Digital Art Zone

 
     
Can you create a cube and then separately uv map each surface?
Posted: 24 May 2012 04:44 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  67
Joined  2010-12-05

Can you create a cube and then separately uv map each surface?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2012 05:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  232
Joined  2004-05-27
BlitzMan - 24 May 2012 04:44 PM

Can you create a cube and then separately uv map each surface?

Im sure there is a way in carrara but as im kinda new to it i use this ...

http://www.unwrap3d.com/u3d/index.aspx

wink

 

 Signature 

Intel i7 870/2.93 GHz
RAM 16GB
3x GTX 660 Ti 2GB
Cuda v5.00
Win7 Ult 64-bit/OSX ML
Carrara 8.5 Pro
OR 4 Carrara - OR4C Stable & betas
Blender 1.55 - 4.10 beta
Ds pro 4.6 Win64
OR Standalone V2.0
OcDS: stable & betas
OR 4 Poser 1.55
http://www.neil-isted.com/
http://www.neil-isted.com/videos.html
http://www.neil-isted.com/gallery.html
http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=79&t=42152
http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=79

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2012 08:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  271
Joined  2005-08-20

Using Cubic Projection to uv map a cube is a rather trivial exercise in Hexagon that does not require an external program, Orion_Uk.

 Signature 

*Sigh* Window->Tabs->Tool Settings->Draw Style->Manipulation: Off
Yeah. It’s like that.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2012 09:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7656
Joined  2009-07-13

in Carrara I would just create a new shading domain on each side and flat map it, in the shader room as well picking that face.
otherwise a cube is usually 6 pictures on a 3x2 sqaure unwrapped depending on what uv mapping is applied to the obj
so just shuffle and rotate your clipboard piccys using irfanview’s panorama function or paint’s area select until they go where you want.

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2012 09:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  232
Joined  2004-05-27
Ascania - 24 May 2012 08:59 PM

Using Cubic Projection to uv map a cube is a rather trivial exercise in Hexagon that does not require an external program, Orion_Uk.


My bad..lol.

 

 

 Signature 

Intel i7 870/2.93 GHz
RAM 16GB
3x GTX 660 Ti 2GB
Cuda v5.00
Win7 Ult 64-bit/OSX ML
Carrara 8.5 Pro
OR 4 Carrara - OR4C Stable & betas
Blender 1.55 - 4.10 beta
Ds pro 4.6 Win64
OR Standalone V2.0
OcDS: stable & betas
OR 4 Poser 1.55
http://www.neil-isted.com/
http://www.neil-isted.com/videos.html
http://www.neil-isted.com/gallery.html
http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=79&t=42152
http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=79

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2012 11:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1370
Joined  2008-01-01

in Carrara I would just create a new shading domain on each side and flat map it

You can do the same in Hex - just hide the faces not being mapped.

Seems pretty pointless on a simple cube, but is a handy method for something more complicated.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 May 2012 02:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  250
Joined  2009-01-27
BlitzMan - 24 May 2012 04:44 PM

Can you create a cube and then separately uv map each surface?

 
I’m not at all sure what you mean by “surface”.
 
If by “each surface” you mean “each face”, when you UV map a mesh, every vertex gets laid out on a plane. I know of no method or program that will allow you to, say, map a single face and its 4 vertices on a cube while not mapping the other vertices (and their associated faces).
 
You could manually delete any “unwanted” vertices/faces (if these are what you mean by “surfaces”?) from the OBJ file with a text editor, but that gets complicated and I don’t know what purpose it would serve.
 
Now once you map a cube into its 6 faces, you can easily apply a texture to a single face and no others (althiugh the “untextured” faces will assume the background color of the texture map you apply).
 
OTOH, as Wendy♥catz and Roygee intimate, you may mean “shading domain” when you say “surface”. If this is the case, then yes, using hexagon you can assign separate shading domains to various faces and apply separate texture maps to each of them.
 

 Signature 

For any arguments or illustrations I give, my system specs are:
Hexagon version 2.5.1.79,  XP pro 32 bit,  pentium core2 duo,  ATI radeon 3870, 2 gigs ram

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 May 2012 05:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  30
Joined  2011-11-16

Following this topic, I stumbled upon this one: http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/artzone/pub/tutorials/hexagon/hexagon-misc15

I export my cube to a 3DS file, and textures do not appear. Not in Bryce, not in Daz, not in my game engine, not in Wings3D. Can someone tell me if there’s any special setting I need to set up.

Thanks be to you.

 Signature 

smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 May 2012 08:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1370
Joined  2008-01-01

I’m no expert on the .3DS format, not needing it much, but it appears that Hex does not write shading domains or a texture file when exporting in that format.

