Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Animation tuts?
Posted: 20 July 2012 06:18 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  90
Joined  2009-07-07

I am having some troubles with animation in Bryce, can someone suggest or direct me to so tutorials on animating and rendering out the movies please?

Thanks in advance

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 July 2012 06:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1592
Joined  2007-12-10

One of the tutorial guys will be along soon enough.
What issues were you having though? It would help a lot to know as animation can be complex and various tutorials will cover different aspects..

 Signature 

I’ve got nothing of my own to promote, no models, no tutorials, no website, nothin’, nada, nill, nowt.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 July 2012 10:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  103
Joined  2011-02-06

http://www.robinwood.com/Catalog/Technical/BryceTuts/BryceClasses/IBryce1/IBryceLesson1-1.html

i don’t know if Bryce Artist Guide or how much is treating the animation subject but take a look on the official guide too.

 Signature 

“If the facts don’t fit the theory, change the facts..” LOL
( Albert Einstein )

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 July 2012 02:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  927
Joined  2003-10-09

Did you look at that link to numberous tutorials I gave you in the other thread about the problems you were having transfering a scene from studio?


http://www.bryce-tutorials.info/bryce-tutorials.html


It has

How to Use Bryce : Doing Basic Animation in Bryce


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O_-Fa7a3d90&feature=plcp


Intermediate Bryce 5 - Lesson One, Animation Basics


http://www.robinwood.com/Catalog/Technical/BryceTuts/BryceClasses/IBryce1/IBryceLesson1-1.html


Intermediate Bryce 5 - Lesson Two, Continuing Animation


http://www.robinwood.com/Catalog/Technical/BryceTuts/BryceClasses/IBryce2/IBryceLesson2-1.html


Bryce #02: Beginning Animation


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8WYg1swDORI&list=PL9580B6A57092DEDB&index=2&feature=plpp_video


Bryce #11: Animation Part II (Working with the Camera)


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kImbxrWu37A&list=PL9580B6A57092DEDB&index=11&feature=plpp_video


Beginner Level Keyframe Animation


http://www.video-tutes.com/Tute_details_1526.htm


Add Multi-Replicate to Keyframe Animation


http://www.video-tutes.com/Tute_details_1527.htm


Create and Animate a Tunnel


http://www.video-tutes.com/Tute_details_1531.htm


There are probably a few others without obvious titles but I just looked for the ones that mentioned animation in the title.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 July 2012 04:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  90
Joined  2009-07-07
LordHardDriven - 20 July 2012 02:58 PM

Did you look at that link to numberous tutorials I gave you in the other thread about the problems you were having transfering a scene from studio?


http://www.bryce-tutorials.info/bryce-tutorials.html


It has

How to Use Bryce : Doing Basic Animation in Bryce


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O_-Fa7a3d90&feature=plcp


Intermediate Bryce 5 - Lesson One, Animation Basics


http://www.robinwood.com/Catalog/Technical/BryceTuts/BryceClasses/IBryce1/IBryceLesson1-1.html


Intermediate Bryce 5 - Lesson Two, Continuing Animation


http://www.robinwood.com/Catalog/Technical/BryceTuts/BryceClasses/IBryce2/IBryceLesson2-1.html


Bryce #02: Beginning Animation


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8WYg1swDORI&list=PL9580B6A57092DEDB&index=2&feature=plpp_video


Bryce #11: Animation Part II (Working with the Camera)


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kImbxrWu37A&list=PL9580B6A57092DEDB&index=11&feature=plpp_video


Beginner Level Keyframe Animation


http://www.video-tutes.com/Tute_details_1526.htm


Add Multi-Replicate to Keyframe Animation


http://www.video-tutes.com/Tute_details_1527.htm


Create and Animate a Tunnel


http://www.video-tutes.com/Tute_details_1531.htm


There are probably a few others without obvious titles but I just looked for the ones that mentioned animation in the title.


Through those links you gave me in the other thread I did manage to sort out most of the problems with transferring from D/S to Bryce.

I have looked a while ago at a tutorial or two regarding animating in Bryce but having troubles especially rendering out the actual movie.

  Thank you for the above links, will go through them, and work on the rendering again, if I still have the problem will come back and ask again..

