Digital Art Zone

 
   
5 of 9
5
List Your Carrara Issues Here
Posted: 06 August 2014 10:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 61 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2013-08-13

My biggest issue with Carrara right now is getting Daz content to load a change of texturing or shading.  Example:  Daz Dragon 3 (one of my most recent purchases was the pro bundle and the Asain Dragon add-on, not the only content I have this issue with, too many examples in clothing to list).  The models themselves look incredible, but I cannot change the color of the dragons.  An error occurs whenever I try to drag and drop any of the textures.  I can of course use the shader options to change the textures of the dragons, except, when the entire dragon “skin” is in one image file.  Then I get the entire skin stretched to fit over the head, wings, etc.  Needless to say it’s frustrating spending $100-ish dollars on content for use in a $300-ish program and having that content not work.

My second issue is with the auto fit options with Genesis (and G2).  Most of the time I have to load the item separately into the scene, then apply the “auto-fit” option to the desired figure, then parent it to the figure, but only in certain locations within the tree.  Otherwise, I end up with hair deeply embedded into heads, or clothes that fit every morph I have hidden within the body.  (Edit: More often than not, dragging and dropping items onto a figure just loads the item “over” the figure and doesn’t auto-fit the item to the figure it’s parented to…)

Issue three, purchased items routinely create a file location in the content menu, yet, through the content menu, the folder doesn’t contain anything.  Granted, this primarily happens with V4 and M4 “specific” products, but money spent on invisible items makes me feel like “The Sucker of the Day.”

For the most part I truly enjoy my Carrara 8.5 Pro.  When things work, they work amazingly well (for me anyway, not even a year into my C8.5 ownership and 3D art) and I have very few complaints.  I do think it would be nice of Daz to make everything that works in Daz work in Carrara…  After all, the majority of us Carrara users spent quite a bit of money on their program…  And unless I’m mistaken, Daz Studio and Carrara are made by the same people…  Shouldn’t the product be fairly universal?

 Signature 

-PX-

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2014 11:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 62 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6119
Joined  2006-08-27
pxhero - 06 August 2014 10:15 AM

....For the most part I truly enjoy my Carrara 8.5 Pro.  When things work, they work amazingly well (for me anyway, not even a year into my C8.5 ownership and 3D art) and I have very few complaints.  I do think it would be nice of Daz to make everything that works in Daz work in Carrara…  After all, the majority of us Carrara users spent quite a bit of money on their program…  And unless I’m mistaken, Daz Studio and Carrara are made by the same people…  Shouldn’t the product be fairly universal?

 

The crib-notes version of why there are incompatibilities between DAZ Studio and Carrara:

DAZ 3D started out making 3D models for Poser. A few years ago, Poser was in limbo, so DAZ started developing their own Poser style program, which was DAZ Studio. DAZ Studio was developed in-house so that DAZ could continue to have a market and sell the virtual dolls that constitute the lions share of their business.

Raydream Studio was started w-a-a-y back in the early nineties and went through a couple owners. It ended up with Meta-Creations which at the time also owned Bryce and Poser. All three were given the Kai interface treatment. More so to Bryce and Poser than Raydream. The dot-com bubble burst in the very late nineties and Meta-Creations pretty much folded it’s tents and sold off their 3D assets. Here’s where my memory gets a little fuzzy, but I think Eovia bought Raydream and also another 3D program (the name escapes me) and rolled them into one, which they called Carrara. They also either bought or developed Hexagon. I don’t know if they owned Bryce or not.

Eovia developed Carrara up to version 5 I believe, then they sold Carrara and Hexagon to DAZ 3D (and Bryce if they owned it). Carrara has been developed by DAZ 3D since version 6. There’s still a lot of the old code in it. Heck, there’s certain UI elements that I still recognize as being nearly unchanged going back to Raydream. DAZ 3D has been working on improving their figure compatibility with Carrara over the years, but the underlying code is different.

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2014 12:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 63 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2013-08-13

Thank you, evilproducer!  That helps me understand the issue better.  However, I would still like better cross-platform compatibility in the future.  I’m sure this has probably been an issue since 2007-ish (hasty Google searched the release of C6) when Daz took over production of Carrara…

 Signature 

-PX-

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2014 12:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 64 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6119
Joined  2006-08-27

I’m certainly not disagreeing with you. Just pointing out the origins of the problem.

