Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
zBrush Transform Active Symmetry does not work posed.
Posted: 11 July 2012 10:54 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  197
Joined  2003-10-09

I happened to noticed that Transform Active Symmetry X
Does not work on Genesis V5 Super Model when she has been posed.

Have not testesd with any other Genesis morph.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 July 2012 03:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3400
Joined  2009-08-05

Ummm that is very broad. Show us a pic or explain exactly what it is you are trying to do in Zbrush and what is not working in daz or on Genesis. Are you talking about active symmetry creating a morph or what?

 Signature 

My Daz Store
My Rendo Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 July 2012 04:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  197
Joined  2003-10-09

Using
zBrush 4R3 32 bit
D/S Pro 4.0.3.47 64 bit

Don’t remember this exactly

Probabaly had V5 polycount rased around 4 million.
Using zBrush sculpting brushes.standered,clay was sculpting on v5.

Was not making morphs ,guess that would be the move brush.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 July 2012 04:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14209
Joined  2003-10-09

What do you mean posed? if you sent a posed figure to ZBrush then it’s to be expected that symmetry in ZBrush will not work - the posed figure isn’t symmetrical.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 July 2012 06:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3400
Joined  2009-08-05
RorrKonn - 12 July 2012 04:33 AM

Using
zBrush 4R3 32 bit
D/S Pro 4.0.3.47 64 bit

Don’t remember this exactly

Probabaly had V5 polycount rased around 4 million.
Using zBrush sculpting brushes.standered,clay was sculpting on v5.

Was not making morphs ,guess that would be the move brush.

Sounds like you are subdividing your model. Also before you send genesis to zbrush it must be set on base with no subdivision. Also when you work on genesis in Zbrush subdivide smooth modifier MUST be turned off. You can subdivide in zbrush to work on but before returning to Daz subdivision must be set back to default.

 Signature 

My Daz Store
My Rendo Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 July 2012 11:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4542
Joined  2004-08-11

Yup, staying vigilant about remembering to turn off sub-D before exporting and then once imported, clicking OFF the smoothing modifier in ZB is pretty important.  I’ve made plenty of mistakes and still can’t keep those two operations in my head all the time!  lol

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 July 2012 12:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  197
Joined  2003-10-09

When I try ( Transform / Use Poseable Symmetry ) on DAZ Genesis ,I get

Symestry results 7.21393% symestry points found. symestry map was not stored.

The mesh topolagy looks mirrored.

Do we have any tools ,that makes a mirrored mesh symestry correct ?

————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Richard : zBrush can model on posed figers.

Zev0 : Zbrush subdivide smooth modifier MUST be turned off. Your talking about the Geometry tools right ?

________________________________________________________________

RAMWolf the forum post with your tutorail where you made a monky morph ,You have the URL ?
You would not beleave how much trouble I have had with learning DAZ.
System Requirements alt to read and a iq 20+ higher then Rorrkonn’s.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 July 2012 02:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  197
Joined  2003-10-09

Found a Dynamic Clothing tutorial made buy DAZ on youtube

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zHWsD7Km2z4

it’s for a older version of D/S

In D/S Pro 4 64 bit where is dynamick cloth ?

————————————————————————————————

To make micro displacement maps in zBrush you half to model on V5.
Could not make those public huh ?

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 July 2012 03:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2208
Joined  2003-10-09
RorrKonn - 12 July 2012 12:06 PM

Richard : zBrush can model on posed figers.

 

It can model on any object…but if you want to use symmetry, then it has to be symmetrical…any natural pose is not symmetrical so it wont work for you.

R

 Signature 

A step away from the ordinary
http://www.daz3d.com/shop/rawart/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 July 2012 03:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14209
Joined  2003-10-09
RorrKonn - 12 July 2012 02:18 PM

Found a Dynamic Clothing tutorial made buy DAZ on youtube

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zHWsD7Km2z4

it’s for a older version of D/S

In D/S Pro 4 64 bit where is dynamick cloth ?

Window>Panes(Tabs)>Dynamic Clothing

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 July 2012 04:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14209
Joined  2003-10-09

I can confirm that the posable symmetry option isn’t working with Genesis (at all, it’s a function of the base mesh, not of the morphs or poses applied). Presuambly this means that the mesh isn’t full symmetric, at least as it is going to ZBrush. Symmetry on a zeroed figure does break on eight polygons in the upper arms on a zeroed Genesis, which may be the issue.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 July 2012 09:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4542
Joined  2004-08-11

WOW.. now that sucks.  Are you saying that morphs created using symmetry in ZBrush don’t work exactly as they should when applied to the figure in DS Richard?

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 July 2012 10:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3400
Joined  2009-08-05

They work perfectly fine. If you come across any poly breaks just gently smooth it out. I have not come any issues yet in my countless custom morphs using zbrush. Haven’t had any poly breaks using symmetry as well.

 Signature 

My Daz Store
My Rendo Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 July 2012 10:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4542
Joined  2004-08-11

I thought as much but curious as to what Richard was referring to then.

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 July 2012 10:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3400
Joined  2009-08-05

lol me too.

 Signature 

My Daz Store
My Rendo Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 July 2012 10:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4542
Joined  2004-08-11

Perhaps he was referring to that trick of posing one arm up and the other in default, fixing the “arm up” shoulder issue and then sending it back as a correction morph?

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1