Digital Art Zone

 
     
Please Help. I have problems with Norton quarentining downloads
Posted: 21 July 2012 07:06 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2006-08-25

I don’t know if anyone has had this kind of problem before.

Since I upgraded my norton to Norton Premium 360 Edition I have had problems with it sending my downloads to the quarentine bin. When I go into actions to bring them back they seem to disappear. I was wondering if anyone else has had this problem and how to fix it?

Also

How do I get only PC downloads instead of both PC & Mac? I am having troubles finding where the settings are to change it.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 July 2012 07:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1775
Joined  2007-12-10

Sorry can’t help with your Norton problem, but the downloads one should be simple enough.
When you log in to your Daz account and go to the downloads available page, you will see a list of available files.
Only click the ones that end with PC (I’ve ringed it in green below) and ignore the ones that end with Mac (I’ve ringed it in red below)

Hope this helps.

Image Attachments
Download-Page.jpg
 Signature 

I’ve got nothing of my own to promote, no models, no tutorials, no website, nothin’, nada, nill, nowt.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 July 2012 07:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  267
Joined  2011-05-02

First off I do not use Norton for that reason, I find it just takes over everything and can be a real pain.
I use Windows Security Essentials from Microsoft and Comodo Anti Virus, both free, I use two as I understand how to control them and switch them on and off as needed.

As with all Anti Virus Software though there will be options to tell it what to do, in your case not to send downloads to the quarantine bin it is just a matter of reading the instructions.
Good luck with that, Norton has a reputation to say the least.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 July 2012 09:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17062
Joined  2003-10-09

A lot of people are reporting having this problem with Norton.  Apparently Norton does this with every file it doesn’t deem to have been downloaded enough. To me this seems somewhat stupid on 2 fronts. One, any new products are not going to have sufficent downloads to get through this criteria, and two, is this a good way to decide which files are good or bad. That of course is just my opinion.

Edited to add that the reason there is no way to sort the downloads to just show PC or Mac downloads is because Daz3D are in the process of changing over to zip files for all downloads. Once this is completed there will only be the one download, which will work for both platforms.

So this probelem will go away in time, as they get the conversions done.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 July 2012 10:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16403
Joined  2009-01-22

It is a known Norton issue. You should be able to recover the files if you can not something is wrong. You can also set Norton to ignore this type of file.

But I will say this, after 20 downloads or so Norton no longer sees my files as having any issues. It will clear up if you just keep removing the files from quarintine and restoring them to your drive.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 July 2012 10:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7972
Joined  2006-03-19

That’s one of the reasons I quit using Norton. It through up false positives all the time. We had a hard time running some of our programs cause it looked at them as potential viruses.

 Signature 

ARTCollaborations Store on DAZ3D    ARTCollaborations on Facebook

*****Ravenwood Cemetery*****  

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 July 2012 11:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  211
Joined  2004-09-27

I had this problem yesterday. I just turned off download intelligence until it was done installing and then turned it back on.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 July 2012 09:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2006-08-25

Thanks for the advice. I’ll take on board the suggestions and see what I can do with it. Norton crashed on me last night too and I had to do a fix on it so I think this is the last time I use norton. *sigh*

Profile