Digital Art Zone

 
   
3 of 40
3
DAZ Studio Pro 4.6.3.52, General Release, Now Available for Download!
Posted: 22 May 2014 06:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 31 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14533
Joined  2005-10-07
fixmypcmike - 22 May 2014 06:23 PM
Misty Whisky - 22 May 2014 06:01 PM

will this new cms be compatible with genesis in carrara8.5?

am i reading this correctly, there is no manual d/l and install?  in which case, n/m the 1st question


thanks smile

i didn’t see a d/l option for ogreCms.  big surprise  will the new DS build work with my current CMS?

Yes, if you don’t install the PostgreSQL CMS CD will continue to use the Valentina CMS.


thanks. 

hoping they fixed that white-out aoa brickyard thing.

 Signature 

ÐA kiss ° cool smile CA stops the worlds and melts with yoo rolleyes

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 May 2014 06:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 32 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3111
Joined  2012-02-04
namffuak - 22 May 2014 03:35 PM
barbult - 22 May 2014 03:14 PM

Is there a recommended order to install the items? DS, PostgreSQL, then Conversion, for example?

I’m paranoid, so take this with a grain of salt -

Fire up the current version of Studio and export your user data.
Shut Studio down
Install the new Postgres CMS
Install the new Studio
Optional - change the location of the Postgres database -
    Shut down DIM
    Start Studio
    Content Library -> preferences -> stop CMS (technically not required - but see ‘paranoid’ above)
    Edit -> preferences -> Right-most tab (CMS Settings)
    Make note of current cluster location for cleanup
    Enter preferred path to CMS Cluster in Cluster Directory
    Click ‘accept’
    Content Library -> preferences -> start CMS
    Shut down Studio
    Start DIM
Install the Postgres CMS conversion utility - note that the ‘install’ is actually doing the conversion, so expect it to take a while

I tried this process, because I don’t want my database on my SSD. However, when I finally ran the conversion, it “installed” instantly, so I guess it didn’t work. Any hints on how to fix this?

My DAZ Studo log file contains the line “Connected to CMS: PostgreSQL 9.3.4, compiled by Visual C++ build 1600, 64-bit”, so that sounds like the PostgreSQL is installed OK.

The path that entered in preferences for my CMS Cluster directory was created and has a ContentCluster with lots of folders and files. In there is a dblog.txt that says (among other things):
“LOG:  autovacuum launcher started
FATAL:  role “Barb” does not exist
LOG:  received smart shutdown request”

Barb is my username on this computer.

I am running on Windows 7 64 bit. I upgraded from 4.6.2.120 and did NOT previously have the PostgreSQL beta installed.

 Signature 

New member of the Bald Wizards Club

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 May 2014 07:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 33 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3324
Joined  2004-04-14
rbtwhiz - 22 May 2014 03:48 PM
Mattymanx - 22 May 2014 03:20 PM

To install manually, I unpacked it and then ran the bat file found in the one folder.  After that I manually moved the folders to their location based on how they were packed.

If that is all you did… PostgreSQL may be “installed”, but you are still connecting to Valentina.  The bat file only runs an installer for Microsoft runtime components.  It does not make the necessary changes that allow DAZ Studio (or Install Manager) to actually communicate with PostgreSQL.

-Rob


Right you are.  Thank you for pointing that out.  I did get it running but it ran about 7 instances of it.  However, apon further testing I see its not going anythign extra for me since I dont use Smart Content.  Everything runs as it needs to with me without so… oh well.

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store - My Free Stuff - My Art @ DeviantART

Ships of the Line Mega Thread - 141 Ships - 18 Starbases - 8 Props - 3 Sets - Plus More!!!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 May 2014 07:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 34 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  809
Joined  2005-09-12
barbult - 22 May 2014 06:30 PM
namffuak - 22 May 2014 03:35 PM
barbult - 22 May 2014 03:14 PM

Is there a recommended order to install the items? DS, PostgreSQL, then Conversion, for example?

