Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 9
1
List Your Carrara Issues Here
Posted: 10 July 2014 06:50 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  123
Joined  2013-11-20

I have read here and other forums how people are having issues with C8.5, what issue(s) have you had/still having with it?

My reason behind this thread is to try and get Daz to notice us, although Carrara users may be a small group, we all still buy things that are not Carrara specific, and there have been a few things released by Daz lately that do not work in Carrara. We have paid for it it, so I do not see it as asking too much to have a fully working version.

My issues

When using either Genesis or Genesis 2, I will often get non informative error boxes pop up, the dreaded “An error has occurred while “insert reason here” ”

When using Genesis or Genesis 2 characters/clothing Carrara will crash to the desktop and I lose work, no warning, just straight to desktop.

I get an error when opening earlier versions of .car files from C8 or C8.1, again the error is NOT informative - “An error has occurred while opening/saving”


There were others but they dont seem to happen as much at this time, and before people say Genesis 2 ins’t supported and we have to wait for an updated version of Carrara, I know this, but how long do we have to wait, its not like Daz are the most forthcoming of companies in regards to information.

As I say this isn’t a thread to bash Daz, I just think it’s about time they took notice of their paying customers, the worse thing they did was remove the bug tracker, to me this is their way of hiding of which apps are not being worked on.

There are things I would like to buy, but without knowing they are supported and work, I am not going to take the chance, as I don’t see the point in buying things, finding out they don’t work and then having to go through support to get my money back.

I honestly do not think it is too much to ask that Daz communicate with us

Edit: okay seeing as some people seem to be confused, and seem to think that this is only for C8.5, IT IS FOR ANY CARRARA VERSION, just because I started off with saying 8.5 has issues I thought people would have understood by the title of the thread where it says CARRARA ISSUES

 Signature 

Visit me @ http://www.artistxinc.com

Only the savage regard the endurance of pain as the measure of worth. Forgetting pain is convenient. Remembering it, agonizing. But recovering the truth is worth the suffering

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2014 03:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6183
Joined  2007-12-04

I would love to see a bit more communication to us (the Carrara User Community) from DAZ 3D as well.

To add my initial two cents (USD) to this:

Genesis 1 & 2, Triax, and DS product compatibility with 8.5 -
I have been much slower on my purchases toward Genesis 2 (M & F) than I would be if we either received a Carrara 8.5 Update, or even just some communication lending word to the fact that such a thing is under progress.

In the same light, it has even slowed my workflow of Genesis and Genesis 2 almost entirely, which greatly affects my decision to make further Triax related purchases. One method I’ve used to counter this is to be sure that what I am buying works for Poser, not just DAZ Studio. Many of my friends have actually been purchasing more than ever from Renderosity and Runtime DNA, because of the fact that so many of the current releases here are for Genesis/Genesis 2.

Now the above was only mentioned to help to illustrate to DAZ 3D the importance of the points that IamArtistX was saying in regards to updates/communication.

As many of you know, I am a huge fan and supporter of DAZ 3D. This is not simply because I am a published artist here, but more that my being such a fan is why I am published here.

So I am not trying to bash DAZ 3D, even though I cannot help but to agree with those whom feel that the utter silence we get in this forum regarding updates and continued development of Carrara border-lining on shear rudeness from the developer.

Other Issues -
Aside from the above mentioned and aside from ‘requests’ for future features, I must say that I am really pleased with Carrara 8.5 Pro.

My biggest beef towards Carrara right now is only the fact that I’m not getting enough time to spend with it right now.
Man, if only I could get a few days, or even hours, to just lock myself in my study with my Carrara Pro machine running, and myself clicking away in my workflow. I have so many things on the work bench right now. Some are near completion, some are in the initial stages of development, and the rest falls somewhere in between. But to even have the time to sit back and work out a cool render would do me fine right now!

So once I get myself busy in Carrara again, maybe I’ll have some more to add to this. But with the top part of this post mentioned, I’m working mostly with Generation 4 figures and ‘Made-for Poser’ content to reduce headaches, and it works beautifully as always, but with the added benefits afforded with the new 8.5 fixes and enhancements. I do enjoy working with Genesis (1 & 2), and find the whole system of conforming items with them to be a stroke of genius. So if we would get an update for Carrara that brings us more up-to-speed with Genesis and Genesis 2 related issues, I would definitely be purchasing more from the latest product lines!