However, if you export as .obj, or .car, open in Carrara and export as .3ds, Carrara does export shading and textures - as far as I can tell, DS does not import .3ds

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 May 2012 09:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  30
Joined  2011-11-16

Carrara… You serious? Surely you jest, my lord. The software you so distinctly write about has quite a steep price tag for a scoundrel such as I. I thank you for thy advice, and hereby posit my thanks.

 Signature 

smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 May 2012 11:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  383
Joined  2003-10-09

afreaginname:

Just as it is possible to assign a separate Material/Shader Zone to each and every facet of a mesh, one can assign separate UV’s to each facet (separated/non-stitched facets) in UV space.  It surely can be done, but I wouldn’t recommend it (for usual mapping).

I don’t do it as a rule, but it can easily be done in Wings3D, and I have done it on a default sphere in W3D as a test before.  You can also auto-single facet map using W3D “Snap Image” function as well.

There, now you know of at least one software that can do this.  You should give it a try.  It is great fun.

Take care all…
Ken

 Signature 

Take care all..        “It’s easy to clean up when you got money.”        *Old Post Count:  Don’t know, don’t care…  *New Site Status:  Doesn’t matter one iota.
Ken

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 May 2012 01:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  236
Joined  2005-01-15

A fairly easy way to get the result you want is to use the unfold tool in the UV & Paint tab, Select edges then press CTRL & A, then in the UV view click on the + key and the little face. This will give separate the faces for you, all you have to do is rotate and scale them (keeping things with-in the grid).

I would recommend using UVmapper (free) to scale the map.

Image Attachments
cube-faces.jpg
 Signature 

My DAZ Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 May 2012 01:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7656
Joined  2009-07-13
eyeliner - 25 May 2012 09:19 AM

Carrara… You serious? Surely you jest, my lord. The software you so distinctly write about has quite a steep price tag for a scoundrel such as I. I thank you for thy advice, and hereby posit my thanks.

lol! I just said what I would do in Carrara as it is the software I am familiar with using it since C5pro
have Hexagon too and assume you can do the same thing, just never tried it.
as a result I have no idea how but guess you select polys on each face in turn and create domains you can apply planar uv mapping to, or box mapping since it is a cube!
with the latter the seperate texture maps would have 5 empty squares and an image for each surface in the corresponding 6th or just one map of 3x2 images,
unwrapping which I definately can’t do would mean you could move those images to where they make sense for you, ie four walls in a row ceiling on top floor below or whatever you are doing.

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 May 2012 01:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1370
Joined  2008-01-01

Carrara… You serious? Surely you jest, my lord. The software you so distinctly write about has quite a steep price tag for a scoundrel such as I. I thank you for thy advice, and hereby posit my thanks.

Be of good cheer, young scoundrel - cyberspace is teeming with free applications waiting upon your command to do the conversion - Anim8or, Wings3D, Blender and the grandpappy of all, MeshLab.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 May 2012 06:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  271
Joined  2005-08-20
wendy♥catz - 26 May 2012 01:40 AM
eyeliner - 25 May 2012 09:19 AM

Carrara… You serious? Surely you jest, my lord. The software you so distinctly write about has quite a steep price tag for a scoundrel such as I. I thank you for thy advice, and hereby posit my thanks.

lol! I just said what I would do in Carrara as it is the software I am familiar with using it since C5pro
have Hexagon too and assume you can do the same thing, just never tried it.
as a result I have no idea how but guess you select polys on each face in turn and create domains you can apply planar uv mapping to, or box mapping since it is a cube!
with the latter the seperate texture maps would have 5 empty squares and an image for each surface in the corresponding 6th or just one map of 3x2 images,

Wrong! Box mapping allows you to have all sides overlap and have each one fill the complete UV map. Combined with separate shading domains for the sides there is absolutely no need to fiddle with empty squares.

 Signature 

*Sigh* Window->Tabs->Tool Settings->Draw Style->Manipulation: Off
Yeah. It’s like that.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 May 2012 02:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  30
Joined  2011-11-16
Roygee - 26 May 2012 01:44 AM

Carrara… You serious? Surely you jest, my lord. The software you so distinctly write about has quite a steep price tag for a scoundrel such as I. I thank you for thy advice, and hereby posit my thanks.

Be of good cheer, young scoundrel - cyberspace is teeming with free applications waiting upon your command to do the conversion - Anim8or, Wings3D, Blender and the grandpappy of all, MeshLab.

I agree with your reasoning and use Wings3D plentifully to a good measure of success.

I dived on that cyberspace scenario and got me a recent version of that Blender stuff. How convoluted it is. Either way, I came to figure that Hexagon makes this task also. Not Wings3D simple, but fairly close.

Praise be thy helpful souls, my friends.

 Signature 

smile

Profile