I’m paranoid, so take this with a grain of salt -

Fire up the current version of Studio and export your user data.
Shut Studio down
Install the new Postgres CMS
Install the new Studio
Optional - change the location of the Postgres database -
    Shut down DIM
    Start Studio
    Content Library -> preferences -> stop CMS (technically not required - but see ‘paranoid’ above)
    Edit -> preferences -> Right-most tab (CMS Settings)
    Make note of current cluster location for cleanup
    Enter preferred path to CMS Cluster in Cluster Directory
    Click ‘accept’
    Content Library -> preferences -> start CMS
    Shut down Studio
    Start DIM
Install the Postgres CMS conversion utility - note that the ‘install’ is actually doing the conversion, so expect it to take a while

I tried this process, because I don’t want my database on my SSD. However, when I finally ran the conversion, it “installed” instantly, so I guess it didn’t work. Any hints on how to fix this?

Check the location you specified for the database - you should have a ‘ContentCluster’ directory and it should contain a number of files. One of them is dblog.txt which may give some information. I will say that the first time I tried the conversion on my main system it ran for about 6.naught seconds because the Valentina CMS was corrupted. (Oh - and the Valentina CMS must be running for the conversion to work . . .)

Also - make sure your firewall is not blocking access to Postgres (that CMS settings screen shows what port will be used).

You should see multiple instances of postgres running in the task manager ‘processes’ tab when DIM or Studio are running - they go away when both are shut down. If you don’t see them its probably a firewall issue.

 Signature 

The only constant is change—and it’s a variable.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 May 2014 07:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 35 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3111
Joined  2012-02-04
namffuak - 22 May 2014 07:13 PM
barbult - 22 May 2014 06:30 PM
namffuak - 22 May 2014 03:35 PM
barbult - 22 May 2014 03:14 PM

Is there a recommended order to install the items? DS, PostgreSQL, then Conversion, for example?

I’m paranoid, so take this with a grain of salt -

Fire up the current version of Studio and export your user data.
Shut Studio down
Install the new Postgres CMS
Install the new Studio
Optional - change the location of the Postgres database -
    Shut down DIM
    Start Studio
    Content Library -> preferences -> stop CMS (technically not required - but see ‘paranoid’ above)
    Edit -> preferences -> Right-most tab (CMS Settings)
    Make note of current cluster location for cleanup
    Enter preferred path to CMS Cluster in Cluster Directory
    Click ‘accept’
    Content Library -> preferences -> start CMS
    Shut down Studio
    Start DIM
Install the Postgres CMS conversion utility - note that the ‘install’ is actually doing the conversion, so expect it to take a while

I tried this process, because I don’t want my database on my SSD. However, when I finally ran the conversion, it “installed” instantly, so I guess it didn’t work. Any hints on how to fix this?

Check the location you specified for the database - you should have a ‘ContentCluster’ directory and it should contain a number of files. One of them is dblog.txt which may give some information. I will say that the first time I tried the conversion on my main system it ran for about 6.naught seconds because the Valentina CMS was corrupted. (Oh - and the Valentina CMS must be running for the conversion to work . . .)

Also - make sure your firewall is not blocking access to Postgres (that CMS settings screen shows what port will be used).

You should see multiple instances of postgres running in the task manager ‘processes’ tab when DIM or Studio are running - they go away when both are shut down. If you don’t see them its probably a firewall issue.

Thanks for replying to help me! I think we cross posted while I was adding some details to my previous plea for help. I do have the ContentCluster and the log shows problems as I posted above while you were replying. I do have several postgres processes running in the task manager while DS is running. They go away, as you said, when DS are closed.

