Digital Art Zone

 
     
What video card ideal for vue?
Posted: 21 July 2012 07:55 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  717
Joined  2009-07-05

Hello,
I was looking at a page of description of video cards ideal for vue, but I confess I did not reach a consensus.
I’ve been thinking about a GTX460, but I’m uncertain ...
I think vue does not use video card to render (I’m right / or wrong?)
I think the video card will improve the interface and leave the work area vue lighter ... But I fear that I may be wrong.
Anyone here use vue, can help?
thank you

 Signature 

Casemod AKASA Eclipse 62 / intel i7 2600 / Asrock Z77 Pro3 / GTX titan /  Ram: 4x 8GB, Corsair XMS3 DDR3 = (32Gb) / 120GB Sandisk SSD / HDD 7200rpm 1T / CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900 LED blue / Power suply Corsair CX 750w (80 plus bronze)

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2012 04:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  144
Joined  2006-01-22

You’re right, the video card isn’t used for rendering, just for the display window.

The one you mention is in there list of supported cards, so don’t think you could go wrong with that.


My card isn’t supported, but i just have to work with lower settings, And Vue still does a good job smile.


Grtz Jean-Claude

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2012 06:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7682
Joined  2009-05-14

Try this http://www.e-onsoftware.com/support/f.a.q/?page=vue10completeFAQ#a14 scroll down a bit for a list of recommended cards

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2012 07:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  197
Joined  2004-10-09

Hello!
I am using Vue Infinite for many years and had always good luck with nVidia cards. Currently I am running a GTX460 with 1 Gb memory and it works quite well. I can recommend this card.

The others are correct, Vue does use the graphics card primarily for display purposes. However, a good card is important to be able to preview the layout of ecosystems and so on. Vue Infinite can also use the card for hardware assisted anti-aliasing to improve rendering quality/speed.
Ciao
TD

 Signature 

I reject your Reality and substitute my Vue!
Check my gallery at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2012 08:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  303
Joined  2003-10-09

I had a pair of ASUS 470’s in my machine— they run very hot and were pretty noisy.  The 500 or 600 series run cooler and more quiet.  I have EVGA 570s in my machine now and I’m really happy with them.

 Signature 

Songbird ReMix.comSongbird ReMix Merchandise | SBRM Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2012 08:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  717
Joined  2009-07-05

Hmm! Thanks for the replies!
is that I’m using a Nvidia GT9500 in poser pro, and when I click on Poser scenes with many items, the work area is too heavy to animate. The scenes go on starts when pulled by the mouse.
I can not buy vue infinite now, I buy vue “complete” later this month.
However, vue has complete output of the animation in 1920, only;
I was wondering: Is there some trick to make complete vue export animations above 1920 resolution?
For example: I saw that vue complete, render images with unlimited size, then ... Would if I set an animation to render in vue in sequence of pictures (jpeg), to put it together in a video editor?
Work?

 Signature 

Casemod AKASA Eclipse 62 / intel i7 2600 / Asrock Z77 Pro3 / GTX titan /  Ram: 4x 8GB, Corsair XMS3 DDR3 = (32Gb) / 120GB Sandisk SSD / HDD 7200rpm 1T / CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900 LED blue / Power suply Corsair CX 750w (80 plus bronze)

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2012 10:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  197
Joined  2004-10-09
jorge dorlando - 22 July 2012 08:57 AM

Hmm! Thanks for the replies!
is that I’m using a Nvidia GT9500 in poser pro, and when I click on Poser scenes with many items, the work area is too heavy to animate. The scenes go on starts when pulled by the mouse.
I can not buy vue infinite now, I buy vue “complete” later this month.
However, vue has complete output of the animation in 1920, only;
I was wondering: Is there some trick to make complete vue export animations above 1920 resolution?
For example: I saw that vue complete, render images with unlimited size, then ... Would if I set an animation to render in vue in sequence of pictures (jpeg), to put it together in a video editor?
Work?

The faster the graphics card and the more memory it has, the more fluent your interface will be. Something like a GTX460 or better is a good investment. Vue also allows you to adapt the display to the scene. In heavy scenes I will usually reduce the detail a bit and lower texture resolution.

Vue Infinite does not limit the animation size, but you also will need some very serious computation power if you want to render as large as 1920 or larger. depending on what you render, Frame times will easily end up at many minutes or even hours. Unless you have access to a render farm, you will have a hard time finishing anything that large. As an example check out my animation at deviantArt. This flyover of 1 minute of animation at 24 frames per second used a rendering time of about 6 days with frames taking between 8 and 15 minutes to finish depending on the amount of fog and detail.This is with 1280*720 per frame on a quadcore i7930. Animation Link

You can see some more examples on my Youtube channel.

As for circumventing the limit by rendering to image files, that should be possible, but you would need to forward the frames manually, making it very tedious and not really practical.

Ciao
TD

 Signature 

I reject your Reality and substitute my Vue!
Check my gallery at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2012 01:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  717
Joined  2009-07-05

This is a dilemma ...
Vue Infinite, is a bit above what I pay;
vue complete, this I can pay for it, and spare cash, I can pay for a GTX460.
I have a computer with a processor phenomII x6 1090t/8gigas memories of ram / 64 bit win7.
I’m looking at a computer in Brazil to buy:
intel core i7 2600/8gigas of memories /
I intend to render animations from poser pro, vue in using two computers.
The problem that I think de vue complete, is only the limit of resolution is only 1920 ‘.
I may have to stop buying something in order to pay for vue infinity ... If at least eon send discount coupons, or promotions, greatly facilitate.

