Digital Art Zone

 
     
Another head scratcher with this build
Posted: 17 July 2012 02:37 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2004-08-18

I’m working on a H&K SL8 rifle and ran into a confusing issue. 

Below is the handle that blends into the stock.  For some reason, last night I started to extrude out and to my surprise, all of the faces on the disappeared and the program starting erroring out anytime I tried to correct the malfunction.  Every attempt to fix just closes it out.  I’ve tried to find backfaces that are hidden, extra verts, and such but I haven’t found a single thing wrong with it.  Any ideas?

Image Attachments
error_issue.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 July 2012 03:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  248
Joined  2009-01-27
Kalen555 - 17 July 2012 02:37 PM

Okay.  They’ve changed.  How do you post pics on here?

Click the “browse” button that’s found right above the “preview post” and “submit post” buttons on the reply page.
 

 

 Signature 

For any arguments or illustrations I give, my system specs are:
Hexagon version 2.5.1.79,  XP pro 32 bit,  pentium core2 duo,  ATI radeon 3870, 2 gigs ram

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 July 2012 03:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2004-08-18
afreaginname - 17 July 2012 03:25 PM
Kalen555 - 17 July 2012 02:37 PM

Okay.  They’ve changed.  How do you post pics on here?

Click the “browse” button that’s found right above the “preview post” and “submit post” buttons on the reply page.

Thank you.

So I take it, I can no longer link from a photo account?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 July 2012 03:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  248
Joined  2009-01-27
Kalen555 - 17 July 2012 03:34 PM

So I take it, I can no longer link from a photo account?

You used “[img]” tags in your previous attempt. Posting a direct link without using any tags will work.
 
Important question: If you try to select faces on this model, do you get an error message?
 

 

 Signature 

For any arguments or illustrations I give, my system specs are:
Hexagon version 2.5.1.79,  XP pro 32 bit,  pentium core2 duo,  ATI radeon 3870, 2 gigs ram

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 July 2012 04:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2004-08-18
afreaginname - 17 July 2012 03:41 PM
Kalen555 - 17 July 2012 03:34 PM

So I take it, I can no longer link from a photo account?

You used “[img]” tags in your previous attempt. Posting a direct link without using any tags will work.
 
Important question: If you try to select faces on this model, do you get an error message?
 

 

No, but it’s really hard to get the faces to highlight.  I just noticed that the default pivot point is on the other end of the object which shouldn’t be the case.  There isn’t any loose geometry or anything, so I don’t know.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 July 2012 05:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  274
Joined  2005-09-15

There isn’t any loose geometry or anything, so I don’t know.

 

Are you sure ?  If you have turned off your boundary box turn it back on in the preference file;  if there is any invisible geometry some where the boundary box will highlight the problem by extending an equal distance the other side of your present pivot point. 

In other words, if the boundary box appears to be an excessive size for the mesh in question in any direction,  this normally indicates that there are things lurking in the woodwork that shouldn’t be there.  smile

 Signature 

Cheers, Fanners.raspberry

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 July 2012 09:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2004-08-18
RedSquare - 18 July 2012 05:24 AM

There isn’t any loose geometry or anything, so I don’t know.

 

Are you sure ?  If you have turned off your boundary box turn it back on in the preference file;  if there is any invisible geometry some where the boundary box will highlight the problem by extending an equal distance the other side of your present pivot point. 

In other words, if the boundary box appears to be an excessive size for the mesh in question in any direction,  this normally indicates that there are things lurking in the woodwork that shouldn’t be there.  smile

Totally agree.  Which is why it’s not a good thing that there’s no bounding box.  The other objects in the scene (not shown) all do.  Not this guy.  But I figure a quick fix that doesn’t explain the problem.  I just highlighted everything, copy, paste.  Now it’s fixed and whatever oddity was giving it fits was deleted with that object.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 July 2012 03:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  22
Joined  2004-06-23

Remove the ngons you have.

 Signature 

http://www.youtube.com/user/shawndriscollcg

Profile