Digital Art Zone

 
     
dissapearing tabs
Posted: 21 July 2012 06:09 PM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1333
Joined  2003-10-09

I have my Windows 7 64-bit PC set up with the main studio window on the left monitor and a lot of tabs on the right monitor.  Every so often when I start DAZ Studio, all the tabs on the right monitor are gone.  I have to open them again, and they start out at the small default size.  Any idea what I might be doing to trigger this, if anything?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 July 2012 09:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

DS stores the layout you have at close. And then opens with the same Tabs ect…

Is this what you are seeing? If you Close a window it’s gone, if you leave one open its still open. That’s what I see every time. I have to set it to what I expect before I shut down.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2012 07:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1333
Joined  2003-10-09

I am not closing the second window with the tabs in it.  When I exit DAZ Studio, I close the main window.  The tabs in the second window return on startup most of the time, usually for weeks or months before it suddenly resets.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2012 07:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8425
Joined  2007-11-06

Save your layout so that you can easily restore it when this happens.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2012 11:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

That has happended to me before, I did not understand untill you said it works for awhile and then just disappears. I do as Fixmypcmike says and even copy a backup of the layout file to another folder. I have had my setups get randomly replaced with the setup at close. I think it happens during large file saves but I can not prove it.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 July 2012 05:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1333
Joined  2003-10-09

Thanks, I’ll start saving my layout for quick recovery until I can find out for sure what’s causing this and resolve it.

Profile