Digital Art Zone

 
   
6 of 12
6
maybe an iClone thread
Posted: 09 September 2012 11:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 76 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  121
Joined  2007-11-26

That looks amazing Wendy… lots of promise!!

I am glad that you can do this without 3DMax… now I just need to load up Carrara again and have a play with it!

I grabbed the latest iC patches today and I am not sure what they have added/fixed and if I should be able to do more with Genesis through 3DXchange now… I hope so… but I only just installed them and nothing much had obviously changed when I Iooked…. except for an adjust bone option in Character that was greyed out.

Can you give me some tips on the best video export settings to use so that I can show off something when I have it ready.  The one animation I have done is over 600mb but it does look very nice…. still with a dodgy soundtrack but it was only a learning exercise so I am going to leave it the way it is.

 Signature 

Please check out my new art gallery below
A New York based fine art gallery where I am showing a collection of my work

http://www.trilliumgallery.com/maynard-ellis.html


Also checkout my FAA gallery where I have a much larger sample of my art
FAA may appeal to many artists here as they offer a great service for artists to sell prints of their work

http://maynard-ellis.fineartamerica.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 September 2012 12:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 77 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7103
Joined  2009-07-13

I use uncompressed avi and edit it in Windows moviemaker.
also texture map size in settings makes a huge difference if your graphics card can handle it, like wise selfcast shadows under lights with maximum texturemap size
on the 64bit, I have done both to the maximum on an a Stonemason set but it is pretty demanding.
rendering to image sequence handles a lot more.
where iClone shines is indeed large prop walkthroughs etc, you can use them then as video backgrounds in Carrara with a shadowcatch plane if you want talking Daz characters.
video compositing is your friend
both Carrara and iClone do video backgrounds and animated textures
so you can composite in both.
rather than always trying to get characters in one or the other, use this to your advantage.
most movies use video compositing, they put CG models in realworld footage so it is the same.
you will find CG films do this too, not everything is stuck in one scene file and rendered.
I am more interested and have experimented with, match moving/camera data using null objects exported/imported as fbx motions to put my characters in prerendered background scenes but so far too many inconsistancies, a WIP.

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
my gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 September 2012 07:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 78 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  121
Joined  2007-11-26

Thanks Wendy for the info on your video export settings.  i will play around and see what I come up with.

Sorry I am so full of questions at the moment but I got a newsletter from RL hyping CrazyTalk6 as the answer to all iClone users facial animation needs. 

Now I know CT is a 2D animation system but are they suggesting that we do our animations without lipsync or expression and once it is a 2d rendered clip put it through crazy talk and add the facial animation?  It sure is what it sounds like to me and it may well be a very good option, however none of the tutorials or discussion I can see on it talk about taking a prerendered animation and applying lipsync or expressions, they are all about a still image… mind you I am staggered at what they can do with even a simple doodle of a face.  At the big discounts they are offering for the next 2 weeks I may just have to buy into CT6 Pro… but the jury is still a little out as I type this.

The other thing I saw in their announcement about the new updates is that they have a head morph plugin about to arrive supported by an import head morph feature in 3DXchange and I am also thinking this may be another of their answers for facial animation and Genesis, however I just can’t find anymore info on this than the paragraph about it in their news regarding the new updates.

Can you let me know what you think this new plugin will be able to do for us DAZ content users and also can you comment on whether or not I am interpretting their CT6 hype correctly in regards to using it on iClone animations.

Sorry again for all my questions but I am still quite confused about this new software platform… I feel like I did when I was a DS/Poser newbie who didn’t know what all the file types were or where they went in your runtime etc.

I love your idea about rendering some camera tracks through lush animated iClone environments and then compositing them with C8 animation.  I was blown away with the magical night-time forest I created in iClone and how awesome it looked when I hit the play button… I brought in Stonemasons Urban City yesterday and whilst it is there as a big rich environment it looked quite stark without anything blowing in the breeze…. i guess I need to make some hybrid environments to play in… part DAZ content and part iClone content.