Does the error in the log give you any clues? It says
“LOG:  autovacuum launcher started
FATAL:  role “Barb” does not exist
LOG:  received smart shutdown request”

 Signature 

New member of the Bald Wizards Club

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 May 2014 07:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 36 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  427
Joined  2003-10-09
fixmypcmike - 22 May 2014 02:17 PM
Renpatsu - 22 May 2014 02:12 PM

Did the PostreSQL installation change from the latest public build or may I just ignore that installation in DIM now?

If you installed it with the public beta you don’t need to install it again, it’s the same.

Currently that is true… but it is likely to change at some point.  So, it is important to understand that the PostgreSQL CMS packages are built such that they will only allow one instance of PostgreSQL CMS to be installed via Install Manager at a time.  You can download and install the current General Release package and it will handle uninstalling the Public Build package before [at the beginning of] installing itself.  If you then later decide to install the Public Build package (i.e. a future update), it will uninstall the General Release package before installing itself.

-Rob

 Signature 

- Documentation Center
- Install Manager
- DAZ Studio 4.x
- DSON Importer
- DSON File Format Specification

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 May 2014 07:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 37 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3111
Joined  2012-02-04

UPDATE on my troubles:
I uninstalled the Conversion then made sure DAZContentManagementService was Running in the task manager services list. Then I installed the conversion again with the DIM. It is now installing very slowly, so maybe it is working…

I started up DS again after the install finished. YES!! I think it is fixed. Smart Content is there. Categories are there. Products are there.

Thank you for helping, namffuak. I think maybe ContentManagementService wasn’t running the other time??

 Signature 

New member of the Bald Wizards Club

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 May 2014 08:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 38 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  640
Joined  2007-10-01

Everything installed on my end without issues, the search feature is fast, way faster than before. Nice job.

 Signature 

3D Celebrity Lookalikes

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 May 2014 09:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 39 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  427
Joined  2003-10-09
DaremoK3 - 22 May 2014 03:03 PM

So, DAZ, does this mean I can not install, and use this Public Release version that I have been waiting for, because I don’t use the DIM system?

Will this new version run without this new PostgreSQL CMS?

Why are you not offering a stand alone installer for the new CMS?

I would very much like to install, and use this new version.

You can download and install the DAZ Studio 4.6.3.50 General Release standalone installer from the Product Library, which does not include the PostgreSQL CMS [but does still currently include the Valentina CMS], and you can benefit from all of the changes listed in the first post / change log... except for those that mention PostgreSQL.

Without the PostgreSQL package installed [and configured correctly], DAZ Studio will still attempt to connect to and communicate with Valentina the same way it did with the previous versions; i.e. via the Content Management Service.  If the service is not running, DAZ Studio will operate in the same way it did in previous releases when the CMS is not available.

A standalone installer for the PostgreSQL CMS is being actively investigated.  That does not mean that one will, or that one will not, be made available at some point… it simply means that we are investigating how/whether a standalone installer can be provided - one that will install the files to the appropriate locations, with the permissions required to allow everything to play nicely together.  Permission handling with the standalone installers is more difficult to deal with than it is with Install Manager; i.e. when something doesn’t work the way we want it to in Install Manager, we can change it so that it does; when something doesn’t work the way we want with the standalone installers, we have to either find ways around it [if possible] or we have to wait for support and/or updates from a third party.

We would like for everyone to be able to install and use this new version.

 Signature 

- Documentation Center
- Install Manager
- DAZ Studio 4.x
- DSON Importer
- DSON File Format Specification

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 May 2014 09:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 40 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  809
Joined  2005-09-12
barbult - 22 May 2014 07:27 PM

Thanks for replying to help me! I think we cross posted while I was adding some details to my previous plea for help. I do have the ContentCluster and the log shows problems as I posted above while you were replying. I do have several postgres processes running in the task manager while DS is running. They go away, as you said, when DS are closed.

Does the error in the log give you any clues? It says
“LOG:  autovacuum launcher started
FATAL:  role “Barb” does not exist
LOG:  received smart shutdown request”

These seem to be normal - at least I get them also.