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2014 12:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 65 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17085
Joined  2003-10-09
evilproducer - 06 August 2014 11:47 AM
pxhero - 06 August 2014 10:15 AM

....For the most part I truly enjoy my Carrara 8.5 Pro.  When things work, they work amazingly well (for me anyway, not even a year into my C8.5 ownership and 3D art) and I have very few complaints.  I do think it would be nice of Daz to make everything that works in Daz work in Carrara…  After all, the majority of us Carrara users spent quite a bit of money on their program…  And unless I’m mistaken, Daz Studio and Carrara are made by the same people…  Shouldn’t the product be fairly universal?

 

The crib-notes version of why there are incompatibilities between DAZ Studio and Carrara:

DAZ 3D started out making 3D models for Poser. A few years ago, Poser was in limbo, so DAZ started developing their own Poser style program, which was DAZ Studio. DAZ Studio was developed in-house so that DAZ could continue to have a market and sell the virtual dolls that constitute the lions share of their business.

Raydream Studio was started w-a-a-y back in the early nineties and went through a couple owners. It ended up with Meta-Creations which at the time also owned Bryce and Poser. All three were given the Kai interface treatment. More so to Bryce and Poser than Raydream. The dot-com bubble burst in the very late nineties and Meta-Creations pretty much folded it’s tents and sold off their 3D assets. Here’s where my memory gets a little fuzzy, but I think Eovia bought Raydream and also another 3D program (the name escapes me) and rolled them into one, which they called Carrara. They also either bought or developed Hexagon. I don’t know if they owned Bryce or not.

Eovia developed Carrara up to version 5 I believe, then they sold Carrara and Hexagon to DAZ 3D (and Bryce if they owned it). Carrara has been developed by DAZ 3D since version 6. There’s still a lot of the old code in it. Heck, there’s certain UI elements that I still recognize as being nearly unchanged going back to Raydream. DAZ 3D has been working on improving their figure compatibility with Carrara over the years, but the underlying code is different.

Ray Dream Studio an Specular’s Infini-D were what went to Eovia and became Carrara
Bryce went to Corel before coming to DAZ 3D

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2014 01:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 66 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6119
Joined  2006-08-27
chohole - 06 August 2014 12:49 PM
evilproducer - 06 August 2014 11:47 AM
pxhero - 06 August 2014 10:15 AM

....For the most part I truly enjoy my Carrara 8.5 Pro.  When things work, they work amazingly well (for me anyway, not even a year into my C8.5 ownership and 3D art) and I have very few complaints.  I do think it would be nice of Daz to make everything that works in Daz work in Carrara…  After all, the majority of us Carrara users spent quite a bit of money on their program…  And unless I’m mistaken, Daz Studio and Carrara are made by the same people…  Shouldn’t the product be fairly universal?

 

The crib-notes version of why there are incompatibilities between DAZ Studio and Carrara:

DAZ 3D started out making 3D models for Poser. A few years ago, Poser was in limbo, so DAZ started developing their own Poser style program, which was DAZ Studio. DAZ Studio was developed in-house so that DAZ could continue to have a market and sell the virtual dolls that constitute the lions share of their business.

Raydream Studio was started w-a-a-y back in the early nineties and went through a couple owners. It ended up with Meta-Creations which at the time also owned Bryce and Poser. All three were given the Kai interface treatment. More so to Bryce and Poser than Raydream. The dot-com bubble burst in the very late nineties and Meta-Creations pretty much folded it’s tents and sold off their 3D assets. Here’s where my memory gets a little fuzzy, but I think Eovia bought Raydream and also another 3D program (the name escapes me) and rolled them into one, which they called Carrara. They also either bought or developed Hexagon. I don’t know if they owned Bryce or not.

Eovia developed Carrara up to version 5 I believe, then they sold Carrara and Hexagon to DAZ 3D (and Bryce if they owned it). Carrara has been developed by DAZ 3D since version 6. There’s still a lot of the old code in it. Heck, there’s certain UI elements that I still recognize as being nearly unchanged going back to Raydream. DAZ 3D has been working on improving their figure compatibility with Carrara over the years, but the underlying code is different.

Ray Dream Studio an Specular’s Infini-D were what went to Eovia and became Carrara
Bryce went to Corel before coming to DAZ 3D

Thanks for clarifying that Chohole.

