Digital Art Zone

 
     
Can’t Get Smart Content To come back…
Posted: 16 July 2012 12:47 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  308
Joined  2004-09-07

Daz Studio 4 Pro 4.0.3.47 - Windows 7 ...

I’ve chosen Content Library on the right… click the small menu at the top right… opened it up and reset the Content DB Maintenance and after resetting it, I’ve click re-important Metadata ... when the product box opened, I clicked accept yadda yadda… no joy.

I restarted my computer, did it again… no joy.

I uninstalled it - and then reinstalled it. no Joy…

So uuuhhh, like… what’s going on? What’s happening with this version?

 Signature 

Mercedes Keyes
Amber Swann Publishing Inc.
Facebook
Published Novels
DeviantArt
3D Graphics Art Community - Google+ Join me there

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 July 2012 01:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1336
Joined  2006-03-14

Can you verify that the Content Management Service is actually running?


Do you have it blocked by a firewall?

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 July 2012 03:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  308
Joined  2004-09-07

I haven’t a clue. It has never been blocked before… it was working fine up until yesterday. So I can’t imagine how it could have gotten blocked? How do I check the above questions to know?

 Signature 

Mercedes Keyes
Amber Swann Publishing Inc.
Facebook
Published Novels
DeviantArt
3D Graphics Art Community - Google+ Join me there

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 July 2012 04:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  224
Joined  2005-09-03

If you open the Task Manager and go to the Services Tab, you should be able to check there.  If it is not running, go to:

Start> All Programs> DAZ 3D> DAZ Content Management Service

and choose Start DAZ Content Management Service.

(This assumes you are running Win 7 for any others with this issue.  It is a bit diff in prior versions of Windows.)


Edited to Add: In Win 7, Go to the Control Panel and select System & Security>Windows Firewall> Allowed Programs.

This should allow you to see if it is in the list and unchecked.  In my case, it isn’t even listed.  smile  Since it is running local and not communicating with the internet, mine is set to allow local program access.

Kat

 Signature 

Kat
_______________________________________
My Digital Art Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 July 2012 05:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  308
Joined  2004-09-07

WOW… learn something new everyday!!! That worked, thank you sooo much DLD… it’s back up and running. I never knew about that! hahahahahaaa LOL

 Signature 

Mercedes Keyes
Amber Swann Publishing Inc.
Facebook
Published Novels
DeviantArt
3D Graphics Art Community - Google+ Join me there

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 July 2012 05:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8381
Joined  2007-11-06

In the Content Library tab, if there is nothing at all in Categories, then either the CMS is not running or something is blocking DS4 from communicating with it:

Image Attachments
is_cms_running.jpg
 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 July 2012 06:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  224
Joined  2005-09-03
Mercedesk - 16 July 2012 05:36 PM

WOW… learn something new everyday!!! That worked, thank you sooo much DLD… it’s back up and running. I never knew about that! hahahahahaaa LOL

Glad to help.  smile

 Signature 

Kat
_______________________________________
My Digital Art Gallery

Profile