Digital Art Zone

 
   
33 of 100
33
Look at my Hair: official thread [Commercial] RELEASED!
Posted: 16 October 2012 01:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 481 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1158
Joined  2005-07-29
belovedalia - 16 October 2012 01:14 AM

if you export the hair as an object instead of renderman curves, I think you could probably end up rigging it and making morphs.  It would be faster to simply restyle the hair in LAMH, though!  And renderman curves render MUCH MUCH MUCH faster in DS than the geometry obj does.  Alessandro would have a more def answer than I do, tho.

The reason I ask is so that if you want to make a hair product for those who DON’T have LAMH, it is possible to put some morphs into the hairstyle to change a few items.

 Signature 

<End of transmission from Oz>
TUTORIAL - Creating a Genesis/G2F/G2M Full Body Morph for DAZ Studio Pro 4.6 by RKane_1
TUTORIAL - Creating a Genesis Partial Body Morph in DAZ Studio Pro 4 Using the DForm Tool by RKane_1
TUTORIAL - Applying Shaders by RKane_1 (as stolen blatantly from Jaderail)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 October 2012 01:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 482 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1589
Joined  2005-02-25

I don’t see why not! I’ll give it a try later on and let you know smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 October 2012 01:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 483 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1158
Joined  2005-07-29

Thanks!

I figure it would help those who can’t quite afford the main product.

And provide vendors with new things to sell for those interested too.

I mean, I would still buy new hairstyles that had been pre-done if they were done well even if I had LAMH because it would save time but I am thinking of others who won’t have the money right away for it.

Will those products made with LAMH work in Poser?

 Signature 

<End of transmission from Oz>
TUTORIAL - Creating a Genesis/G2F/G2M Full Body Morph for DAZ Studio Pro 4.6 by RKane_1
TUTORIAL - Creating a Genesis Partial Body Morph in DAZ Studio Pro 4 Using the DForm Tool by RKane_1
TUTORIAL - Applying Shaders by RKane_1 (as stolen blatantly from Jaderail)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 October 2012 07:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 484 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2865
Joined  2004-04-14
RKane_1 - 16 October 2012 01:59 AM

Will those products made with LAMH work in Poser?

Its stated that LAMH will export OBJ versions of the hair.  You can then import that in to DS or Poser to complete the HR2 or CR2

I do not believe there will be an easy way of doing that

 

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 October 2012 08:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 485 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

I wanted to Post yesterday but I had issues due to line work in my area so I’m going to post this now.

Every time I read this thread I see more and more reasons I will get this when it is finished. The Cost is right about what I expected it to be, we will have a PDF (updated) manual and online tutorials to learn from, it will include default preset files for the common figures (I can study those and create presets for other figures). All that just adds to my desire to have this plugin. The fact that creations from this can be shared with other users is just over the top in my book. This one program will change DS for me and others in ways I have yet to think of. I just can not wait, but I must. It’s hard to do but I’m trying to wait without losing my cool.

P.S. Tried climbing through the Monitor and grabbing a copy, As a Drow in your realm I forgot TECH replaced magic. I just bumped my head and knocked over my monitor. You people really need to BELIEVE more. Grumble…

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 October 2012 08:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 486 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2322
Joined  2011-11-16
Alessandro_AM - 15 October 2012 02:23 PM

...I’ll try to do what I can, but obviously I can’t make dozen and dozen of presets and include those in the plugin without raising the price.

Presets beyond what comes with the initial package could be sold as add-ons smile

[edit] Just saw Kerya had already suggested this wink

 Signature 

Just because I may have a strong opinion doesn’t make it any more (or less) correct than any other, just that I feel passionately a particular way at that moment.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 October 2012 08:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 487 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1261
Joined  2009-10-27

IMO this plugin offers a large flexibiity when it comes to exporting and using .obj’s. Besides the fact that you can reduce the hair complexity and get a smaller .obj file size, each fur file is saved with a companion texture and, very important, it maintains the group binding.
Example: say you have furred a tiger and you want to export it.

