Digital Art Zone

 
   
3 of 4
3
24 Cores Of Rendering Goodness
Posted: 17 July 2012 09:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 31 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1413
Joined  2011-01-03
swordkensia - 17 July 2012 09:35 AM

In your scene settings you state.

Sky light - true

IDL - true

Lighting Quality - excellent..


Those settings would indicate that you DO have IDL / GI enabled for your scene..unless I am mis-undertsanding your nomenclature.


OK…there is no smiley for a facepalm… red face  That will have to do!


IDL = Indirect Lighting ... but I my tortured mind I associated “IDL” with lighting photometric profile for some reason… My bad.

 Signature 

- Garstor
Australian-Canadian currently trapped in Texas (maintaining sanity with doses of Carrara, LightWave and PhotoShop)

My 3D art Flickr page for final or near-final images
My 3D art Flickr page for work-in-progress or experiments

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 July 2012 10:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 32 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  227
Joined  2005-10-18

Lol..


No worries sir..!!!


I would still be interested to know what your core utalisation is for that scene though.


SK.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 July 2012 12:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 33 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1413
Joined  2011-01-03
swordkensia - 17 July 2012 10:26 AM

I would still be interested to know what your core utalisation is for that scene though.


I did note earlier in this thread that I would occasionally see the CPUs drop to near zero in Performance Monitor. That was before this “render benchmark” experiment.


I’ll probably do another set of renders, with and without IDL, while capturing the CPU counters. I’ll likely turn down some of those settings (RoguePilot pointed out to me in a PM that they were needless anyway…just part of my continuing education) so that the render doesn’t take so long.


It would be interesting to see if IDL can be linked to those CPU drops—I had initially assumed that the L1 cache was being invalidated for some reason.

 Signature 

- Garstor
Australian-Canadian currently trapped in Texas (maintaining sanity with doses of Carrara, LightWave and PhotoShop)

My 3D art Flickr page for final or near-final images
My 3D art Flickr page for work-in-progress or experiments

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 July 2012 08:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 34 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  137
Joined  2005-10-11

Hey Garstor,

did you try bench marking the Beast? (see this thread from the old forum)

The file is available here.

Would be interesting to see your time. wink

 Signature 

My YouTube channel 
www.blenderportal.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 July 2012 02:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 35 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4895
Joined  2004-07-01

8 cores - 3.38

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 July 2012 02:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 36 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  227
Joined  2005-10-18

2:01 -  6 core / 12 thread, Intel 3930K running at @ 4.2 ghz. though the bucket size of 128 is not the best option for large multi core machines.


reducing the bucket size to 16 resulted in a time of:


1:32 as all cores were fully utilised for the full course of the render.


Peace,


S.K.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 July 2012 08:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 37 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1413
Joined  2011-01-03

I finally captured a Performance Monitor trace during one of the renders of my scene (BTW, I’ll definitely check out that benchmark render scene and post results here as soon as I can).


I took the advice from RoguePilot and experimented with dialing back some of the render settings. It made quite a difference in render time and very little difference in final image quality. That was a useful learning experience.


So that first “all-out” render took about 3.5 hours. Dialing it back a bit (Antialiasing “Good”, Object Acc. 1 pixel, Shadow Acc. 2 pixels, Lighting Quality Excellent, Lighting Accuracy 1 pixel) took 3 hours & 4 minutes. Dialing back even further (Antialiasing “Good”, Object Acc. 2 pixels, Shadow Acc. 2 pixels, Lighting Quality Good, Lighting Accuracy 4 pixels) dropped the time to 1 hour & 24 minutes.


What surprised me was the PerfMon results of that last render:

You can clearly see that some cores (specifically number 6 thru 11) hover around the 70% mark. The rest of the cores hover around 15%. The highlighted black line is the average of all the cores—21.14%


I suspect this difference stems from the implementation of the multi-threaded rendering code. For some reason it is not able to (or designed not to) use the cores evenly. The work loads are not created equal…


Edit: Trying to get the PerfMon capture to display…dammit…I give up…blasted forum software…

 Signature 

- Garstor
Australian-Canadian currently trapped in Texas (maintaining sanity with doses of Carrara, LightWave and PhotoShop)

My 3D art Flickr page for final or near-final images
My 3D art Flickr page for work-in-progress or experiments

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 July 2012 11:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 38 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  137
Joined  2005-10-11

Swordkensia,

2:01??!!!  Smo-kin!  


