Digital Art Zone

2 of 7
3ds Max and DAZ Content Discussion and Resource Thread
Posted: 24 August 2012 02:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Total Posts:  9
Joined  2005-04-07

Thanks for the info, I’ll give it a read.

Posted: 18 September 2012 12:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  506
Joined  2009-11-22

Interesting info here. Thanks.
R

Posted: 07 October 2012 12:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Total Posts:  17
Joined  2012-08-22

I’ve been looking for a daz to max help thread for a while now!

I’m still new to 3d in general but I have a few problems…

1. Importing an fbx from daz causes max to use up all my memory. (It is only one character with clothing)

2. I’ve gotten collada files to import fine and the materials are applied but the hair and eylashes lose their opacity and appear blocky.

3. I have no idea how to make the rigging work properly haha.

I’m going to check out the resources you posted, there’s so much I have to learn to get up to speed. Makes me appreciate how simple daz makes it.

Posted: 07 October 2012 05:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  475
Joined  2009-01-30

Hi there SF4….

Hmmm…  I’ve not had had any trouble importing FBX - double check to make sure you’re *not* embedding the textures - The fbx export will maintain a pointer to the location of the original files for the materials that are created in 3ds max.

Hope that helps. 

I don’t pretend to be an expert ... I’ve only been at it for less than a year.

Yes, I do appreciated what DAZ does beyond words.  But I want the power 3ds max offers so it’s always a trade off.  Here’s one of my latest renders done with 3ds Max - I used the Sky System which is amazing, then touched it up in post with Photoshop brushes—Ron’s Fog for clouds and Ron’s birds.

Also, when export animation via FBX the rigging comes over!  http://www.digitaltutors.com has lots of tutorials on CAT and rigging for Max.  I’ve learned so much there.

Image Attachments
Carnival.jpg
 Signature