When you do that, LAMH will export the model itself plus all the textures (and by model I mean the figure model), and it will export one or more .obj files and companion textures for the fur (1 .obj file and 1 texture for each shave group).

So, back to the tiger, say you used only 1 shavegroup to build the fur, upon exporting you’ll get the figure tiger .obj plus the related textures, and the tiger FUR .obj plus the companion texture build up using the figure texture information. So in practice you’ll get the whole model, included fur, and the latter is already TEXTURED with the colors inherited by the figure.
Also, the fur .obj will contain the same groups inherited from the figure model, so that you might even rig the whole fur .obj into a conforming figure, and it will be quite straightforward since fur groups and figure groups already match. Not to mention that you can build morphs as well…

Now, I hope I could explain, with my poor english, how that works. If not, please tell me and I’ll make a better example…

 Signature 

Alessandro’s Store
Blog
LAMH FB

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 October 2012 08:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 488 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1261
Joined  2009-10-27
Gedd - 16 October 2012 08:29 AM
Alessandro_AM - 15 October 2012 02:23 PM

...I’ll try to do what I can, but obviously I can’t make dozen and dozen of presets and include those in the plugin without raising the price.

Presets beyond what comes with the initial package could be sold as add-ons smile

[edit] Just saw Kerya had already suggested this wink

Yes, that’s a good idea. I’ll need to find the time to do that anyway smile

 Signature 

Alessandro’s Store
Blog
LAMH FB

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 October 2012 08:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 489 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2302
Joined  2010-12-18

Your english is far from poor! But yes you should release at least one add on pack after it is released. Can’t wait to get my hands on.

 Signature 

My deviantArt Pinup Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 October 2012 01:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 490 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  94
Joined  2005-01-08

Just found this thread and have not read all yet.  This looks fantastic, my question is has this been rendered in Reality yet and how does it look with a non biased render engine?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 October 2012 01:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 491 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1261
Joined  2009-10-27
KrazyHorse2 - 16 October 2012 01:44 PM

Just found this thread and have not read all yet.  This looks fantastic, my question is has this been rendered in Reality yet and how does it look with a non biased render engine?

Hi, we are in the process of making some renders with Reality and other render engines, stay tuned because soon there will be some images to show.

 Signature 

Alessandro’s Store
Blog
LAMH FB

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 October 2012 02:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 492 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2302
Joined  2010-12-18

I’m not concerned with how it will look, I know what it will look great. My real question has already been brought up which is how intense the files will be. I use Octane and I would love to have some better hair to use (on a single character at at time LOL). So basically I export my scene as an OBJ and all that good stuff and I use about 1-1.5gigs of my 3 gigs of vram with a character and medium complexity scene. So Not sure I can cope with 1.7g of vram for the hair alone.

 Signature 

My deviantArt Pinup Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 October 2012 03:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 493 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1261
Joined  2009-10-27

Difficult to say. I’m not sure how those engines work (I believe Lux is capable of mixing GPU and CPU and so to use both VRAM and RAM, if I am not mistaken). Also, do those engines work in “buckets” and free the resources allocated after a bucket has been computed?

 Signature 

Alessandro’s Store
Blog
LAMH FB

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 October 2012 04:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 494 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2865
Joined  2004-04-14
Alessandro_AM - 16 October 2012 03:00 PM

Difficult to say. I’m not sure how those engines work (I believe Lux is capable of mixing GPU and CPU and so to use both VRAM and RAM, if I am not mistaken). Also, do those engines work in “buckets” and free the resources allocated after a bucket has been computed?

Lux does not use buckets.

Lux Render is VERY accommodating and will not horde the CPU.  If nothing else wants to use the CPU then it will take full advantage of it but the moment another program needs it, Lux will take a back seat until the other program no longer needs it.

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 October 2012 04:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 495 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2302
Joined  2010-12-18

I don’t use lux anymore, but Octane doesn’t use buckets either. And everything needs to fit in Vram. so that’s my concern.

 Signature 

My deviantArt Pinup Gallery

Profile
 
 
   
33 of 100
33