Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Eagle 2 Expansion ... $30 for jpegs that don’t load?
Posted: 11 July 2012 06:46 PM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1298
Joined  2010-03-15

I just bought the Eagle 2 Expansion product. And what do I get? A zip file of nothing but jpegs that don’t even show up in the Daz interface.

The ad page boasts:

Features

  Fourteen raptor species (eagles, hawks, falcons, and kites) are included:
      American Kestrel (male and female)
      Black Eagle
      Blackhawk
      Black Kite
      Black-Shouldered Kite (also known as the White-Tailed Kite)
      Cara-Cara
      Golden Eagle
      Gyrfalcon (dark, grey, and white variants)
      Harpy Eagle
      Osprey
      Peregrine Falcon
      Red-Tailed Hawk (one Eastern and one Western variant)
      Steller’s Sea Eagle
      Swallow-Tailed Kite
Each species loads scaled to its appropriate size and with the species textures with MAT poses.
  Textures included:
      18 Body textures 3000x3000
      18 Wing/Tail Textures are 2000x2000
      3 Eye Textures 500x500
      Plus body feather trans + maps, leg feather trans + maps for each species


Where is the supposed scaling, the supposed expansion? When converting files over to zip, did Daz forget to include some files, or is this all I get?

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 July 2012 08:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3363
Joined  2012-02-06

I don’t know that product, but maybe try downloading and installing it again? I’ve installed things before only to find that there were files missing, and it turned out that not everything came through the first time I downloaded it.

 Signature 

Community Volunteer
Monthly New User Contests!

My tutorials and FAQs | My Gallery | My Render Thread
Visit my world… Tornalia.com | http://scottlivingston.deviantart.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 July 2012 08:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1298
Joined  2010-03-15
Scott-Livingston - 11 July 2012 08:06 PM

I don’t know that product, but maybe try downloading and installing it again? I’ve installed things before only to find that there were files missing, and it turned out that not everything came through the first time I downloaded it.


I’ll try it again. It would help if the new site gave us an estimated file size so I can tell if the whole file downloads ...

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 July 2012 08:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7589
Joined  2009-05-14

Ok first off it does say in bold in your post that Scaling is automatic when you load the species you want.


Secondly did you get two files? I am presuming there is no metadata for this product. If that is the case then they should show up in Poser Formats or Daz Studio Formats in the Content Library Pane and not Smart Content. I would check but I don’t have this expansion pack yet.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 July 2012 08:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1298
Joined  2010-03-15
Szark - 11 July 2012 08:39 PM

Ok first off it does say in bold in your post that Scaling is automatic when you load the species you want.


Secondly did you get two files? I am presuming there is no metadata for this product. If that is the case then they should show up in Poser Formats or Daz Studio Formats in the Content Library Pane and not Smart Content. I would check but I don’t have this expansion pack yet.


That’s what I am trying to say. I only have one zip file with only one texture file in it. None of which shows up ANYWHERE in my Daz interface. There is nothing to load. The zip file looks like this:

Image Attachments
2.jpg
 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 July 2012 09:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7589
Joined  2009-05-14

Sorry misunderstood. Ok then unfortunatley we can’t do anything from here. You will have to make a support ticket to sales or phone them if your are in the states. Sorry about that.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 July 2012 05:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5565
Joined  2006-02-20
AidanaWillowRaven - 11 July 2012 08:52 PM
Szark - 11 July 2012 08:39 PM

Ok first off it does say in bold in your post that Scaling is automatic when you load the species you want.


Secondly did you get two files? I am presuming there is no metadata for this product. If that is the case then they should show up in Poser Formats or Daz Studio Formats in the Content Library Pane and not Smart Content. I would check but I don’t have this expansion pack yet.


That’s what I am trying to say. I only have one zip file with only one texture file in it. None of which shows up ANYWHERE in my Daz interface. There is nothing to load. The zip file looks like this:

But it is in a perfectly fine runtime structure - which tells me that Daz borked it when they made the (probably ages old) installer into a zip.
Tell Support and they will fix it.

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 July 2012 06:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13559
Joined  2003-10-09

I do have a fairly full set of textures, not just one, but I don’t see the pz2 files in the zip.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 July 2012 06:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5565
Joined  2006-02-20
Richard Haseltine - 12 July 2012 06:01 AM

I do have a fairly full set of textures, not just one, but I don’t see the pz2 files in the zip.

