Digital Art Zone

 
   
13 of 24
13
Daz Studio Basics 101. New Users help for starting with DS.
Posted: 28 August 2012 07:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 181 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7645
Joined  2009-05-14

Yes that is correct. You have the software all you need now is to learn how it to use it. Light Master just educates on type of lights and how to use them. It doesn’t show you how to use every peice of software out there becase they all pretty much work the same using basic principles. I would say Bryce is the exception.


I am not sure what you are after??

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 August 2012 08:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 182 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  100
Joined  2012-08-17

@ Szark thank you and you have just answered my question that is shall teach me about lighting and how to use them.
raspberry

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 August 2012 09:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 183 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7645
Joined  2009-05-14

LOL Nice. This is the first time I have recommended anything like Light Master as we all learn in different ways and I don’t want to have folks coming back saying it was a wsaste of money. But I will stand by what I said for the price I think it is worth it. You won’t learn about Daz Studio but will learn what how to liight scenes etc. What different types of lights there are and so on.

In Daz Studio we only have Spot, Distant, Point, Liner Point Area (mesh lights) and Uber Enviroment light. But more on those later.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 August 2012 09:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 184 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Wow!! You folks went to town on me. I so love seeing the thread being useful. I guess I should mention for new people that I live with a medical condition and must have Dialysis THREE times a week. I go on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays, Because of that I will be gone early Monday ect.. nights so I can go have my treatment. As you can see some one will pop in and help if they can.

I thank you all. Keep up the good work wiibb, I like your first render. I’ll never show my First.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 August 2012 09:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 185 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  100
Joined  2012-08-17

Hey Jaderail, it is not a problem and as you said I have been getting great advice all day from others raspberry such a great little community you guys have here raspberry
With my new found hobby Jaderail I am sure I will be here asking all sorts of questions as I develop with Daz and when I like something I really do like it and it become a passion of mine so I hope I do not go on and on all the time with questions LoL’ss….

Yes I have not purchased Light master Szark and will make a start on reading it later tonight when I have a little more free time on my hands….. Thank you for pointing me in the right direction of my education to lighting.

@ Jaderail, thank you about first render and hopefully in time they shall improve Hahahah maybe sooner than we think after I get through this lighting tutorials…
I hope you guys have a great and pleasant day.
//Handshake
raspberry

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 August 2012 11:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 186 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1732
Joined  2012-04-14
Szark - 28 August 2012 07:06 AM

wiibb check this out http://www.3dlightmaster.com/get_lightmaster/ for $47 not bad. No light sets included like the one in the Strore here.

Back in May he was selling the lightmaster class for $24 and I picked it up with the 3d pin up class for $37 back in july. So if anyone is interested in his stuff I’d recommend signing up to his mailing list and waiting until he has a another sale. These seem to be quite frequent. I believe if you get the free ebook from here you get added to the mailing list: http://www.basic3dtraining.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 September 2012 11:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 187 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Okay This thread Died, but I just posted two tips I must share with all new users so here we go.

This was about Hiding parts of items not Seen and why.

Tip for ALL: The hide parts not seen in the render is the way it should be done. Here is why. All items in your scene will have lighting and shadow calculations done, that includes all parts UNDER clothing or not in the Render Viewport. That forces RAM to be used to do the calculations for the light(s) on the Diffuse map (texture you see) and all shadows on all Transparency Maps (the parts that are removed in things like Hair or plants), remember that includes items you will never see in the finished render.

So you get Calculations for a LEG under the pants. You get Calculations for items on the Pre Load FULL Set that are not in the render. Always HIDE parts that will not be seen and Delete items that will not cast a shadow into your finished render.

This is just good practice, it saves your System more ram to work on the RENDER you will see and it will speed up your render time.

This has been a Tip just because.

This was a Follow up that I think others should know.

One more TIP: Always save your Scene when you finish setting it up. Then Exit Daz 3D and restart, then load the saved scene and render. This is why. All the textures you TRY before you Render are loaded to a STACK (ram that grows as you add things to your scene) when you try them. They stay in RAM (the Stack) until you save the file. At that time pointers to only the textures used are created in the save file. Yes you also get the RAM back at that time. So why close and reload you ask? Because if your System does not FREE the allocated blocks at save (Fragmented Ram) closing the program FREES all pointers the software is using. If it does not FREE all the ram you have Issues with your OS and not the software (Unless it is written very badly).

I hope this can help other users. I’m sorry if you have read this before.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 September 2012 12:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 188 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  100
Joined  2012-08-17

Hi Jaderail, thank you for the tips smile
I do have one question if you could be so kind to answer?

I have just treated my self to Poser but for the life of me I have spend the last 2 days trying to get all my Daz models,materials and so on into the Poser folders this is proving to be a very hard task I am facing….. Could you shade any light on how I would go about this?
Thank you

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 September 2012 12:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 189 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Just point Poser to the the RUNTIME folder inside the My Library folder as a content folder. You can only use the Poser content. All the files in the Runtime Folder are POSER format. None of the DS content will work in Poser. (anything above or not in Runtime is DS only)

I hope that helps.

EDIT: Or just COPY the Runtime folder and Paste it into the Place you want POSER to see it as a Folder.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 September 2012 12:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 190 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  100
Joined  2012-08-17

Thank you Jaderail, I shall try that smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 September 2012 01:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 191 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  100
Joined  2012-08-17

Hi Guy’s been having problems with this one for days now and just can not seem to work it out :(
When I apply the skin texture to the model and render it I am getting this plastic looking model :(
I have seen other images with the same soft of map and they look fine…. I have been working with all different lights and still no change, you can also tell were the hand and the arm are different textures….
I have even went into the settings and been trying different stuff in there with still no luck, would anyone know what I am doing wrong here?
smile

Image Attachments
1.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 September 2012 01:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 192 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  100
Joined  2012-08-17
wiibb - 23 September 2012 01:09 AM

Hi Guy’s been having problems with this one for days now and just can not seem to work it out :(
When I apply the skin texture to the model and render it I am getting this plastic looking model :(
I have seen other images with the same soft of map and they look fine…. I have been working with all different lights and still no change, you can also tell were the hand and the arm are different textures….
I have even went into the settings and been trying different stuff in there with still no luck, would anyone know what I am doing wrong here?
smile

Image Attachments
Screen_Cap.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 September 2012 01:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 193 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Is that a POSER texture? If so try the Specular Strength and Reflection Strength and color. Poser textures load with POSER settings sort of. I’m not sure whats up with the Tattoo, it could be low render settings. For now try the first two I mentioned.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 September 2012 01:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 194 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  100
Joined  2012-08-17

Thank you yet again Jaderail, I shall go and try it just now.
smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 September 2012 06:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 195 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7645
Joined  2009-05-14

wiibb try this out http://homepage.eircom.net/~neilvpose/ds-settings.htm should help you understand the surfaces pane better.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
   
13 of 24
13