My ASUS G-73 clocked at 7:15…....it’s reasonably fast for me. Will try it on my Octane box later.

smile

 Signature 

My YouTube channel 
www.blenderportal.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 July 2012 06:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 39 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1413
Joined  2011-01-03
megacal - 18 July 2012 08:37 PM

Hey Garstor,

did you try bench marking the Beast? (see this thread from the old forum)

The file is available here.

Would be interesting to see your time. wink


I opened the file and went straight to the render room, no tweaks to the settings. Because it was set to produce a 400x400 image, the renderer was not able to use all the cores with the default render tile size of 128. So I got a time of 3:36.

I rendered again with a tile size of 48 and got a time of 1:42.

I rendered again with a tile size of 16 and got a time of 1:34.

 Signature 

- Garstor
Australian-Canadian currently trapped in Texas (maintaining sanity with doses of Carrara, LightWave and PhotoShop)

My 3D art Flickr page for final or near-final images
My 3D art Flickr page for work-in-progress or experiments

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 July 2012 06:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 40 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7907
Joined  2006-03-19

Wow that’s fast. I want one.

 Signature 

ARTCollaborations Store on DAZ3D    ARTCollaborations on Facebook

*****Ravenwood Cemetery*****  

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 July 2012 01:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 41 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  137
Joined  2005-10-11

1:34!!!! Aus-some, mate!  grin


It will really shine when you start doing animations.


My Octane box did 6:02 with the defaults settings and tile size….better than I expected (vs my i7)

Didn’t know (tile) size made a difference.
Will try it out. smile

 Signature 

My YouTube channel 
www.blenderportal.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 July 2012 02:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 42 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  137
Joined  2005-10-11

5:40 after changing tile size from the default 128 to 16….....not earth shattering, but
better.

Haven’t tried over-clocking, etc yet.

 Signature 

My YouTube channel 
www.blenderportal.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 July 2012 10:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 43 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  137
Joined  2005-10-11

Garstor,

how are you keeping your machine cool? Extra fans? Oversized heat sinks?


....in Texas in a heat wave!  =O

 Signature 

My YouTube channel 
www.blenderportal.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 July 2012 06:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 44 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5942
Joined  2006-08-27
Garstor - 19 July 2012 08:04 AM

I finally captured a Performance Monitor trace during one of the renders of my scene (BTW, I’ll definitely check out that benchmark render scene and post results here as soon as I can)...

...What surprised me was the PerfMon results of that last render:

You can clearly see that some cores (specifically number 6 thru 11) hover around the 70% mark. The rest of the cores hover around 15%. The highlighted black line is the average of all the cores—21.14%


I suspect this difference stems from the implementation of the multi-threaded rendering code. For some reason it is not able to (or designed not to) use the cores evenly. The work loads are not created equal…


Edit: Trying to get the PerfMon capture to display…dammit…I give up…blasted forum software…


Some of Carrara’s features only will use one processor. I don’t know what they are off-hand, but seem to recall that maybe physics was calculated with one processor, and there might have been a render setting or two….

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 July 2012 03:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 45 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  137
Joined  2005-10-11

After looking into overclocking, decided it wasn’t worth the risk of over-heating.

Was happily surprised that the machine I built didn’t meltdown when I turned it on,
that it still works fine after a year, and that it even beat the time of my ASUS G-73
that has an i7 and 8 cores (hyperthreaded) vs the Phenom II X4 955 in the home
built Octane box.


Garstor,

have fun with your new super computer….sounds like top of the line components.


And wait till it gets cold this winter…...it’ll be a great space heater. cheese

 Signature 

My YouTube channel 
www.blenderportal.com

Profile
 
 
   
3 of 4
3