Is that the original file?
Could you reset your downloads to find out about the new ones?
Aidana’s picture shows one of the new IM0000097-whatever zip file names.

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 July 2012 07:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1298
Joined  2010-03-15

Thanks, guys.


Yes, I have reset the product, and re-downloaded twice, now. I also think that DAZ forgot key files when converting it to a zip. I will call today as soon as they open. I’m just glad I’m not crazy ... lol.


So there are more files supposed to be included in this, right? It has it’s own morphs and such, right? And it its supposed to at least show u in the Daz interface under the contents tab, I presume, not a manually loaded texture?

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 July 2012 12:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13559
Joined  2003-10-09
Kerya - 12 July 2012 06:49 AM
Richard Haseltine - 12 July 2012 06:01 AM

I do have a fairly full set of textures, not just one, but I don’t see the pz2 files in the zip.

Is that the original file?
Could you reset your downloads to find out about the new ones?
Aidana’s picture shows one of the new IM0000097-whatever zip file names.


That was a reset - it has the textures, but not the pz2 files. This is being looked at by QA now.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 July 2012 08:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  554
Joined  2007-01-20
AidanaWillowRaven - 11 July 2012 08:09 PM
Scott-Livingston - 11 July 2012 08:06 PM

I don’t know that product, but maybe try downloading and installing it again? I’ve installed things before only to find that there were files missing, and it turned out that not everything came through the first time I downloaded it.


I’ll try it again. It would help if the new site gave us an estimated file size so I can tell if the whole file downloads ...

I have this product.  According to the information in my 3D Content Database, the file sizes are as follows:

Mac File Size: 66.43Mb in 2 files
PC File Size: 65.21Mb in 2 files

Hope that helps some.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 July 2012 05:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1298
Joined  2010-03-15
Richard Haseltine - 12 July 2012 12:15 PM
Kerya - 12 July 2012 06:49 AM
Richard Haseltine - 12 July 2012 06:01 AM

I do have a fairly full set of textures, not just one, but I don’t see the pz2 files in the zip.

Is that the original file?
Could you reset your downloads to find out about the new ones?
Aidana’s picture shows one of the new IM0000097-whatever zip file names.


That was a reset - it has the textures, but not the pz2 files. This is being looked at by QA now.


Thank you. I just bought this, thinking I could start my book cover right away, and was apprehensive to begin with since there were no other images listed but the one, to find I can do nothing with this file.


I really hope to get started soon before my client demands her money back.

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 July 2012 05:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1298
Joined  2010-03-15
3DProclivity - 12 July 2012 08:06 PM
AidanaWillowRaven - 11 July 2012 08:09 PM
Scott-Livingston - 11 July 2012 08:06 PM

I don’t know that product, but maybe try downloading and installing it again? I’ve installed things before only to find that there were files missing, and it turned out that not everything came through the first time I downloaded it.


I’ll try it again. It would help if the new site gave us an estimated file size so I can tell if the whole file downloads ...

I have this product.  According to the information in my 3D Content Database, the file sizes are as follows:

Mac File Size: 66.43Mb in 2 files
PC File Size: 65.21Mb in 2 files

Hope that helps some.


Thanks. It does help. What I downloaded is not near that size. But it’s just a zip file, so it’s hard to say.

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 July 2012 04:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1298
Joined  2010-03-15

You guys were right, the file was ‘broken’. The Daz team should have if fixed by the end of the day :D


Yeah!


On a side note, though, I found it alarming that the initial person helping me was in no way even familiar with Daz 3 ... AT ALL ... she didn’t even have working knowledge that there is no ‘library’ file or that us DS3 users get our textures and morphs under a ‘poses’ file.


In the end, she did help me. But if I were a tech support or sales support person, I would at least be familiar with a system that is not that old. It’s not like I’m using DS2 or 1 or something.


But as mentioned before, in the end she found the problem and set things in motion for it to be resolved. So even though she didn’t know DS3, she did have the tenacity to find someone who did and made me feel better. Daz gets an A, today, because of her :D Too many times I have called tech support, for any reason from any company, and had people not even care that they didn’t know an older software version. I was out of date, so I could not be helped. Such was not so today.


grin

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 July 2012 04:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7589
Joined  2009-05-14

To be fair a number of the Daz employees are newish and like anyone in a new job needs time to get product knowledge.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1