So - the install worked, Studio and DIM can connect, so no firewall issue. Which means - you seem to have a corrupted Valentina CMS if it was running when you tried the migration. The quick fix is to fire up Studio, pick either the smart content or the content library options menu, select content DB maintenance, and re-import your metadata. This is a whole lot faster than doing an import on Valentina - tens of minutes, not hours anyway.

Check services and see if the DAZ Content Management Service (Valentina) is running; if so, de-install and re-install the migration tool. If it still runs in seconds you’re down to the re-import process.

For the record, my laptop test system seemed to have smart content running correctly - but the migration ran in seconds. After I re-built the Valentina DB (reset/reimport) the migration ran for about 6 minutes (slow system, 450 items).

 Signature 

The only constant is change—and it’s a variable.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 May 2014 09:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 41 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  809
Joined  2005-09-12
barbult - 22 May 2014 07:52 PM

UPDATE on my troubles:
I uninstalled the Conversion then made sure DAZContentManagementService was Running in the task manager services list. Then I installed the conversion again with the DIM. It is now installing very slowly, so maybe it is working…

I started up DS again after the install finished. YES!! I think it is fixed. Smart Content is there. Categories are there. Products are there.

Thank you for helping, namffuak. I think maybe ContentManagementService wasn’t running the other time??

Glad to hear this!

Apologies for the slowness - I’m on a dial-up connection at home :-( and, more importantly, it was supper time. grin

 Signature 

The only constant is change—and it’s a variable.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 May 2014 09:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 42 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3111
Joined  2012-02-04

I’m still kind of confused about this new CMS.

So how do I know that it is really using the new CMS and not falling back on Valentina?
Is there some “Valentina” thing I should uninstall?
Is DAZContentManagementService still supposed to be running in Task Manager services?

 Signature 

New member of the Bald Wizards Club

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 May 2014 09:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 43 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  809
Joined  2005-09-12
barbult - 22 May 2014 09:33 PM

I’m still kind of confused about this new CMS.

So how do I know that it is really using the new CMS and not falling back on Valentina?
Is there some “Valentina” thing I should uninstall?
Is DAZContentManagementService still supposed to be running in Task Manager services?

If you see postgres processes in task manager then Studio is using the new CMS. Also, you can look at the DAZ Studio log - if it says “Connected to CMS: PostgreSQL” just before the ‘**** Scene Cleared **** ” line you’re using the new CMS. And, if you go to Content Library and click on the options menu - and you see ‘Stop CMS’ and ‘Start CMS’ as selectable items you’re connected to Postgres.

And you can stop the DAZ ContentManagement Service any time now - Studio isn’t using it any more (Carrara still is, if you use Carrara).

There should be an uninstaller for the Valentina CMS in your DAZ 3D available programs list.

 Signature 

The only constant is change—and it’s a variable.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 May 2014 10:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 44 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1459
Joined  2003-10-09

I have a corrupted Valentina CMS and recently discovered it’s probably because there’s two of them. Thinking about it I suspect it happened when, over a year ago, I reset and uninstalled it then reinstalled with the installer that was in the DIM’s folder. Then perhaps Studio installed one the next time I updated?

Anyway, obviously I have no plans for the new postgreSQL thing to convert from Valentina and intend to import metadata through studio instead.

I just checked and there’s an uninstaller in the DIM directory and there’s also one in the Start Menu. If I’m right they’re pointed to two different locations.

Can I uninstall them both before installing the new one, then install the new Studio?

 Signature 

—————-
“Take off the space blanket, Chuck.”
If you recognize the quote, you’re enjoying the new show as much as I am. Yes, you’d Better Call Saul!

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 May 2014 10:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 45 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  11019
Joined  2007-11-06

You can install PostgreSQL and DS first, just don’t download the conversion.  Then uninstall the old CMS.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
   
3 of 40
3