Digital Art Zone

 
     
Luxrender problem with M5 genital (lines between hips and torso)
Posted: 23 May 2014 01:23 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2014-05-16

Hi,

I have a problem that only happens when I render using Luxrender, the genital attachment looks like it’s entirely another layer and has it’s own shadow too. I’ve been digging in google for 5 hours today, and I can’t find a proper and clear answer / solution to it. Is there anybody that can help me out on this topic?

The best discussion I found about the problem was in this thread: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/35227/#519504 but it’s not specific enough, I tried exporting my scene and then deleted different SkinHip files in hope to fix the problem but I didn’t make any progress in fixing it.


I included an image to show what exactly happens to me when I use Luxrender.

Image Attachments
croop.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 May 2014 02:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2900
Joined  2009-02-24

Which exporter are you using? Luxus or Reality? Poser or Daz Studio?

 Signature 

Find me on DeviantArt
Download my free IBL presets for Luxus
Re-upload of Cresent’s awesome pwToon shaders
Create your own Smart Content

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 May 2014 03:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2014-05-16
HeraldOfFire - 23 May 2014 02:42 PM

Which exporter are you using? Luxus or Reality? Poser or Daz Studio?

I am using Reality exporter in Daz Studio

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 May 2014 03:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2900
Joined  2009-02-24

If you read the post you linked to, you’d notice there’s an problem with Reality in that it doesn’t recognize geografted parts properly. In Daz Studio, part of the original geometry of the figure is hidden and essentially replaced with the geograft, but Reality doesn’t know this and exports both out. What you are seeing is the result. Unfortunately this has been a known issue for a while, but Reality hasn’t seen any updates for ages aside from the development of Reality 3 for Poser, and presumably Daz Studio eventually.

The only way around this is to manually edit the files yourself to remove the duplicated geometry.

 Signature 

Find me on DeviantArt
Download my free IBL presets for Luxus
Re-upload of Cresent’s awesome pwToon shaders
Create your own Smart Content

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 May 2014 03:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2014-05-16

What should I be looking for inside the files? I’m up for doing this in order to get it to work properly, but the thing is I can’t find enough information on What should I edit there?

I should open the .lxo file as I understand, and look for ..... ?


I would be super grateful if you could explain this to me

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 May 2014 04:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1387
Joined  2005-03-16

Your solution is probably related to Displacement settings.  I had a person PM me about the same problem at the neckline on the M4 for Genesis 2 products, so he assumed it was product related.  I told him to zero out the displacement settings (especially if there is no map being used) and it solved the problem.

 Signature 

My DAZ Store Page    My Facebook Fan Page    My Twitter Account    Free Video Tutorials    My FreeStuff at ShareCG    My Gallery on DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 May 2014 05:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2014-05-16
Slosh - 23 May 2014 04:37 PM

Your solution is probably related to Displacement settings.  I had a person PM me about the same problem at the neckline on the M4 for Genesis 2 products, so he assumed it was product related.  I told him to zero out the displacement settings (especially if there is no map being used) and it solved the problem.

DIsplacement settings in surfaces tab for the genitals in Daz Studio? Or displacement settings in Reality exporter? I’m sorry I don’t understand it.


If you mean the ones in surface tabs (with the M5 genital selected) they are all zeros and ‘off’ in there, in Reality I found some displacement settings under “Modifiers” and changed them all to zeros, or am I doing everything wrong? I still see the same seams

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2014 07:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  210
Joined  2011-09-13
mods.unknownauthor - 23 May 2014 05:20 PM
Slosh - 23 May 2014 04:37 PM

Your solution is probably related to Displacement settings.  I had a person PM me about the same problem at the neckline on the M4 for Genesis 2 products, so he assumed it was product related.  I told him to zero out the displacement settings (especially if there is no map being used) and it solved the problem.

DIsplacement settings in surfaces tab for the genitals in Daz Studio? Or displacement settings in Reality exporter? I’m sorry I don’t understand it.


If you mean the ones in surface tabs (with the M5 genital selected) they are all zeros and ‘off’ in there, in Reality I found some displacement settings under “Modifiers” and changed them all to zeros, or am I doing everything wrong? I still see the same seams

It is possible for displacement maps to create seams in Luxrender on seamless texture models (human and organic shapes is where this will be visible). I always remove them in these cases. Note that you must delete the displacement map reference in the Modifiers tab of Reality, because the presence of a disp map link will cause a level of subdivision regardless of other settings (i.e. even when subdivision shows 0, there will be in fact one level of subdivision). It’s the type of subd that Lux applies that is causing the seams to become slightly out of alignment.

However, I suspect in this case that it is the problem with two copies of the Geo-Graft being imported by Reality into the Lux scene which is causing the problem. Cwichura’s solution doesn’t involve editing the .lxo file, fortunately, but you do need to delete object files (.ply) in the resources/objects directory created by Reality. This is the process:

First you need to rename the graft item(s) in the DAZ Studio Scene tab. So, say the graft item is “Genesis Male Genitalia”: in the Scene tab, rename this to (e.g.) “Genesis Male Genitalia GRAFTX”. You can rename to anything, but make sure the string you added is unique to the graft items in your scene.

Next call Reality and (assuming you have done all the adjustments to shaders, etc.) in the Output tab check “Export Only”. The reason for this is that we don’t want to call Luxrender yet. Then click “Render Frame”. Reality will export the geometry and create the Lux files, but it will not run Luxrender.

Now we have to go to our Render directory (wherever Reality is set up to export Lux files to) and find the “objects” folder for our scene. Let’s say the scene is called “reality_scene”. Go to where your Reality scenes are exported and you will see a folder called “reality_scene-Resources”. Click inside this and you will see a folder called “Objects”. In that folder you will see .ply files that have the word GRAFTX in them, because remember we renamed them in Studio. E.g. Genesis Male Genitalia GRAFTX_Genesis Male Genitalia GRAFTX_2_SkinGenitalia_30.ply. In the case of the genitalia there will be two files like this. Delete them!

(If you have more complex graft products, e.g. Genesis Bot, there will be lots of these files, but just search for “GRAFTX” and delete all found.)

Now you are ready to call Luxrender. Look for the .lxs file (it has the Luxrender icon) corresponding to the scene you just edited and double click it and Luxrender will run and render you scene.

Seems complicated when written out but it’s not too troublesome once you have done it a few times.

As I said elsewhere, I’m assuming this will be fixed in Reality 3. R3 is now being beta tested and I’m hoping it will be released in the next couple of months.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2014 08:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2014-05-16

Hiro Protagonist THANK YOU so much :D I was thinking that I’ll have to regret buying Reality because of this little “defect” and given that I’m a beginner without much experience, gladly not (thanks to your awesome explanation)! This was exactly the kind of answer I was looking for.

All seams are fixed - and I don’t have any problems with deleting those files every time I do a render.


Thank you so much again!!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2014 10:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  210
Joined  2011-09-13
mods.unknownauthor - 24 May 2014 08:50 AM

Hiro Protagonist THANK YOU so much :D I was thinking that I’ll have to regret buying Reality because of this little “defect” and given that I’m a beginner without much experience, gladly not (thanks to your awesome explanation)! This was exactly the kind of answer I was looking for.

All seams are fixed - and I don’t have any problems with deleting those files every time I do a render.


Thank you so much again!!

My pleasure! I’m glad this fixed the seams for you, and also prevented you from regretting your purchase. Also, I have cwichura to thank for coming up with this elegant solution.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 July 2014 08:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2014-06-20

Hi there, I have the same problem with Sledgehammers “OMG Genitalia for G2F” ! I will give this a try and report back…

Profile