Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Wouldn’t It Be Nice If SmartProps Worked With More Than Just One Figure… 
Posted: 30 March 2014 11:09 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  456
Joined  2007-09-01

[DAZ Studio version now uploaded - see post #7]

How about smartprops that work with around 50+ different figures?
Smartprops that are smart enough to automatically apply an appropriate hand pose?

That’s the idea behind the five Smart+ Poser props, the PropGoto+ Poser pose file, and the associated PoserPython scripts in my latest “Generic Smart+ And PropGoto+ For Poser 6+” freebie upload…

- ShareCG: http://www.sharecg.com/v/75429/gallery/11/Poser/Generic-Smart+-And-PropGoto+-For-Poser-6+
- Renderosity Freestuff: http://www.renderosity.com/mod/freestuff/?item_id=73724

Five Smart+ Props included:
- Dha (S.E.Asian sword)
- Three S.E. Asian shields
- A water jar scoop

PropGoto+ allows you to:
- Move a previously loaded Smart+ prop from anywhere in the scene to any supported figure’s hand, including from one hand to the other, or from one figure’s hand to another figure’s hand.
- Move an ordinary prop (i.e. non-Smart+) in the same way as a Smart+ prop by using a Smart+ ‘DummyHand’ proxy (this is a little bit more complex, but once you know how it’s very easy - instructions included in the PDF User Guide, and a couple of helper poses/scripts are included to make it easier)

Three PDF guides included:
- A User Guide - the basics
- A Datafile Guide - how to edit the datafile to add support for new figures, adjust parameters for existing figures, and delete figures you never use.
- A ‘Make Your Own Smart+ Props’ guide - intended for people who use many different figures, and want to convert their existing props to work with the Smart+/PropGoto+ functionality.

Supported figures with the default datafile:
  - DAZ Gen 1-2: Aiko, Michael 1/2, Stephanie, Victoria 1/2.
  - DAZ Gen 3: Aiko 3, David, Hiro 3, Laura 3, Luke 3, Michael 3, Stephanie Petite 3, The FREAK, The Girl, Victoria 3.
  - DAZ Gen 4: Michael 4 (and Hiro 4, The FREAK 4), Victoria 4 (and Aiko 4, She-Freak 4, Stephanie 4, The Girl 4).
  - DAZ Gen 5: Genesis (original base figure only).
  - Poser 5: P5 Don, P5 Judy.
  - Poser 6: P6 James, P6 Jessi, Miki2, Miki4.
  - Poser 7: G2 Simon, G2 Sydney, G2 James, G2 Jessi.
  - Poser 8: Alyson, Ryan.
  - Poser 9: Alyson2, Ryan2 (and Tyler).
  - Sixus 1: Adam2, Behemoth, Behemoth2, HER, HIM, Project Human Female, Project Human Male, Thrusty.
  - Kirwyn’s: K, KEZ, KEZ-WM, KOZ-WM.
  - Others: Antonia, Apollo, Cynthia (BVH), Dawn (Hivewire), F202 Dollie, MayaDoll, The Princess/Heroine (Dark Anvil)

Image Attachments
PropGotoPlusPromo500.jpg
 Signature 

Website: UnrealImperfect | Freebies: Renderosity, ShareCG | ‘Art’: DeviantArt | Blog: Blogger
(aka Pete Williams)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2014 02:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  546
Joined  2006-05-04

This sounds really useful.  Even reposing a firearm can be a real pain.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2014 06:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  456
Joined  2007-09-01
Dark Rider - 31 March 2014 02:22 AM

This sounds really useful.  Even reposing a firearm can be a real pain.

Hmmm… I hadn’t actually considered firearms. The prop positioning/orientation and handgrip is targeted at props with a cylindrical handle/grip a couple of centimetres in diameter - swords, hammers, etc. Or the bright orange stick in the promo/icon!

However, if you make a slight manual adjustment to the index finger afterwards, it should work…

 Signature 

Website: UnrealImperfect | Freebies: Renderosity, ShareCG | ‘Art’: DeviantArt | Blog: Blogger
(aka Pete Williams)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 April 2014 09:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  456
Joined  2007-09-01

I’ve run into a couple of minor problems doing the DS version (one was a phantom, only in my head! The other means that the user’ll have to say whether the prop they’re using PropGoto+ on is Smart+ or not).

