Digital Art Zone

 
     
Two questions about using Dystopia City Blocks!
Posted: 15 July 2012 11:59 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  73
Joined  2011-06-25

I am new to this things but love DAZ very much and what you can do with it!

I get the Dystopia Cityblocks 11 - 20p and it says that each block should fit the grid by 400 meterx400meter
very easy! Then I load up one block and have the Genises figure there! The figure looks like King Kong
or a “GIANT”. To get it looks ok, I have to scale the block up 1400%!

My questions is what do I do wrong?

I am totally new to this and now discover in the information!
•Requires Poser 5 or above. Some features require Poser 6 or above
What does that mean? Do I need to get Poser 9 to have everything working?

Thanks in advance!

Image Attachments
Test.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 July 2012 01:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4894
Joined  2004-07-01

no you don’t need poser - some models are going to be to big or to small in DS
just the way it is .
just make one or the other bigger or smaller .

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 July 2012 02:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  559
Joined  2003-10-09

Dystopia blocks were meant to do really large scale cities. They’re not meant for street level renders.


If you want to use them that way you will just have to use the scaling.


If you want a large scale view with some REALLY tiny people, I suggest you get some low res people.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 July 2012 02:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  73
Joined  2011-06-25

Thanks for the reply!

I was just little confused then it say it should fit the grid and also the size of
the blocks should be 400 meter x 400 meter!

I was thinking what would be best scale up the individual blocks or scale down
the people! Depends on what kind of scene I will do and then render!

Thanks!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 July 2012 05:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  566
Joined  2003-10-09

Create a primitive plane in DAZ Studio and give it 400 x 400 meter dimensions, then scale distopia to cover that plane.

 Signature 

Render with muscle! SimonWM DAZ Store.
For Previews and Insight SimonWM Official Facebook Page.
Artist Page My Gallery at Deviant Art.
For Videos My Youtube Channel.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 July 2012 06:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8199
Joined  2009-05-14

I have all the Dystopia Freebies for the Daz Store some years ago and it came with a few scaling presets. One bieng 1200% which I think corresponds to the hieght of the figures.

They should be under Poser Formats > Dystopia > City Blocks

Image Attachments
DystopisScale.jpg
 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile