Digital Art Zone

 
   
4 of 12
4
maybe an iClone thread
Posted: 25 August 2012 08:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 46 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  239
Joined  2012-05-25
wendy♥catz - 25 August 2012 08:01 AM

on the old forum I had a thread were I tried to do foot collision in Carrara using target helpers, ik restraints and modifiers and track modifier
so far I can only do detachable “smart props” this way and feet that slide on the floor!

if i see the difference iclone vs carrara.
it’s great done in iclone and very poor in carrara.
i tought carrara was daz highend version for pro users?
now i see you can do more avatar animation in iclone as carrara.

 Signature 

Very Happy that i save $$$ for products that have no manual and invest this in the great lux modo :p

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 August 2012 08:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 47 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4607
Joined  2004-07-01
creativemodelsbe - 25 August 2012 08:02 AM
bigh - 25 August 2012 07:57 AM
creativemodelsbe - 25 August 2012 07:51 AM
bigh - 25 August 2012 07:38 AM

don’t forget iClone has smart props - wish DS had them
” has foot and hand collision with terrain ” and props

do you have any news,
we will have smart props with terrain and hand + foot collisions in studio soon?
thinking to move to iclone and leave studio, animation is well done in iclone.

Have no idea what DS 5 will have . They said there will be more animation tools .
Yes iClone is fun to use .

do you think i can better wait until ds5 at christmas?
or move to iclone for animation.

up to you - I like both - DS 5 for christmas might not be that soon
test out iClone see if its what you want .

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 August 2012 08:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 48 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7165
Joined  2009-07-13

I can do quite vast lot more in Carrara actually but iClone is quick and easy to use and has a few nice features like the foot contact.

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
my gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 August 2012 09:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 49 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  239
Joined  2012-05-25
wendy♥catz - 25 August 2012 08:56 AM

I can do quite vast lot more in Carrara actually but iClone is quick and easy to use and has a few nice features like the foot contact.

Wendy do you know
can you pin avatars in iclone against each other?
animate them in a single movement, like 2 people dancing with hands connected.

 Signature 

Very Happy that i save $$$ for products that have no manual and invest this in the great lux modo :p

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 August 2012 10:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 50 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7165
Joined  2009-07-13

can do that in Carrara too using track and target helpers

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
my gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 September 2012 03:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 51 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  37
Joined  2005-08-16

Well I just watched a demo of walking a model in iClone..I am nearly sold away from Carrara. no anchors that need to be moved, no need to create each step bit by bit, nothing: just “walk”

Does iClone have collision between objects, with physics-based rebound etc? EDIT: and does it work for more than about two objects. I r4eied to build a game of pool in Carrara and it just fell to pieces if you had more than maybe two balls.

 Signature 

Nick
(why am I new member?)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 September 2012 06:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 52 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4607
Joined  2004-07-01
OldNick - 05 September 2012 03:25 AM

Well I just watched a demo of walking a model in iClone..I am nearly sold away from Carrara. no anchors that need to be moved, no need to create each step bit by bit, nothing: just “walk”

Does iClone have collision between objects, with physics-based rebound etc? EDIT: and does it work for more than about two objects. I r4eied to build a game of pool in Carrara and it just fell to pieces if you had more than maybe two balls.

yes - go for it

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 September 2012 06:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 53 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  37
Joined  2005-08-16

Ta! smile I have just DL’d the demo. I will see how I go….it goes?

 Signature 

Nick
(why am I new member?)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 September 2012 05:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 54 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  121
Joined  2007-11-26

Well I am both pleased and cranky I read this thread!!

Pleased that I have found what I needed to know and can stop tearing my hair out but cranky I have a great little animation of Genesis in iClone but I can’t make her blink or smile or show any facial animation…. that really sucks big time!

It may even be a deal breaker for me as I expected to not have to buy into Reallusions content and use all of my DAZ content…. and well facial animation is a bit of a requirement for me.

Wendy… how long has this been talked about as coming in the iClone community (and dare I ask when do you think it will arrive?) and in your experience will it be an expensive update to get that bit of functionality or might it be a free patch?... just asking your opinion on these things as I am not expecting you to know.

