Digital Art Zone

1 of 2
Text Input? Or am I over thinking this! 
Posted: 14 July 2012 09:30 AM   [ Ignore ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  337
Joined  2011-12-30

I am new to making textures and need some input or to know if I am over thinking this which I often do. I use corel draw x4, paint.net and gimp when making textures.

On this Halloween texture, I need to make the pumpkin on the shirt look more part of the shirt rather than sitting on top of the shirt.

The third image has the most pumpkin art effects.

Thanks
Kimberly

Image Attachments
pumpkin-girl3.png
pumpkin-girl2.png
pumpkin-girl1.png
 Signature 

3D Artist Network.

Posted: 14 July 2012 12:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2322
Joined  2011-11-16

Two things:

1. The colors used in the pumpkin vary in tonality from the underlying color palatte (of the shirt) and if you bring this closer it will help, either by modifying colors or by using a filter layer above the images to blend them.

2. Try a Gaussian blur on the edges of the pumpkin to help it blend better into the underlying image. This should probably be point 1.

Signature 

Just because I may have a strong opinion doesn’t make it any more (or less) correct than any other, just that I feel passionately a particular way at that moment.

Posted: 14 July 2012 05:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  67
Joined  2009-02-20

Heya,

It might blend a bit more if you erase the fine line of white around the edge of the pumpkin.  I’ve found with my own work that sometimes when I add an image with a transparent background that it kind of has that white around the edge and when I erase it it seems to blend much better.  Maybe you could add a blanket stitch or something around the outside of the pumpkin too, so it looks more like an applique (not sure of the spelling on that one lol).

Posted: 14 July 2012 05:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
RankRank
Joined  2011-12-30

Thank you both for the input. It is very very helpful.