Digital Art Zone

 
     
Hair Thru The Hat
Posted: 12 July 2012 11:54 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  17
Joined  0

As this render shows M4 hair is sticking through his hat. How do I keep this from happening? I’m working on a Mac Pro 8 core in OSX 10.6.8 with Daz4 4.0.3.47. Any help?

Image Attachments
Mixs_Hair_Shows_Through_his_hat.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 July 2012 12:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3423
Joined  2007-06-22

I usually use Dforms, and a bit of post work to cover any little bits that are left.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 July 2012 05:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15717
Joined  2003-10-09

You can also render just the hat, then layer that over the full render and erase it as needed to only mask out the unwanted hair. Lyrra has a set of magnets to help with fitting hair under hats.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 July 2012 05:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8328
Joined  2009-05-14

Add to above it also depends on what the material zones are like as I have had some sucess in taking out the trans maps for certian zones and use 0% Opacity making certain parts of the hair invisible

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 July 2012 05:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17066
Joined  2003-10-09

Richard mentioned Lyrra’s magnet / deformer set. It can be found here http://www.daz3d.com/shop/deformers-plus-hat-head/

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 July 2012 06:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1874
Joined  2006-02-17

You can also use the “Polygon Group Editor” tool to select the hair polys that are poking thru and make them invisible.


Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 July 2012 07:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8328
Joined  2009-05-14
Kendall Sears - 13 July 2012 06:21 AM

You can also use the “Polygon Group Editor” tool to select the hair polys that are poking thru and make them invisible.


Kendall

Oh yeah I use that and never thought of doing that for hair Kendall. I am going now before I look more stupid….what you say too late. LOL

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 July 2012 07:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1874
Joined  2006-02-17
Kendall Sears - 13 July 2012 06:21 AM

You can also use the “Polygon Group Editor” tool to select the hair polys that are poking thru and make them invisible.


Kendall


I need to make a note here.  If using the PGE and you need to save the results, don’t use “Polygon Visibility -> Hide Selected” as this will not be retained across DS4 sessions.  If you need the “hides” to be persistent then use “Polygon Assignment -> Create Surface from Selected…”  to create a new Material Group.  Then you can assign all of the other polys to this same group.  From the surfaces tab, set the Opacity to 0% and you’ve now permanently set those polys invisible for that scene.


Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 July 2012 06:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2303
Joined  2010-12-18
Kendall Sears - 13 July 2012 07:49 AM
Kendall Sears - 13 July 2012 06:21 AM

You can also use the “Polygon Group Editor” tool to select the hair polys that are poking thru and make them invisible.


Kendall


I need to make a note here.  If using the PGE and you need to save the results, don’t use “Polygon Visibility -> Hide Selected” as this will not be retained across DS4 sessions.  If you need the “hides” to be persistent then use “Polygon Assignment -> Create Surface from Selected…”  to create a new Material Group.  Then you can assign all of the other polys to this same group.  From the surfaces tab, set the Opacity to 0% and you’ve now permanently set those polys invisible for that scene.


Kendall

Thanks so much for this, I just happened to need this today and it works like a charm. I actually never used the PGE until today but I was able to find it in the menu and follow your steps quickly.

Thanks again.

 Signature 

My deviantArt Pinup Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 December 2013 08:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  439
Joined  2010-09-18

Holy cow.  I’ve been doing things not just the hard way, but the stupidly hard way.  I guess you can learn something new even when you are an old codger.  Thanks, Kendall!

I can’t believe I didn’t see this originally, it would have saved me so much hair pulling (pun intended).

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 December 2013 08:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16403
Joined  2009-01-22

Tip: Got a Grass prop? Got Grass through your figures feet? Ta Da. PGE works here also.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2014 11:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  41
Joined  2011-12-03

Holy necro thread batman,
Seriously, I found this thread this morning, at its been a great help getting a Top Hat to work well with my Figures Gothic hair,
but there seems to be no simple way to undo hiding a given polygon once its hidden, say a piece of the hats band next to a piece of the hair poking through.
Any guidance would be appreciated.

http://www.anar-mura.com/sketchbook/2014/Claudia_v4GothicHairTopHat..jpg

Profile