But while doing some screenshots to try and make sense of the phantom problem I realized that you can use Vicky as a proxy so other figures can snatch her smartprops…

1) Loading Vicky, loading her smartprop into her hand, then selecting just Vicky.
2) Loading the Smart+ DummyHand into Vicky’s smartprop hand.
3) Manually parenting the prop to the DummyHand.
4) Selecting one of the non-Vicky figures and the prop (not the DummyHand)
5) Running PropGoto+

 Signature 

Website: UnrealImperfect | Freebies: Renderosity, ShareCG | ‘Art’: DeviantArt | Blog: Blogger
(aka Pete Williams)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 April 2014 03:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2881
Joined  2004-10-25
Dark Rider - 31 March 2014 02:22 AM

This sounds really useful.  Even reposing a firearm can be a real pain.

Tell me about it.  I spent a long time yesterday trying to pose a long sword.

 Signature 

OK . . . Where’s my chocolate?     Post Count —> 3,263 and growing!     Visit my Renderosity Gallery

It’s what you learn after you know it all that counts ~ John Wooden

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 April 2014 05:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  456
Joined  2007-09-01

I’ve been asked about adding support for other figures. It’s rather easy really - you simply add five lines per figure to the ‘SmartPlusData.txt’ file. The procedure is explained in the ‘Datafile Guide’ PDF, and I’ve even included a utility script that will print the parameters for the HANDGOTO and RODGRIP datalines so you can just cut-and-paste.

Currently the only requirement for support to be possible is that the figure has the standard hand and finger bones - rHand, rThumb1, rThumb2, rThumb3,...rPinky1, rPinky2, rPinky3 (and just by chance, the utility script will crash if the figure doesn’t have the required dones in their hand - one way to check!)Out of all the figures I’ve tried only PollyGon and Anime Girl Kristen don’t meet this criterion.

Here’s the figure support data for three additional freebie figures. (N.B. Each of the five lines need to go in the appropriate section (sections are identified by lines beginning with a colon. And each section must have exactly the same figures in exactly the same order. I’ve added them to the end of my list, but I think they can go anywhere as I don’t see any name-clashes for the OBJ/CR2 against existing supported figures):

# Sixus1 Dwarvez (limited time freebie from the Sixus1 site)

:FIGUREIDS
Dwarvez

:FIGUREMATCHESOBJ
Dwarvez,DwarvezUpdate

:FIGUREMATCHESCR2
Dwarvez,!Dwarvez

:HANDGOTO
Dwarvez,10.0402,-0.0213,-58.9653,-0.2149,0.2769,-0.0099

:RODGRIP
Dwarvez,0.0,0.0,0.0,-7.0,-33.0,0.0,0.0,-51.0,0.0,0.0,-14.0,0.0,-14.0,-7.0,55.0,0.0,0.0,56.0,0.0,0.0,42.0,0.0,0.0,68.0,0.0,0.0,43.0,0.0,0.0,
27.0,0.0,0.0,60.0,0.0,0.0,49.0,0.0,0.0,30.0,0.0,-2.0,37.0,0.0,-7.0,58.0,0.0,0.0,38.0


# Sixus1 Goblin (ShareCG)

:FIGUREIDS
Goblin

:FIGUREMATCHESOBJ
Goblin,Goblin

:FIGUREMATCHESCR2
Goblin,Goblin

:HANDGOTO
Goblin,0.034,-3.0502,-89.9544,-0.2281,0.2763,0.0084

:RODGRIP
Goblin,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,58.0,0.0,-46.0,0.0,0.0,-32.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,79.0,0.0,0.0,101.0,0.0,0.0,29.0,0.0,0.0,79.0,0.0,0.0,94.0,0.0,0.0,31.0,0.0,
0.0,81.0,0.0,0.0,83.0,0.0,0.0,32.0,0.0,0.0,70.0,0.0,0.0,77.0,0.0,0.0,27.0