I am having fun though now it is all setup and I have worked through some tutorials… off to play with Kinect on the weekend but first I wanted to churn out some quick teaching myself stuff animations but I am disheartened by the blank look of my Geni :( 


EDITED to woohooo at my second post in the new DAZ forums…. you can tell I am not thrilled by all the changes around here raspberry

 Signature 

Please check out my new art gallery below
A New York based fine art gallery where I am showing a collection of my work

http://www.trilliumgallery.com/maynard-ellis.html


Also checkout my FAA gallery where I have a much larger sample of my art
FAA may appeal to many artists here as they offer a great service for artists to sell prints of their work

http://maynard-ellis.fineartamerica.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 September 2012 08:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 55 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7165
Joined  2009-07-13

facial expression IS coming for Daz figures and it is promised as a free update but they need to iron out some bugs.
there is a thread on it at the Reallusionforum.
lots of cut scenes with facial closeups in studio for dialogue is one solution, can even be opengl render if just a face.
ie show talking from behind with nodding then cut to the closeup.
also using iClone heads (stickman Zack without his props attached good for this) with front and side images of your Daz figures to make the face, frankenstiened to headless Daz bodies.
you link the iClone character with the invisible stickman body to a headless Daz body made by exporting with the eye closed in the scene or turning down opacity on all head bits, attach Daz prop hair to the iClone head.
only use facial animation on the head, body animation on the Daz body.
unfortunately cannot be saved as one figure though and scenes cannot be merged.

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
my gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 September 2012 02:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 56 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7165
Joined  2009-07-13

a quick (not very good) frankensteining attempt. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=esLfsWXcS3M

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
my gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 September 2012 02:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 57 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  121
Joined  2007-11-26

Thanks for the info Wendy… I will have to do some reading over at Reallussion as I don’t like the sound of the hybrid model option much at all as Genesis makes such pretty faces!!  I can live without dialogue but I want blinking and smiling and breathing etc to at least make things look semi real.

I have a clip I am nearly finished that I will probably post somewhere despite it being very basic… it shows Genesis in iClone and what a total beginer with iClone can do after just a few days playing with it… and besides it looks very pretty the way I have set it up… but I need to find some different music if i want to put it on somewhere like YouTube… that’s a pity though as it works so well with REM lol.

there is definitely a lot to like about iClone and once I learn a bit more I am sure I will be able to do some very cool stuff…. definitely lots of surreal ambient stuff that will look amazing…. I just want to make my genesis close her eyes a little and have a tear roll down her cheek and to look like she is breathing and then this would be amazing.

Anyway enough from me… even though I had some hassles and there are some major limitations I think it will end up being a well spent $500 as the potential for fun and creativity is huge.

DAZ are partnering with iClone now so maybe we can get a dedicated iClone forum as I would love to find out about things like animating DAZ hair in iClone and using DS Dynamic clothes and once I start playing with the MoCap I would love to be creating some pose sets and bringing them into DS…. hmmm and I do need to find out more about how you create content like clothes and custom figures for the native iClone models.

So much to play with and so few spare hours these days.

Thanks again for your info Wendy and also for initially piquing my interest in iClone.

I hope people tell you that your enthusiasm and your creativity rock!

 Signature 

Please check out my new art gallery below
A New York based fine art gallery where I am showing a collection of my work

http://www.trilliumgallery.com/maynard-ellis.html


Also checkout my FAA gallery where I have a much larger sample of my art
FAA may appeal to many artists here as they offer a great service for artists to sell prints of their work

http://maynard-ellis.fineartamerica.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 September 2012 03:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 58 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7165
Joined  2009-07-13

you can only retexture and move vertices around on the mesh of the iClone iAvatars unless you have 3ds MAX!
I CAN for example export uppers, lowers etc into Carrara, use softselect in the vertex room to lengthen coats, skirts etc but cannot add or remove or otherwise cange the vertex order or they will not replace mesh in 3dxchange, works exactly like morphloader in Daz studio actually.
I can paint textures with Carrara’s 3D paint too.
so you cannot create new clothes, only modify existing stuff.
unless you have Max, there is a 3dsMax plugin developers use for making their content.

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
my gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 September 2012 04:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 59 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4607
Joined  2004-07-01
wendy♥catz - 07 September 2012 03:19 AM

you can only retexture and move vertices around on the mesh of the iClone iAvatars unless you have 3ds MAX!
I CAN for example export uppers, lowers etc into Carrara, use softselect in the vertex room to lengthen coats, skirts etc but cannot add or remove or otherwise cange the vertex order or they will not replace mesh in 3dxchange, works exactly like morphloader in Daz studio actually.
I can paint textures with Carrara’s 3D paint too.
so you cannot create new clothes, only modify existing stuff.
unless you have Max, there is a 3dsMax plugin developers use for making their content.

what about clone cloth and gimp - can’t you use that ?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 September 2012 04:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 60 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7165
Joined  2009-07-13

yes, I said you can retexture the clonecloth
and I use MS paint!!!
3D paint is easier though!!!
you can see in 3D what you are doing

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
my gallery

Profile
 
 
   
4 of 12
4