Anyway enough from me for now… back to googling around the web :D

 

 Signature 

Please check out my new art gallery below
A New York based fine art gallery where I am showing a collection of my work

http://www.trilliumgallery.com/maynard-ellis.html


Also checkout my FAA gallery where I have a much larger sample of my art
FAA may appeal to many artists here as they offer a great service for artists to sell prints of their work

http://maynard-ellis.fineartamerica.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 September 2012 08:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 79 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7103
Joined  2009-07-13

I do not know myself what sort of facial animation is coming
Carrara can render a facial closeup very quickly for lipsync if you avoid Subsurface scattering, global illumination and other fancy crap like dynamic hair
just use your iClone render in the background when cutting to it.
I never use GI, indirect lighting, sunlight etc in Carrara for animation anyway.
a bulb and some spots are all you need, maybe a simple 3point lighting set up or a spot outside a window with a bulb inside depending on the scene.
outdoors I usually use one distant light or a few bulbs for ambient light and spots for sun rays, and set the ambient light in scene to zero.
Daz studio is a different kettle, unless I go openGL it takes too damn long for me.

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
my gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2012 11:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 80 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  37
Joined  2005-08-16

I posted this as a new post, but maybe this is a better place.

I have purchased the iClone 5 Pipeline offer. I am able to download it, but when I went to available downloads in my account there was a link to “order Delivery information.doc” This has a download link that works, but the place for a serial number is blank.

Anyone know where I get the serial No. from?

Thanks for any help

BTW: I did look in my available serial numbers

 Signature 

Nick
(why am I new member?)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 September 2012 02:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 81 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  121
Joined  2007-11-26

Hey OldNick,

You will find the serial numbers in your DAZ account with other serial numbers… i am not sure why but they took a while to appear for me and then they didn’t all appear at once… also make sure you go into the Reallusion site and register your serial numbers (when you get them) and then download and install all the patches as the version you have just downloaded wont work with each other until they are all patched.

Wendy,

I asked a couple of direct questions about how CT6 was used with iClone animations as I was very confused and they gave me a great answer which I have posted below in case others find the info useful… especially with how cheap CT6 is just at the moment…. I am most likely going to grab it tonight as what it does with 2D images is mind blowing and if that transfers to iClone characters (even just standard ones) then that is sooo worth the money.


Reply from Reallusion support

“CrazyTalk 6 Pro can be used to create detailed facial animation for your iClone characters. To do this you would follow the procedure below.

In CrazyTalk 6 Pro you would add a good quality photo of a human face. You then use the features of CrazyTalk 6 to add detailed facial expressions (happy, sad, scared etc.) and also add your vocal audio to create automatic lip-sync.

Once you have everything as you want it in CrazyTalk 6, you save it as a script containing all this data. These scripts have the .cts extension.

Now you can open iClone, load any standard character you wish, and then import the previously saved script from CrazyTalk 6 Pro. Once imported, your iClone character will speak the same audio with automatic lip-sync, and show the same facial expressions as created in CrazyTalk 6 Pro.

Please Note: This process is for standard iClone characters. Daz characters are classified as non-standard characters so this process would not work for them. We are currently working on an update that will allow facial animation to be used with Daz characters. This is due at the end of the year.”

 Signature 

Please check out my new art gallery below
A New York based fine art gallery where I am showing a collection of my work

http://www.trilliumgallery.com/maynard-ellis.html


Also checkout my FAA gallery where I have a much larger sample of my art
FAA may appeal to many artists here as they offer a great service for artists to sell prints of their work

http://maynard-ellis.fineartamerica.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 September 2012 03:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 82 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  37
Joined  2005-08-16

Thanks for that info MD. grin About how long did it take for the Serial Number to appear? That way I can know about when to start looking. I wish they would say this stuff instead of offering a doc that is supposed to have it and doesn’t.  mad

 Signature 

Nick
(why am I new member?)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 September 2012 07:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 83 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  121
Joined  2007-11-26

It was only a matter of 24 hours but it certainly wasn’t instant as it usually is…. if they are not there yet though I would lodge a support ticket or ring… and get in quick before the weekend starts otherwise you wont get it fixed until next week.