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2014 02:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 67 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  398
Joined  0

According to a post from Antoine Clappier, former CEO of Eovia:

“Fractal Design was in turn acquired by MetaTools
(Bryce, the KPTs). The combination of the two companies became
MetaCreations. Meanwhile MetaTools acquired Specular, the maker of
Infini-D.
MetaCreations having two similar products (Ray Dream and Infini-D)
decided to merge the two products and to create Carrara. In 1999,
MetaCreations acquired my company and I became in charge of Ray
Dream, Infini-D and Carrara (and moved from France to California)
Follows the “MetaCreations disaster”. To save Carrara, I founded
Eovia in 2000 with Arnaud Berry, Charles Brissart and Alexandre
Clappier.”

The entirety of his original post, which I believe was in the original DAZ forums, is lost to us since the forum archives went down. However a copy of his entire post detailing the Carrara timeline can still be found here:
http://www.polyloop.net/showthread.php/11210-Hexagon-update-news?p=126216&viewfull=1#post126216

 Signature 

-Dean

DAZ Gallery: http://www.daz3d.com/gallery/#users/1922/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2014 03:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 68 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6119
Joined  2006-08-27
de3an - 06 August 2014 02:17 PM

According to a post from Antoine Clappier, former CEO of Eovia:

“Fractal Design was in turn acquired by MetaTools
(Bryce, the KPTs). The combination of the two companies became
MetaCreations. Meanwhile MetaTools acquired Specular, the maker of
Infini-D.
MetaCreations having two similar products (Ray Dream and Infini-D)
decided to merge the two products and to create Carrara. In 1999,
MetaCreations acquired my company and I became in charge of Ray
Dream, Infini-D and Carrara (and moved from France to California)
Follows the “MetaCreations disaster”. To save Carrara, I founded
Eovia in 2000 with Arnaud Berry, Charles Brissart and Alexandre
Clappier.”

The entirety of his original post, which I believe was in the original DAZ forums, is lost to us since the forum archives went down. However a copy of his entire post detailing the Carrara timeline can still be found here:
http://www.polyloop.net/showthread.php/11210-Hexagon-update-news?p=126216&viewfull=1#post126216

Thanks. It’s a very interesting read.

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2014 03:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 69 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2013-08-13

I think I may have accidentally taken this topic, well, off topic…  So here is another issue I’ve run into with Carrara:

When loading a preset pose designed for and packaged with a figure onto said figure, (Example: “Xaio Mei” figure and “left hand hold parasol” pose) the hands are almost invariably contorted.

 Signature 

-PX-

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 August 2014 09:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 70 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6469
Joined  2007-12-04
pxhero - 06 August 2014 03:36 PM

I think I may have accidentally taken this topic, well, off topic…  So here is another issue I’ve run into with Carrara:

When loading a preset pose designed for and packaged with a figure onto said figure, (Example: “Xaio Mei” figure and “left hand hold parasol” pose) the hands are almost invariably contorted.

Hmmmm… odd. I’ve never had that. But I mainly use only DAZ figures… well… and a few other DAZ Published Artist’s figures, like Predatron’s Lowrez… they all load hand poses just right. I even used Poser to make my own hand poses. Works good. Just make the pose for one hand, and they software takes care of the ambidextrous part! wink

So De3an,
thanks for posting a link to that post from Antoine Clappier!
I just reposted the whole post Here, in Ringo’s History of Carrara thread… but it’s likely already been posted there… oh well. There twice now!

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 August 2014 03:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 71 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6119
Joined  2006-08-27
pxhero - 06 August 2014 03:36 PM

I think I may have accidentally taken this topic, well, off topic…  So here is another issue I’ve run into with Carrara:

When loading a preset pose designed for and packaged with a figure onto said figure, (Example: “Xaio Mei” figure and “left hand hold parasol” pose) the hands are almost invariably contorted.

No worries. Not your fault. I’ll accept full responsibility until I can find a way to blame Dart! wink

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 August 2014 09:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 72 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6469
Joined  2007-12-04

It probably IS my fault.

I babble so much I forget the topic I came in to talk about. Now… where was I? Oh yeah… Carrara grievances:

Man, The History of Carrara has reminded me of a real beef that I have with the last two versions of Carrara (8 and 8.5):

The promo page doesn’t even come close to representing the absolute, amazing limitless software that is Carrara - especially Carrara Pro!