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 July 2012 03:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  90
Joined  2009-07-07

Need to make a small apology, I am not having so much trouble with the actual animation, I have done a little bit (am working on more)
my troubles are the actual rendering of an animation,

Below is a pic of the end result of a render to AVI, it is black and white and has some crazy clipping and angle, it takes about 2 hours and this is the end result and they always come out like this, I use the default settings .
What am I missing ?

I also tried rendering to BMP Sequence but I then have an issue in how do I join them to make a movie ?  that is why I was asking about tutorials, I think I saw somewhere this particular tutorial showing what to do with the images to create a reasonable video clip.

I am attempting something which I may need help on in the future smile

Thanks in advance

Image Attachments
Bryce-error.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 July 2012 05:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1592
Joined  2007-12-10

Could you post a screen grab of your animation render settings. It would help a lot.

Your result isn’t something I’ve ever seen before, but I always output animation to Quicktime files. grin

 Signature 

I’ve got nothing of my own to promote, no models, no tutorials, no website, nothin’, nada, nill, nowt.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 July 2012 05:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  90
Joined  2009-07-07
TheSavage64 - 21 July 2012 05:03 AM

Could you post a screen grab of your animation render settings. It would help a lot.

Your result isn’t something I’ve ever seen before, but I always output animation to Quicktime files. grin

Hi MAte
every animation render I have done has always come out like that.
Is this the settings you mean?

Image Attachments
animation_settings.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 July 2012 06:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1592
Joined  2007-12-10

Hi. Well that’s a start.
What do the settings look like if you click the EDIT button?
Also, I don’t know if it will be relevant but what video editing software are you putting the clips together in?
From what I see on your still from your animation, it almost looks like the same kind of thing you used to get on old videos if you tried to play a PAL video on an NTSC system, so I was just wondering if you needed a different codec.

One thing you could try in Bryce is the ‘Preview Animation’ button. But I guess that if you just render a single frame, it looks OK and this problem is only when you actually render the animation to AVI file… Which would have to be either the animation render settings or your editing/viewing software not fully understanding the file correctly.

Image Attachments
Animate-Preview.jpg
Preview-Frames.jpg
 Signature 

I’ve got nothing of my own to promote, no models, no tutorials, no website, nothin’, nada, nill, nowt.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 July 2012 06:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  90
Joined  2009-07-07
TheSavage64 - 21 July 2012 06:14 AM

Hi. Well that’s a start.
What do the settings look like if you click the EDIT button?
Also, I don’t know if it will be relevant but what video editing software are you putting the clips together in?
From what I see on your still from your animation, it almost looks like the same kind of thing you used to get on old videos if you tried to play a PAL video on an NTSC system, so I was just wondering if you needed a different codec.

One thing you could try in Bryce is the ‘Preview Animation’ button. But I guess that if you just render a single frame, it looks OK and this problem is only when you actually render the animation to AVI file… Which would have to be either the animation render settings or your editing/viewing software not fully understanding the file correctly.

At the moment I am not using anything to put the clips together, and with the AVI rendering Kantaris media player is the program that opens when the rendering is finished.
I will setup and render the avi again, but this is the settings you asked for

Image Attachments
animsettings.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 July 2012 06:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1592
Joined  2007-12-10

Yes, that’s the one thanks.
OK, you may realise I’m working blind here, because I use Bryce on a Mac so there are no AVI output settings on my system.
What I really needed to see were the compression options you have with AVI.

Also, Do you have the very latest version of Kantaris?
Apparently earlier versions were very ‘buggy’, not that I’m trying to shift the blame or anything, but it’s always better to rule these things out as we go.

How big is your original .avi animation file size?

Could you take a frame from halfway through your animation and render it as a single still (.jpg) so we can rule out that the problem is in your render quality settings.

Sorry for all the questions, but unless someone comes along who’s seen this before and knows the solution, we are going to have to just rule stuff out until we find the problem. grin

 Signature 

I’ve got nothing of my own to promote, no models, no tutorials, no website, nothin’, nada, nill, nowt.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 July 2012 08:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  90
Joined  2009-07-07
TheSavage64 - 21 July 2012 06:54 AM

Yes, that’s the one thanks.
OK, you may realise I’m working blind here, because I use Bryce on a Mac so there are no AVI output settings on my system.
What I really needed to see were the compression options you have with AVI.

Also, Do you have the very latest version of Kantaris?
Apparently earlier versions were very ‘buggy’, not that I’m trying to shift the blame or anything, but it’s always better to rule these things out as we go.