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2014 03:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16365
Joined  2003-10-09

WE have removed several posts from this thread in order to allow it to go back to it’s original purpose.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        October Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2014 04:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5690
Joined  2006-08-27
chohole - 10 July 2014 03:52 PM

WE have removed several posts from this thread in order to allow it to go back to it’s original purpose.

Edited.

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2014 04:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6183
Joined  2007-12-04
chohole - 10 July 2014 03:52 PM

WE have removed several posts from this thread in order to allow it to go back to it’s original purpose.

Good idea.
And without further fueling any of that, I truly hope that all of that cools down and returns to the love, fun, and ambition that we’ve all been sharing around here lately. I love this whole community… everyone.

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2014 05:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  438
Joined  2013-10-24

The thing that bugs me most is “an error occurred while saving this file” On a big scene, it can take 10, 15 minutes or even longer to save the .car file, especially if you put a genesis or two in it. Then after 15 minutes it throws up an error. It’s completely uninformative - it tells you nothing about what went wrong. So all you can do is try again and blindly hope that the next time, it works. And 15 minutes later…

I have said “words.” Words that are only understood by an Englishman or Joss Whedon.

It would be nice if DS textures/shaders worked out of the box, but that’s more of an inconvenience. The lack of support for Poser weight mapping is definitely a pain when it comes to 3rd party figures (Dawn for instance) And as for G2 not working properly… if Daz wants my money, they can fix it, but it’s not like there’s a shortage of other figures…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2014 05:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  123
Joined  2013-11-20

Ah yes, forgot about Dawn and her weight mapping, I remember you posting about it at hivewire now smile

As to Genesis, as I stated above due to the issues they have given me, I am still using Generation 4 models

 Signature 

Visit me @ http://www.artistxinc.com

Only the savage regard the endurance of pain as the measure of worth. Forgetting pain is convenient. Remembering it, agonizing. But recovering the truth is worth the suffering

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2014 07:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  572
Joined  2004-11-12

Good idea IamArtistX!
Chohole, I also like the idea of making this a sticky thread. That would keep it from getting lost. I can see several advantages to having it here, visibility to DAZ being the most important.

Only a couple of things come to mind right now.
The first one isn’t really a bug, but it sure can bug the heck out of anyone using Carrara. Could we please make “smapling” the default filtering for texture maps, or at least make this a user configurable option? IMHO the now default Fast Mip Map (it used to be sampling) degrades the render results too much. As a result, most textures on imported content (DS or Poser) this needs to be changed by the user to enable the texture maps to perform as designed.

Second, again, not a bug, rather more of an incomplete feature set. We need to be able to use Genesis, and Genesis 2 content as well in Carrara as it can be used in DS. Currently, things like the smoothing modifier and the push modifier are not available in Carrara. This makes using these figures much more problematic in Carrara.

A third issue - could we please get the shading list “window” in the materials room to stop re-setting to the top of the list every time a shader is selected. This is an extremely counter productive behavior when trying to edit the materials for objects with multiple material zones (i.e. some of StoneMasons scenes, V4, Genesis, Gs, etc.).

These are the things on the top of my list right now, and also some items that I think make Carrara a less desirable “upgrade” for DS and Poser users.

 Signature 

My Rendo Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2014 07:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  132
Joined  2011-02-05

My biggest whinge at the moment has to do with the DAZ CMS, which allows Carrara 8.5 to see all of the installed DAZ Studio Smart Content.

Well, it appears that we have been forgotten once again…......

I upgraded to the latest version of DAZ Studio Pro 4.6.3.52 and installed the PostgreSQL (PG) CMS. I did this primarily because of the flaky behaviour of the Valentina DB and the CMS service crashing, corrupting DB’s etc.

In my naiviety didn’t realise that installing the PG DB and uninstalling the Valentina DB/CMS would actually render Smart Content in Carrara not only useless but null and void as it does not even show up! Carrara initiates the DAZ Content Management Service on startup, looking for the Valentina DB and of course there is no data for it to find. Nor does it recognise the new PostgreSQL running (if it is indeed running, as it only does if DAZ and/or DIM are running, unlike the old versions using Valentina where the service ran all the time)......