Sure, a look at the Technical Specifications gives a fairly decent list of features and functions and What is Carrara? begins to tempt us about why one might form some interest, I really wish that there were some really clever highlights that go much further into detail. If you don’t want to clog up the main promo page, at least have a “What’s Inside” page with some tempting screenshots and diagrams showing off, at the very least:

*  The Ease of Use interface (it’s like Poser and Bryce, perfected!)

*  Meet the Carrara Plant Editor - with a brief illustration teasing with a peek at the various tweak rooms… truly amazing, all in its own right!

*  Ocean, Fire, Fog, Volumetric Clouds and other effects

*  Meet the Terrain Editor - show off the amazing Terrain Modeling page and its map editor

*  Meet the Modeling Rooms! - Show off the Spline, Vertex, and Metaball modeling rooms

*  Displacement painting in the Model Room and/or in the 3D Paint Tool!

*  3D Painting and UV Mapping, with UV Unfold

*  Delicious assortment of modifiers and constraints

*  Intuitive rigging - Add bones to anything and gain incredible control over what those bones do

*  Unlimited, yet incredibly easy-to-use Texture room - Shader Nodes are already set up by selecting “Multi-channel” - just fill in the blanks from a massive list from the drop-down. Animate nearly any aspect of any shader!

*  Flexible Particles System

*  Two Physics engines to choose from

*  (and this is a BIG one) Near perfect Poser compatibility! - Aside from some of the very latest Poser-only content, nearly everything made to work in Poser will work in Carrara. Even list the exceptions, like Lights and Cameras.

*  Newly implemented DAZ Studio compatibility - Use Carrara and DAZ Studio together to create new assets for the DS Triax Rigging!

*  Amazing Render Engines!

*  etc., etc.,

But these things are so fun and powerful that “Seeing” some of these processes in action images should really be shown.

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 August 2014 08:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 73 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1317
Joined  2003-10-09

I have another issue. Whether this is a Carrara issue or a published artist issue, it is a DAZ support of Carrara issue.  I have been trying to do a clean install of my Daz content on a new PC.  The DIM, which I have left on default as much as possible, has not been putting much of the Carrara content in the correct Carrara browser folders.  For example, Howie Farkes Country Lane 2 should go into the default scenes tab.  Instead, the DIM created a 2nd presets/scenes tab and placed it there.  I had to go back and find the folder manually and add it to my browser.  I have lots of other examples.  There is more at this thread.

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/44820/

File structure seems like the kind of thing that should be caught by the store staff as part of the basic screening process of making content available. 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 August 2014 04:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 74 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  53
Joined  0

I posted this a few years ago. The constraints could really be easier to manipulate.

These are just minor UI improvements to provide the user better feedback and make the elements easier to select.
1. Differentiate between the limits markers and position markers.
    - Limits markers are larger and always in back, so any marker can be selected even when overlapping.
2. The marker currently selected is highlighted (yellow). So you know which marker you’re typing in a position for.
3. The available range of motion is highlighted on the track:
    - If locked, nothing is highlighted
    - If limited, segment between limits is highlighted
    - If free, entire track is highlighted

The following are new features:
1. Lock Limits:
    - Once the limits are set, lock them to avoid accidentally moving them.
    - When limits are locked, only the smaller position marker can be moved.
2. Animate Limits:
    - In some cases, you want the limits to change over time, but in many cases you want the limits to remain constant. This would allow that and would function similar to the “Animate visibility” feature.

Switching constraint mode should preserve settings if at all possible. For example, going from slider to custom should preserve the position values and going from ball joint to custom should preserve the rotation values.

Image Attachments
constraints-revised.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 August 2014 03:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 75 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1317
Joined  2003-10-09

I installed C8.5, Daz Studio, etc. on a new windows 8.1 machine.  I have yet another problem.  Carrara is not remembering changes. For examples, I added an object and a shader folder to the browser (by the way, these are folders that the DIM created instead of putting the content in the correct place, aaargh).  I closed Carrara.  The next time I started a Carrara session, I had to add the folders again.  And again.  And again.  Along the same lines, Carrara is not remembering my Architools password.  I have to enter it every time.

Carrara was installed via the DIM, which was nstructed to install to my D: drive, rather tan my C: drive, to avoid this very problem.

Profile
 
 
   
5 of 9
5