How big is your original .avi animation file size?

Could you take a frame from halfway through your animation and render it as a single still (.jpg) so we can rule out that the problem is in your render quality settings.

Sorry for all the questions, but unless someone comes along who’s seen this before and knows the solution, we are going to have to just rule stuff out until we find the problem. grin

I have been doing a little investigating, something you said in your previous post “tried to play a PAL video on an NTSC system, so I was just wondering if you needed a different codec.  , also about having the latest version of Kantaris.
I re rendered the AVI, and opened it in different programmes,
It works ok in
DivX Player
Irfanview
Media Player
Quicktime
Realplayer

But after checking the latest versions, it doesn’t work in
Kantaris
VLC
So I assume its either something to do with codecs (which is a little over my head) or just that these 2 programmes don’t work with this files,.

But will do some more investigating

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 July 2012 03:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  249
Joined  2005-09-28

Looks like a codec problem.

I’ve seen this problem before in VLC, but this is the first I’ve heard of your Kantaris app. I’m not sure what the problem is: it could be that Bryce’s AVI algorithm is very old and not keeping up with later playback options, or the reverse: Kantaris and VLC are no longer supporting ‘straight’ AVI.


It’s not strictly the AVI format that’s at fault: basically, AVI is a sequential series of full, uncompressed screenshots. But many players these days might be looking for additional header information about the file that allows smoother playback.


Also, dimensions and compression may be a problem. The AVI format is fine, but is uncompressed, meaning you can be flicking a god-awful amount of pixel information at the screen per second, causing performance issues. Some players may be optimised to play footage at specific sizes and ratios. The common sizes are:

640 x 480px (SD, or VGA)
720 x 576px (PAL)
720 x 480px (NTSC)
640 x 360px (16:9, 360p)
852 x 480px (16:9, 480p)
1280 x 720 px (16:9, 720p)
1920 x 1080px (16:9, 1080p)

Try adjusting your doc size to 720p, see if that removes the problem.

 Signature 

Oroboros Presents… KEY-FLAME: Bryce Animation Tutorials

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 July 2012 03:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  90
Joined  2009-07-07
Oroboros - 26 July 2012 03:17 AM

Looks like a codec problem.

I’ve seen this problem before in VLC, but this is the first I’ve heard of your Kantaris app. I’m not sure what the problem is: it could be that Bryce’s AVI algorithm is very old and not keeping up with later playback options, or the reverse: Kantaris and VLC are no longer supporting ‘straight’ AVI.


It’s not strictly the AVI format that’s at fault: basically, AVI is a sequential series of full, uncompressed screenshots. But many players these days might be looking for additional header information about the file that allows smoother playback.


Also, dimensions and compression may be a problem. The AVI format is fine, but is uncompressed, meaning you can be flicking a god-awful amount of pixel information at the screen per second, causing performance issues. Some players may be optimised to play footage at specific sizes and ratios. The common sizes are:

640 x 480px (SD, or VGA)
720 x 576px (PAL)
720 x 480px (NTSC)
640 x 360px (16:9, 360p)
852 x 480px (16:9, 480p)
1280 x 720 px (16:9, 720p)
1920 x 1080px (16:9, 1080p)

Try adjusting your doc size to 720p, see if that removes the problem.

G’day from South Oz,

I will fire up the file again and follow your advice and change the do size, If I can’t find the file I will run another one..

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 July 2012 02:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  249
Joined  2005-09-28

...So how’d it go?

 Signature 

Oroboros Presents… KEY-FLAME: Bryce Animation Tutorials

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 August 2012 03:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  90
Joined  2009-07-07
Oroboros - 31 July 2012 02:42 PM

...So how’d it go?

Sorry for not getting back sooner, I have been tinkering with producing Anaglyph images as well, also tried to get my head around the DTE but I think that has me beaten.

I followed your suggestion and reduced the size of the document for the animation, I had it set to maximum, but changed it to 720 X 421, then re rendered the animation, it worked.

Kantaris Media player opened and the AVI was OK, I ran it a couple of times, I even closed the player down and clicked on the file itself and it opened up and played ok, I then opened it up in VLC Player (the other player that gave me issues) and it worked as well.

So reducing the document size removes the issues, your the animation guru, does this give any inkling as to the problem?

Now I can work on a better animation now.

 

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1