 Signature 

Casemod AKASA Eclipse 62 / intel i7 2600 / Asrock Z77 Pro3 / GTX titan /  Ram: 4x 8GB, Corsair XMS3 DDR3 = (32Gb) / 120GB Sandisk SSD / HDD 7200rpm 1T / CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900 LED blue / Power suply Corsair CX 750w (80 plus bronze)

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2012 05:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  717
Joined  2009-07-05

Well ... A DVD entertainment, today is the maximum resolution that now?

 Signature 

Casemod AKASA Eclipse 62 / intel i7 2600 / Asrock Z77 Pro3 / GTX titan /  Ram: 4x 8GB, Corsair XMS3 DDR3 = (32Gb) / 120GB Sandisk SSD / HDD 7200rpm 1T / CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900 LED blue / Power suply Corsair CX 750w (80 plus bronze)

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2012 05:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  197
Joined  2004-10-09
jorge dorlando - 22 July 2012 05:02 PM

Well ... A DVD entertainment, today is the maximum resolution that now?

Standard DVD resolution is much lower than 1920 width. It is 720 × 576 or 720 × 480 depending on the frame rate which in turn depends on the scanning rate of the attached TV system (50 or 60 Hz). Blueray goes to higher resolution up to 1280×720 and 1920×1080.

If you want to render for use on DVD or Blueray you do not need anything more than Vue Complete which can go to 1920 widths.
Ciao
TD

 Signature 

I reject your Reality and substitute my Vue!
Check my gallery at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2012 05:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  717
Joined  2009-07-05
thd777 - 22 July 2012 05:18 PM
jorge dorlando - 22 July 2012 05:02 PM

Well ... A DVD entertainment, today is the maximum resolution that now?

Standard DVD resolution is much lower than 1920 width. It is 720 × 576 or 720 × 480 depending on the frame rate which in turn depends on the scanning rate of the attached TV system (50 or 60 Hz). Blueray goes to higher resolution up to 1280×720 and 1920×1080.

If you want to render for use on DVD or Blueray you do not need anything more than Vue Complete which can go to 1920 widths.
Ciao
TD

Wow! This is a good explanation! Now yes, this clarified.
Thank you!
I am sure now that vue complete, suits my needs.
Now ... I think your video is 24 frames per second (sorry if I’m wrong)
24 or 25 or 30 frames per second ... It is free to choose frames per second?

 Signature 

Casemod AKASA Eclipse 62 / intel i7 2600 / Asrock Z77 Pro3 / GTX titan /  Ram: 4x 8GB, Corsair XMS3 DDR3 = (32Gb) / 120GB Sandisk SSD / HDD 7200rpm 1T / CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900 LED blue / Power suply Corsair CX 750w (80 plus bronze)

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2012 07:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  197
Joined  2004-10-09
jorge dorlando - 22 July 2012 05:57 PM
thd777 - 22 July 2012 05:18 PM
jorge dorlando - 22 July 2012 05:02 PM

Well ... A DVD entertainment, today is the maximum resolution that now?

Standard DVD resolution is much lower than 1920 width. It is 720 × 576 or 720 × 480 depending on the frame rate which in turn depends on the scanning rate of the attached TV system (50 or 60 Hz). Blueray goes to higher resolution up to 1280×720 and 1920×1080.

If you want to render for use on DVD or Blueray you do not need anything more than Vue Complete which can go to 1920 widths.
Ciao
TD

Wow! This is a good explanation! Now yes, this clarified.
Thank you!
I am sure now that vue complete, suits my needs.
Now ... I think your video is 24 frames per second (sorry if I’m wrong)
24 or 25 or 30 frames per second ... It is free to choose frames per second?

For DVD the frame rate depends on the scanning frequency of the TV system used which is region specific. The two main ones are 25 frames per second, interlaced (commonly used in regions with 50 Hz image scanning frequency) and At 29.97 frames per second, interlaced (commonly used in regions with 60 Hz image scanning frequency). Keep in mind that you can adjust this when you master the final DVD video in a video editing program. I use Sony Vegas or Adobe After Effects but there are others.
In any case it is best to render to an image sequence and then master the video in an editing program. That way it is easier to recover from crashes during rendering and to replace frames with problems.
Ciao
TD

Edit to add: For web video like my example the frame rate is not critical as long as it looks good. Mine was 24 frames per second.

 Signature 

I reject your Reality and substitute my Vue!
Check my gallery at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2012 08:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  717
Joined  2009-07-05

Hmm, thanks!
that’s all I needed to know!

 Signature 

Casemod AKASA Eclipse 62 / intel i7 2600 / Asrock Z77 Pro3 / GTX titan /  Ram: 4x 8GB, Corsair XMS3 DDR3 = (32Gb) / 120GB Sandisk SSD / HDD 7200rpm 1T / CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900 LED blue / Power suply Corsair CX 750w (80 plus bronze)

 

Profile