Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 2
2
NightClub Row
Posted: 06 August 2014 02:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1184
Joined  2005-04-12

Have you considered releasing some of the sets as products?

I have a feeling it won’t be too long to wait now…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2014 03:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  476
Joined  2013-03-20
PhilW - 06 August 2014 02:27 AM

Have you considered releasing some of the sets as products?

I have a feeling it won’t be too long to wait now…

Yeah… that’s a great idea! Interesting sets are always in demand.

Just curious, what is your CPU setup… must be powerful or do you have several going at once?

xx smile  Silene

 

 Signature 

Do I look like my avatar? No, that was 30 years ago!
Ah, but I was so much older then I’m younger than that now.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2014 03:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  618
Joined  2009-12-08
PhilW - 06 August 2014 02:27 AM

Have you considered releasing some of the sets as products?

I have a feeling it won’t be too long to wait now…

I can’t really, it’s a mixture of kit bashing plus my own models.

In the future I could just start from scratch and build some similar ones with my own textures. I’m not sure how it all works selling wise.

 Signature 

More 3D info and Pics at http://www.facebook.com/scififunk

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2014 03:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  618
Joined  2009-12-08
SileneUK - 06 August 2014 03:05 AM

Just curious, what is your CPU setup… must be powerful or do you have several going at once?

xx smile  Silene

 

It’s just a bog standard i7 machine, with 8GB of memory. I’ve spent out on the power supply (850W) and the graphics cards (about £750 combined), but they are not used by carrara.

The “secret” if you like is to kit bash and remove anything not seen. Most of the commercial models (which are wonderful and I’m grateful for them - even if my bank bal has suffered), are not built for combining into big scenes - so you have to strip bits out.

Then I made my own figures which I describe in detail in my tutorials - that’s a life saver for those large populated scenes.

 

 Signature 

More 3D info and Pics at http://www.facebook.com/scififunk

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2014 04:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  618
Joined  2009-12-08

I don’t think I’ve shared this image with you all.

The level 21 lobby.

Image Attachments
lobby_large_comp_00000.jpg
 Signature 

More 3D info and Pics at http://www.facebook.com/scififunk

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2014 05:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  63
Joined  2013-04-12

Awesome work sir, you’re a great inspiration.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2014 06:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  618
Joined  2009-12-08
DADA_universe - 06 August 2014 05:53 AM

Awesome work sir, you’re a great inspiration.

Many thanks DADA. Working on the “Entertainment Complex” now.

 Signature 

More 3D info and Pics at http://www.facebook.com/scififunk

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2014 07:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1184
Joined  2005-04-12

Man, that looks crowded!  I noticed some duplication of figures, and can recommend Sparrowhawke’s Instance Randomizer (free!) to add different colors to items of clothing to help avoid any obvious duplication.  Set up a gradient of potential colors and then use the Randomizer to pick a color from that range, different for each instance.

Octane has recently introduced a similar feature in its shader set, so you will be able to use this approach when you move to Octane too!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2014 07:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  618
Joined  2009-12-08
PhilW - 06 August 2014 07:11 AM

Octane has recently introduced a similar feature in its shader set, so you will be able to use this approach when you move to Octane too!

I didn’t know that. Thanks for the tip, will do.

 

 Signature 

More 3D info and Pics at http://www.facebook.com/scififunk

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2014 07:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1184
Joined  2005-04-12
Sci Fi Funk - 06 August 2014 07:33 AM
PhilW - 06 August 2014 07:11 AM

Octane has recently introduced a similar feature in its shader set, so you will be able to use this approach when you move to Octane too!

I didn’t know that. Thanks for the tip, will do.

It is called Random Color in Octane - but you can apply it to any channel, not just the diffuse color.  It works in a very similar way to Sparrowhawke’s Instance Randomizer in its “Value” mode.  If you want something like the Boolean mode in Sparrowhawke’s plugin, you can do this using “Random Color” to pick from a gradient which is divided into pure black and pure white regions, so the result is “On” or “Off”, useful for applying to the Opacity channel to turn objects (or parts of objects) on or off randomly for each instance. So for example, if you had a figure with a hat, you could set it up so that some instances had the hat, and on some it was invisible, and where it is visible, have it in different colors on each instance. It all helps avoid any obvious repetition.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2014 08:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  618
Joined  2009-12-08

PhilW - many thanks - I’ve screen printed that so I don’t forget it when the time comes.

 Signature 

More 3D info and Pics at http://www.facebook.com/scififunk

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 2
2