool there. Just click on it to change the camera.

Imagine a room where you put your objects in. You standing at a place (near the door, for example) and look at it. When you move around in the room (the camera is your eye), the perspective changes and you see how the objects are distributed in this room.

Again in the first image, there is a grey down-arrow where I put a red left arrow. Above is another such grey down arrow. If you click on it, a menu pops up that lets you look from top, bottom, left, right, front and back on your scene without moving the camera.

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 August 2014 03:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  24
Joined  2014-06-17

Is that the Perspective Toggle you mentioned?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 August 2014 03:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  24
Joined  2014-06-17

Yay - I’ve done it. I toggled to areal view and placed the object behind the other objects, then toggled back to the normal view, and the object is in the rear.
Thank you all so much especially Horo for supporting me smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 August 2014 06:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3823
Joined  2004-10-01

You are more than welcome, vivienrk. Glad to hear that you figured it out. There are many symbols you can click on to get menus or options. I’ve always considered Bryce as some sort of an adventure game. Click on everything and get surprised.

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 August 2014 03:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  24
Joined  2014-06-17

Addendum: I actually am using Bryce as a backdrop for 3D JWildfire which Andreas is just launching. The flame is created in JW, then exported to Fiji and followed with using a 3D software to create an environment. I chose Bryce Pro as I had it already downloaded a few months back. I had a play with it at that time but now I can really get in and ‘learn’ it. I have so enjoyed this learning curve and I just want to say that I am very grateful that I can get assistance here if I need it. So thanks again Horo for the patience and instruction!

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1
 
[ B&W in Bryce      Render time ]