Digital Art Zone

 
     
meaning of small error message during render?
Posted: 16 March 2014 09:30 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  235
Joined  2014-01-27

anyone know the meaning of this type of error message during rendering. the rendering completes fine in all appearances.
using boudoir photo studio and lights backdrop prop during this one.

Image Attachments
Capture.JPG
Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 March 2014 12:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  726
Joined  2012-09-24

This error means one of the compiled shaders is corrupt. 

When you do a render, DAZ Studio compiles your shaders and optimizes your texture images for 3Delight. This data is written to the temporary file directory, which by default is in AppData/Roaming. When you exit DAZ Studio by default, it will delete all the data in these temporary directories.

You should only run one DAZ Studio window at a time. If you run more than one, then they will corrupt the data in the temporary directory.  Also the DAZ Studio process can take some time to really exit after the window disappears. Starting another window before the process really quits can cause this. If you only have small scenes loaded, this should not be a problem. I see this with huge scenes with 15+ characters and big sets.

I think there are also some bugs in DAZ Studio that can cause this to happen with some sequence of loading and saving, but I have never been able to pin it down.

When you get this error you can end up with one character or object which is all white or black.

When this happens, I save my scene, exit DAZ Studio, wait to make sure the process has quit (use task manager to make sure), then start DAZ Studio again, load the scene and render again. That seems to fix the problem.

 Signature 

DAZ Gallery

Renderosity Gallery

Deviant Art Gallery

My Art Studio Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 March 2014 12:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7859
Joined  2009-05-14

I have seen the message when Deep Shadow Maps are used too.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 March 2014 04:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  907
Joined  2007-01-04

S2069 the interface of shader ‘shader’ is invalid You have specified an invalid shader to 3Delight. Try recompile the shader from the source code

The mention of the “brickyard” in the error message, coupled with the above quote from the 3Delight manual, tells me that the bump/displacement code in your ShaderMixer shader hasn’t compiled correctly.

 Signature 

**shuffles of with a new headache** tongue wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 March 2014 08:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  235
Joined  2014-01-27

i guess uninstalling and re-installing might be the fix.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 March 2014 08:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14064
Joined  2003-10-09
joeinhose - 17 March 2014 08:39 AM

i guess uninstalling and re-installing might be the fix.

Unlikely. Clearing the temp folder (get the location from Edit>Preferences) might.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 March 2014 10:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  907
Joined  2007-01-04

The temp folder is where your “optimized” images are stored, you want the one next to it called shaders, in there you will find the brickyard folder, if DS has been shut down then that folder should be empty, if it isn’t then delete any folder/file you find in it.

If that doesn’t work then we would need to know if it’s a commercial shader your using, or if it’s a self made shader what the bump/disp setup looks like.

 Signature 

**shuffles of with a new headache** tongue wink

Profile