# Sixus1 Orc (ShareCG)

:FIGUREIDS
Orc

:FIGUREMATCHESOBJ
Orc,Orc

:FIGUREMATCHESCR2
Orc,Orc

:HANDGOTO
Orc,2.998,0.0,-90.0,-0.414,0.4949,0.0219

:RODGRIP
Orc,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,-37.0,30.0,6.0,-53.0,-18.0,0.0,0.0,-12.0,0.0,0.0,69.0,0.0,0.0,74.0,0.0,0.0,51.0,0.0,0.0,42.0,0.0,0.0,92.0,0.0,0.0,44.0,0.0,
0.0,73.0,0.0,0.0,92.0,0.0,0.0,40.0,0.0,0.0,67.0,0.0,0.0,107.0,0.0,0.0,55.0

(N.B. the RODGRIP dataline for each figure is a single long line. I’ve only split them across two lines because the forum can’t cope gracefully with it all on one line)

P.S. If anybody adds support for any other figures please feel free to post the five lines here.

 Signature 

Website: UnrealImperfect | Freebies: Renderosity, ShareCG | ‘Art’: DeviantArt | Blog: Blogger
(aka Pete Williams)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 April 2014 11:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  456
Joined  2007-09-01

A couple of hundred downloads in total so far, and no problems reported yet… so I’m working on the basis that ‘no news is good news’!  smile

Seriously - if anybody runs into any problems (anything from script crashes to bad grammar in the PDFs to bad Python) please let me know and I’ll try and resolve it. After I’ve released the DAZ Studio version (ETA hopefully later this week, maybe next week) I plan to do an update to the Poser version. Two items planned so far:
- a fix to the ‘Smart+ prop not deleted/saved with figure’ known problem
- a mod to allow it to work for figures without articulated fingers

Edit 18th April: Minor delay to the DS version - sanding/painting doors and windows in another world is sapping all my energy at present…

 Signature 

Website: UnrealImperfect | Freebies: Renderosity, ShareCG | ‘Art’: DeviantArt | Blog: Blogger
(aka Pete Williams)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 April 2014 01:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  456
Joined  2007-09-01

Finally got there - DAZ Studio version released and uploaded to ShareCG as Generic Smart+ And PropGoto+ For DAZ Studio 3+ (and on the way at Renderosity).

Basically it’s the same as the Poser version but done in DAZ Script instead of PoserPython.

Tested in DS3.1.2.32 and DS4.6.1.17 on a Windows 7 PC

N.B. All Smart+ Props are currently in Poser native format (i.e. PP2 files) - I haven’t got round to creating any DAZ Studio native Smart+ Props yet.

Image Attachments
PropGoto+DSPromo500.jpg
 Signature 

Website: UnrealImperfect | Freebies: Renderosity, ShareCG | ‘Art’: DeviantArt | Blog: Blogger
(aka Pete Williams)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 April 2014 02:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2354
Joined  2007-12-07

Excellent stuff, shall grab this right away! smile  Thank you!

 Signature 

Some writings by a friend:
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/11.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/13.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/7.html

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2014 03:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  456
Joined  2007-09-01

Just in case anybody hadn’t realised - if you’re using an ordinary prop and the DummyHand proxy you should only need to do the setting up once. But I just realized there might be a problem in DAZ Studio:

- In Poser, once you have the prop positioned correctly in the proxy (and parented to it), simply save the proxy and prop together as a single prop to your prop library. In future you can load this new prop (it will load at the origin with the prop parented to the proxy), select the prop (not the proxy) and your figure, run the PropGoto+ pose script, and it’ll parent correctly to any of the supported figures.

- In DAZ Studio 4 it’s File > Save As > Scene Subset, and select the prop and proxy.

- But in DAZ Studio 3… well, I’m not sure. I always save my proxied props from Poser 6, and then simply load the PP2 in DAZ Studio - so I’d never tried saving props in DAZ Studio. I don’t have the foggiest idea how you save a prop and its child prop in DAZ Studio! If anybody can enlighten me I’d be delighted!