Hope that make sense…..god knows I’m confused!!!

It is by no means a show stopper as I am able to see all of the installed content through Carrara’s Content Pane….....

But really, why?? Seriously folks, did know one at DAZ think this through for all users of their software, not just DAZ Studio users….???

 Signature 

My DAZ 3D Gallery
My DeviantArt Gallery
My Flickr Photostream
My DAZ 3D Cookbook
“Those are my principles, and if you don’t like them…well I have others.”

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2014 07:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7965
Joined  2009-07-13

rigging and weightpainting my own stuff is a task I am forced to do in C8.1 as C8.5 has the triax form and the animated pose of the figure does not stick when weightpainting in tbe vertex modeller, it reverts to default pose as you use the brush making selecting spiked vertex and wrongly assigned vertices impossible
if one could have the option of the simple weightpainting window found in C8.1 & below as well as the new triax it would make life much easier.
In fact it is often easier to rig in Daz studio for me now and I often do but not everyone wants to.

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2014 08:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  651
Joined  2007-05-26

Thanks to the great tutorial videos from Phil I think I finally know how I always lose my production frame and even better how to reset to it.
I use the 2D zoom and translate alot while working on a scene…. now I know that they are not part of the production camera movements you are looking thru and the production frame does not move with them.

Still I would like an option to make all cameras to become WYSIWYG even when using the 2D buttons.

 Signature 

If I want to be a fool then I will be a fool! That is my God given right as an American!

—- Jason from True Blood

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2014 09:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2109
Joined  2008-01-28
chohole - 10 July 2014 03:52 PM

WE have removed several posts from this thread in order to allow it to go back to it’s original purpose.

Gee, I wish you would let me read them before you remove them wink

Me, I don’t have any trouble with Carrara 8.5 because though I bought it, I still use 8.1 something.

Loading up Carrara 8.5 was like going to your favourite supermarket and finding out they stuck the salami where the bread used to be, put the ice-cream with the pizzas and coated all the aisles with polyunsaturated margarine.

The only trouble I have with 8.1 something is when I put a new vertex mesh in the vertex room, bang the plus sign a lot to get more polys, and then forget to click away from the mesh before I go back to the assembly room, then 100 percent of the time Carrara 8.1 something crashes.

As far as Carrara 9, I only hope and pray that the people who design it are people who actually use it on a day to day basis for practical things like making images and animations.

 Signature 

http://andrewfinnie.blogspot.com.au/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2014 09:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  211
Joined  2011-06-20

Render nodes need fixing for Mac OS 10.9; I have no idea about 10.10.  Submitted this way, way, way back in October…

There is also an NLA bug I submitted… occurs when following one of Mark Bremmer’s tutorials (which was done pre-10.9).

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 July 2014 12:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1118
Joined  2003-10-09

I agree with several others that this thread should be a sticky, or we should revive one of the previous incarnations and make it a sticky.  I am trying to remember some of the issues I have posted previously. 

One general issue, not necessarily a bug, is that Carrara should be able to export a DUF file that can be read by Daz Studio as long as Carrara’s special functions are not used. 

Here are two problems that I have had that do not appear to be general problems.  Instead, they seem to affect only some of us. 

In 8.5, I get an error when using the “convert to” modeler function.  I don’t get that error using 8.1.

In 8.5, the surface replication function does not honor exclusion zones painted black using Carrara’s 3D paint tool unless the map is first opened and saved using a 3rd party paint program.  I don’t have this problem with 8.1.

Edit:  I submitted this.  Request #177199

 

 

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 July 2014 12:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  438
Joined  2013-10-24

UV mapping needs fixing - submitted this way back when. It’s a right pain having to do a full unwrap just for a simple cylinder! Oh and while we’re at it, can we have an Atlas map? And a proper knife tool in the vertex modeller? And symmetry that works with more tools?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 July 2014 12:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6183
Joined  2007-12-04

Try closing the Volumetric Clouds molding room, and Carrara locks up. I know it’s a ‘known’ issue, but I would love to see that get fixed!

As for the “Fast Mip-Map” default texture mapping filter, perhaps the mapping filter default could be a selection option in preferences or have a “Set as Default” button added next to the field in the Texture Room would help to alleviate the issue, since some of us prefer the new mip-mapping over sampling?

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 9
1