Have a good look though as I nearly missed them the first time they pooped up and it was only one serial number against all 3 apps and then the next day when I looked all 3 apps had a serial.

 Signature 

Please check out my new art gallery below
A New York based fine art gallery where I am showing a collection of my work

http://www.trilliumgallery.com/maynard-ellis.html


Also checkout my FAA gallery where I have a much larger sample of my art
FAA may appeal to many artists here as they offer a great service for artists to sell prints of their work

http://maynard-ellis.fineartamerica.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 September 2012 12:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 84 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  37
Joined  2005-08-16

hmmm..well it’s way over that for me now. This will be the third support request for this purchase now….arrrgh!

 Signature 

Nick
(why am I new member?)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 September 2012 03:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 85 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4577
Joined  2004-07-01
OldNick - 14 September 2012 12:19 AM

hmmm..well it’s way over that for me now. This will be the third support request for this purchase now….arrrgh!

don’t tell us - tell them
call them
we can’t do any thing

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 September 2012 06:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 86 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  37
Joined  2005-08-16

I do. It has never created any change. I have been here for ....5…years and always there has been trouble with downloading stuff. Always a workaround. Never a fix.

In fact the trouble with downloads is so messy that I no longer try to post here.

If everybody is having perfect downloads and installs then I am sorry. I am just a putz.

 Signature 

Nick
(why am I new member?)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 September 2012 08:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 87 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4577
Joined  2004-07-01
OldNick - 14 September 2012 06:45 AM

I do. It has never created any change. I have been here for ....5…years and always there has been trouble with downloading stuff. Always a workaround. Never a fix.

In fact the trouble with downloads is so messy that I no longer try to post here.

If everybody is having perfect downloads and installs then I am sorry. I am just a putz.

sorry to hear this - like I said give Daz a call
you are not a putz !
many have trouble .

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 September 2012 12:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 88 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  37
Joined  2005-08-16

Calling them is a bit not easy. I live in Australia. I am going to put in a support request about this and about the download process once you have ordered. It’s a shambles as far as I am concerned. I am going to post and ask what people think here. then maybe number will help.

 Signature 

Nick
(why am I new member?)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 September 2012 02:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 89 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  37
Joined  2005-08-16

I would like to refer anybody interested to
http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/7794/#102375
post #3.
There is a set of bits and pieces (Tools for the DAZ Store) that aid in getting stuff out of DAZ after you have paid them. :D I used it download all my lost content, walked away and came back next morning to complete success….508 files downloaded. No effort from me.

 Signature 

Nick
(why am I new member?)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 September 2012 08:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 90 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  121
Joined  2007-11-26

Hey Wendy, if you are still checking in here I have another question re vid settings.

I used Windows Movie maker on the clip I created out of iClone and that is great as I now have a much smaller clip that plays ok.

Just a general question though about Youtube and acceptable/sensible file size limits.  I now have a 2 minute clip and I have it at 97mb, is this too large for a 2min clip on Youtube?... I am just after a rule of thumb sort of guideline to know if I should push it down smaller or if that is not an uncommon sort of size to time ratio…. my gut feel is that it is too big and if so i wouldn’t mind a pearl of your wisdom in indicating an approx target size I should aim for…. even an anecdotal comment about some size to time ratios you have happily posted would give me some info to work with on this.

Sorry if i am asking too much but I know you post a lot of animations on Youtube so I thought you would have some opinions on this that you may be happy to share.

 Signature 

Please check out my new art gallery below
A New York based fine art gallery where I am showing a collection of my work

http://www.trilliumgallery.com/maynard-ellis.html


Also checkout my FAA gallery where I have a much larger sample of my art
FAA may appeal to many artists here as they offer a great service for artists to sell prints of their work

http://maynard-ellis.fineartamerica.com

Profile
 
 
   
6 of 12
6