(Edited to specify that DS3 is the problem)

 Signature 

Website: UnrealImperfect | Freebies: Renderosity, ShareCG | ‘Art’: DeviantArt | Blog: Blogger
(aka Pete Williams)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2014 04:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8513
Joined  2007-11-06
3dcheapskate - 12 May 2014 03:58 AM

Just in case anybody hadn’t realised - if you’re using an ordinary prop and the DummyHand proxy you should only need to do the setting up once. But I just realized there might be a problem in DAZ Studio:

- In Poser, once you have the prop positioned correctly in the proxy (and parented to it), simply save the proxy and prop together as a single prop to your prop library. In future you can load this new prop (it will load at the origin with the prop parented to the proxy), select the prop (not the proxy) and your figure, run the PropGoto+ pose script, and it’ll parent correctly to any of the supported figures.

- In DAZ Studio 4 it’s File > Save As > Scene Subset, and select the prop and proxy.

- But in DAZ Studio 3… well, I’m not sure. I always save my proxied props from Poser 6, and then simply load the PP2 in DAZ Studio - so I’d never tried saving props in DAZ Studio. I don’t have the foggiest idea how you save a prop and its child prop in DAZ Studio! If anybody can enlighten me I’d be delighted!

(Edited to specify that DS3 is the problem)

In DS3 File > Save As > Scene

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2014 06:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  456
Joined  2007-09-01
fixmypcmike - 12 May 2014 04:32 AM

In DS3 File > Save As > Scene

Unfortunately that has no option to select specific items. And it doesn’t matter what items you’ve got selected, it saves everything - all the lights, figures,cameras, etc. (I just tried it again to be sure, as I often get things wrong!)

How do you save JUST a single prop and it’s child in DS3? As far as I know it’s not possible.

 Signature 

Website: UnrealImperfect | Freebies: Renderosity, ShareCG | ‘Art’: DeviantArt | Blog: Blogger
(aka Pete Williams)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2014 01:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8513
Joined  2007-11-06
3dcheapskate - 12 May 2014 06:35 AM
fixmypcmike - 12 May 2014 04:32 AM

In DS3 File > Save As > Scene

Unfortunately that has no option to select specific items. And it doesn’t matter what items you’ve got selected, it saves everything - all the lights, figures,cameras, etc. (I just tried it again to be sure, as I often get things wrong!)

How do you save JUST a single prop and it’s child in DS3? As far as I know it’s not possible.

Ah, right, you can’t create a smartprop in DS3.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2014 06:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22
fixmypcmike - 12 May 2014 01:16 PM
3dcheapskate - 12 May 2014 06:35 AM
fixmypcmike - 12 May 2014 04:32 AM

In DS3 File > Save As > Scene

Unfortunately that has no option to select specific items. And it doesn’t matter what items you’ve got selected, it saves everything - all the lights, figures,cameras, etc. (I just tried it again to be sure, as I often get things wrong!)

How do you save JUST a single prop and it’s child in DS3? As far as I know it’s not possible.

Ah, right, you can’t create a smartprop in DS3.

Nope only done in Script in DS3. As far as I know.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 May 2014 02:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  456
Joined  2007-09-01
Jaderail - 12 May 2014 06:53 PM

...
Nope only done in Script in DS3. As far as I know.

Writing a script to export a prop from a DS3 scene as a PP2 shouldn’t be too difficult - but to save reinventing the wheel (and coming up with a square one!) does anybody have a ready-made ‘Save Prop’ script for DS3?
DSA, free, and unrestricted use of course! (PFE only does poses).

 Signature 

Website: UnrealImperfect | Freebies: Renderosity, ShareCG | ‘Art’: DeviantArt | Blog: Blogger
(aka Pete Williams)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 May 2014 12:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  456
Joined  2007-09-01

Just started working on a minor update to the Smart+/PropGoto+ scripts, so if anybody’s had any problems now would be a good time to mention them!

1) Adding support for figures without the standard hand articulation. I’m allowing two alternative RODGRIP dataline formats - one that tells the script to load an HD2 hand pose (why didn’t I think of that originally?), and the other that tells it not to bother with any hand pose.

2) Add the workaround to properly smartparent props in Poser, so they’ll be saved/deleted along with the figure

3)  Fix the materials in the DSA files

4) A few other minor odds and ends I’ve spotted…

 Signature 

Website: UnrealImperfect | Freebies: Renderosity, ShareCG | ‘Art’: DeviantArt | Blog: Blogger
(aka Pete Williams)

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1